We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domus Australia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domus Australia
Ranked #4 of 1,088 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are currently here and arrived four days ago. We decided to use this hotel to finish our trip as we had been renting our own apartments and just wanted to have things done for us before we few home. There is nothing negative to be said about this hotel. Rooms, restaurant, service and location all excellent. Friendliest staff we have ever met.

Room Tip: Room 201 was our room. There is no pool. Pool count is an error.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meripino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    102
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
80
209
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

How nice it is to have a positive hotel experience in the eternal city without being disappointed.
Best room we ve had on multiple visits to Rome and for once a happy mix of modern functional bathroom and bedroom facilities in a tastefully refurbished cloister meets 5 star property.Super clean and possibly the largest King bed we ve ever slept in Double glazed to keep the city din at bay.
Only 20 mins walk from Termini station and surrounded by countless restaurant choices .
So nice to have no sign of the sometimes offhand Roman hospitality attitude to visitors.Young friendly staff are a credit and super helpful.
Breakfast buffet choice also varied and delicious even down to the nice homely touch of Vegemite alongside the pastries The restaurant also available for evening meals.
Good value in an otherwise expensive capital.
Grazie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villamallorca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were absolutely delighted with the six nights we spent at this hotel. We were warmly welcomed by the staff on reception and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. Our room which overlooked the courtyard was very impressive. It was very clean, spacious and the bed was massive. The towels and linen were great and overall our room was extremely comfortable. The hotel was well located and a relatively short walk to the main station and about a twenty minute walk to the forum. The breakfast was very good, lots of variety and very fresh. We tried several of the local restaurants recommended by the hotel and thy were all very good. We really appreciated the peace and quiet of this hotel after a busy day and would certainly stay at Domus again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pleasant welcome by front desk staff. Breakfast very hearty and always fresh, dinner menu excellent, after enjoying Italian cuisine for three weeks prior to arriving at Domus we thoroughly enjoyed our fillet steak and vegetables, cooked to perfection. Rooms very generous size and impeccably clean, bed very comfortable, plenty of wardrobe space. Walking distance to Termini, a bit of a walk to Spanish Steps but achievable. Laundry facilities welcomed after being traveling for three weeks prior.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just back from a four night family stay in Rome - and Domus Australia was a wonderful find, just 5-10mins walk from Termini station and on bus routes making all of Rome just minutes away. The hotel was warm and welcoming, and the staff were particularly great with our children and their attempts at Italian. Room and bathroom were big, bed huge, with two single sofa beds in our family room. Breakfast was great and there is an outdoor drinks and rooftop terrace which are great for a relaxing drink in the evening. We found the dining restaurant a little expensive but there are lots of different kinds of restaurants in the streets around. Overall a fantastic holiday, helped by great accomodation

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis4817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were so happy to find Domus Australia for our 2-night stay last April, 2013. It was recommended by a friend who lives in Rome and we were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful our stay turned out. The price was very reasonable vis a vis other hotels within Rome. The hotel is spartan but the service is excellent. The staff is very helpful, the rooms and surroundings very clean,the beds very comfortable, the breakfast buffet delicious, location excellent as it is near the metro, good restos nearby. There is even a chapel with daily Roman Catholic mass. We couldn't have asked for more. I will recommend this hotel to friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlp238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is very proud of its Australian Catholic links depicted through out the building. It is very Catholic and churchy with a cross over the bedroom door and Catholic iconography throughout the building. The hotel is quite new and the rooms are extra large, everything is sparkling clean, there is free WIFI, the bathroom is modern and large, the bed is extra comfortable, staff are capable and it's convenient to Termini and Republica for transport....BUT this is the most soulless, dull, un-Italian place I have ever stayed. It has the feel of an upmarket youth hostel. No carpet, extra bright lighting, no wall decor. I felt like I was paying penance at Catholic Summer camp. Give me an boutique hotel in an old building or a modern number over this any day. Unfortunately although technically all boxes are ticked this hotel did not meet my expectations at all and I would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank burlon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,463 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#68 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Australia

Property: Domus Australia
Address: Via Cernaia 14/B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,088 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Australia 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Australia is an authentic Italian 32 room guest house established by the Australian Catholic Church. It is located in the centre of Rome within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, key shopping areas and Rome's major cultural attractions. The superbly restored historic building offers guests a calm and welcoming refuge from the busy tourist pace of Rome, making the Domus an ideal base for pilgrims, groups, families and solo travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Australia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing