We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but could be more comfortable”
Review of Clover Guestrooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clover Guestrooms
Ranked #1,838 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, but could be more comfortable”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location was convenient and we had a nice, large room with a balcony. The two shared bathrooms were good. Our bed (twins made into a double) was not very comfortable. Our other main issue was that the wifi was not working for our entire 4-night stay here, though when we arrived we were told it would be fixed the next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoDogsSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
12
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prineville, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at Clover while touring Rome. I found it easy to walk to all of the sights. If you are not up for walking the Metro and bus stations are within a block. The rooms at Clover were lovely with great attention to detail. The kitchen was large and well laid out if you were up for cooking in. I was pleasantly surprised by how large and nice the bathrooms were. Everything was clean and neat with just the right furniture. The staff was amazingly helpful and the breakfast was divine.
I plan on staying again when I go back to Rome.

Room Tip: I liked the inside rooms that faced the courtyard best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Everything was excellent! The management was very friendly (although I did not have any problems so I just talked to them at the time I did check in). The room neat, clean, tidy. So were the [shared!] baths. The location... marvelous! Just a block and a half from Roma Termini means you can get something to take you anywhere in town, and out of town, too (like the very convenient Leonardo Express to Fiumicino Airport); by the way, you may leave your luggage at Termini, too. I did not make any use of the kitchen and dining room as I ate always outside, but they seemed to be fine to me. Having wi-fi was welcome, too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed att The Clover guestroom during Easter. The place was clean, nice people staying there and welcoming staff. A big problem was the door to one of the bathrooms - the handle was broken so we could sometimes not lock the bathroomdoor. The bedroom was very cold and you will need ear-plugs to sleep well because of the noice from the traffic outside.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here for a quick layover before flying back to the States. The decor, cleanliness and attention to detailed instructions made it super easy for a single middle-aged woman to find the place and get situated. There was a kitchen that looked very serviceable but I didn't have time to use it. The artwork and minimalist furniture was very pleasing but the standout for me was the bed! The mattress, down cover and pillows were the of best quality I have ever experienced in my travels around the world. It was torture getting out of bed in the morning. I truly wanted to stay in there for an entire day. Everyone was very friendly and helpful at The Beehive. This couple's focus on the environment and consciousness about responsible consumption is genuine and I felt very much at home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontdesart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our recent stay at the Beehive's Clover apartment was exactly what we look for in a home-away-from-home while on vacation. Our room was large, well-furnished and very clean, with good ventilation and a window looking out towards the street. We made good use of the communal kitchen, cooking several of our evening meals on site. Clover has a good supply of kitchen tools at their disposal including a stove and kettle, small fridge and convection microwave for preparing meals. Nearby, we found the large indoor market (Mercato Esquillino), and a small Italian food store(Auguri) open late on Principe Amadeo which made eat in easy and inexpensive. There is also easy access to the metro, bank machines, and the train is a mere 5-minute walk up the road. As for proximity to the major sights, Clover is a little far, but for those who love to experience a city by walking through its neighborhoods, you couldn't ask for a better place. It is a comfortable 20 minutes to Fori Imperiali, where the Colosseum and Roman Forum are located.
Clover apartment is also equipped with WiFi, which made travel blogging a breeze, and let us research our travels as well as keep contact with home. Generally, we felt very at home staying in Clover and would definitely stay there for future visits to Rome. The only thing we would love to see next time is a few comfortable chairs in the common areas of the apartment. It would encourage socializing among everyone staying in the apartment(there are 3 separate rooms), which I found was lacking during my stay, since the most comfortable place to relax was in our room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyisblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at Clover for a few days. This is a self-contained apartment in a residential block with 3 lockable bedrooms and a shared lobby, bathroom and kitchen. Plus points first: the shared areas are reasonably clean and the location right next to Termini station is brilliant for sightseeing. Our guidebooks warn against the station area after dark but we never had any trouble. There is a computer in the apartment with free internet access, but this was prehistorically slow.

The big negative is that the cleanliness of the bedrooms was not so great - on the second morning I found an enormous crusty toenail clipping in my bedding (definitely not one of mine or my friends'). The apartment was not air-conditioned; it was a big mistake to book a non-AC room in Rome in August, as the average daily temperature was in the mid-thirties and it was very hard to sleep. We had the window opened wide all night and the fan on, sleeping with no bed-covers, but it was still very hot so if you don't cope well in heat that's worth bearing in mind.

The only window in room 1 is small and close to the ceiling and one morning we woke up to find a neighbour watering plants on the roof with a clear view of us in our beds. (She waved!) A cleaner/housekeeper comes in between 11 and 1 every day to tidy up and clean up. However, we were not warned that other people also have the key to the apartment and walk in and out without warning. We (all female friends) had rented the whole apartment even though we didn't need all the beds so that we would have privacy but at 7.30 am on our last morning a strange man (with laundry) just opened the door and walked into the apartment without knocking, whilst I was just standing there in my shorts. I found this totally unacceptable - in a normal hotel housekeepers at least always knock before entering.

The reception desk ( a short 10 minute walk away) were pretty disorganised and were asking for some keys to be returned 24 hours after we had actually returned them. They also absolutely insist on being paid cash, which was enormously inconvenient to us as the first person to check in had to carry large quantities of euros - and Rome has problems with pickpockets. It's also a bit inconvenient to have to check in at a location a 10 minute walk away from the actual room.

Although the location was great and the per-bed cost is reasonable I certainly wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy_riad_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaatTheBeehive, Manager at Clover Guestrooms, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
This review pertains to a stay that took place at Clover's former location. The new Clover has been at its present location since 2012. I responded to this review back in 2009 and a lot of the criticisms in this review are no longer valid with the present property. I will note that our laundry is all professionally done so have no idea how they could have found a toenail in their sheets which I'm assuming was simply one of their own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,144 of 3,669 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,258 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,258 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Guestrooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Guestrooms

Property: Clover Guestrooms
Address: Via Filippo Turati 48, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,838 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clover has 3 large, bright, double/triple rooms and 2 single rooms. There are two brand new bathrooms shared between the rooms and a common kitchen. Each of the rooms are decorated with a different theme: pop art, cinema and antique. Using the large, eat-in kitchen is a great way to socialize and save money on meals. There is a small entrance hall area where the computer and phone are located. Very close to Rome's largest fruit and vegetable market - Mercato Esquilino, the Piazza Vittorio metro stop, and 2 blocks from Termini station. It's located on the 5th floor, with elevator in a very safe building. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing