We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bocconcini della Nonna - Yum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Ranked #18 of 274 Bakeries in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: "An easy walk from either Piazza Navona or Campo de Fiori".
New England
Level Contributor
259 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Bocconcini della Nonna - Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the bakery and we enjoyed it just as much. Yes the cookies are still expensive but we found that the Bocconcini della Nonna cookies were comparable to everywhere else. What I enjoyed most about the cookies from Il Fornaio is that they offer almond, plain, and pistacchio flavors. The cookies have a nice crust texture, a soft interior and are full of flavor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustHrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    126
    41
    18
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best bakeries in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

You want the real thing, weather it be pastries, bread or specialties, this is the place for the lover of artisan baking. It is impossible to walk by the window without walking in. The baker is nothing short of a saint. This will always be my first stop in Rome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“previous day sweets, too expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went in this "bakery" because we were impressed by the showcase, we ordered some sweets such as cannoli, and small pastes and we paied 16€. When we taste them we understood that we had waste our money, they were stale, dry, and the chocolate was crispy......

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris-Chrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious bread and pizza slices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a place to grab a quick bite. We've eaten here three times this week. Great selection of thin and thick pizza slices sold by the size you choose. Delicious fresh baked breads. Very friendly and helpful employees. Very reasonably priced. Also a large selection of cookies and cakes.

Helpful?
Thank Hank G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Prominent take-away for the romans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly bakery with a wide selection if very good stuff. The crema is great, the sandwiches as well. Typical roman and crowded in the evening. Just half way between piazza navona and campo de fiori

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Koeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing