We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great treats!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Ranked #18 of 274 Bakeries in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: "An easy walk from either Piazza Navona or Campo de Fiori".
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great treats!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Another classic Italian bakery where you can get all the goodies from! Biscotti was superb! Store was small so it can get crowded in there!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank G00dfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    126
    41
    18
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mitchell, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

After finding this jewel, we returned on three different occasions. Great options, good taste of quality Italian pastries.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jwade2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent expensive pastry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We bought lots of cookies here, and I was very impressed with the quality. I also found the staff to be extremely nice and very patient with my lack of ability to speak Italian. The cookies are priced by weight, and the prices are high. It is worth asking the weight and cost to avoid unpleasant surprises. But even after I realized how expensive they were, I bought more cookies because they are so good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pricey Pastries”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Pastries were average in our opinion and pricey. We tried a variety of treats.

Unfortunately the staff were not friendly at all. We enjoyed another local bakery's products much more and their staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L-n-L_Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little pricey but a real treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Traditional bakery but high end produce, I went for the cherry tartlet (as it seems did other reviewers!) because I love cherries and hadn't seen many cherry pastries in Italy. Prices are by weight and it was much heavier than I expected! A thick pastry base topped with a mountain of crushed cherries and then covered in cherries. I wasn't sure I would be able to eat it all, but it wasn't too rich or sweet and made a nice change! I hope to make another visit when next in Rome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonDolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing