We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great residenza, wonderful staff”
Review of Domus Australia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Domus Australia
Ranked #5 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Fingal Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great residenza, wonderful staff”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We'd read and heard so much about Domus Australia (some of it on Tripadvisor) that when we were planning our trip, there was no question that we'd stay anywhere else in Rome. Our travel agent was unable to book us in, so I did it myself, and I'm so glad I did. Neither I nor my husband is Catholic, nor are we particularly religious, but it was wonderful to stay in a 'residenza' where it was obvious that the staff really cared about their guests.

Our room was a good size, and the bed was enormous! The bathroom was really good, and the shower was as good as the one at home. There was a large flat screen TV and a wardrobe with a safe. Breakfast was included in the tariff and everyday we were welcomed to breakfast by Racquele, who was so pleasant that we always started the day with a smile. Breakfast is good with a choice of hot and cold food.

There is a roof-top restaurant and bar, with good food, and a good choice of wines.

The reception staff are exceptional. We had a hiccup: when I went to confirm an airline booking, I found that it had been cancelled. Danielle went out of her way to find out why (we still don't know) and to get me tickets on the same flight.

We cannot speak highly enough about Domus Australia, and would recommend it to anyone visiting Rome. It is within walking distance of Termini station and the hop-on, hop-off buses. It is also within walking distance of Via Veneto and Harry's Bar, where we had a meal while admiring the Aurelian walls. Viva Roma; Viva Domus Australia.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room at the back of the building overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    102
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
85
213
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Rome is the last city of our Italian trip and its our first time here. First impression of Rome was the city was way bigger and busy than the ones we have visited. We arrived in Rome by train and took a taxi straight to our hotel, all within reasonable cost too. The process of check-in was fairly smooth. During our Italian trips, we booked mostly from well known hotel chains like Accor so we didnt expect much from this hotel. Our reason of choosing this hotel was its value for money, location, facility as well as reading the positive reviews here. The notable thing about this hotel is its exceptional hospitality service. The people are amazingly friendly and look after us on our stay. The front desk receptions were very warm and helpful when we ask for recommendations to the things to do in Rome and recommendation of local restaurants to eat. Da Vincenzo restaurant was notably really good (I'll review this separately). Though the hotel is not on the busy side of Rome, it still have plenty of good local restaurants all within walking distance.

This hotel was only recently established so the place is very nice and brand new looking with very up to date facilities. (We noticed the only missing thing from this hotel is a bar lounge, you get a chapel instead!). The room size though is big it feel a bit cramped.. it was a reasonable size if it wasnt for its oversize bed and furnitures, the bathroom has a nice shower and also good overall facility. The bed was comfortable and the room we stayed had a rather large bed, probably like 2 x double or 2x queen in size and you can easily sleep a family of four quite comfortably. The photos of the bed depicting is wide size is real. There is free wireless internet and it works quite well in the room and speed is quite decent. The hotel feel quiet and calm, which is a nice change if you want to get away from the other busy hotels. Breakfast was included with our stay and though it was good, selection is fairly limited and the same everyday..

Location of this hotel is quite strategic, more central to all the places you want to visit in Rome. 10 minutes walk from the closest train station, however we opted to take taxi everywhere. Beware, always make sure your taxi meter is running, we got ripped off by a taxi driver while in Rome going to the Vatican city museum when he didnt have his meter running he tried to cheat us. Instead of 8-10 Euro, we got charged 25 Euro.. to avoid this nasty opportunistic taxi drivers, please beware !
All other taxis we had was great, except one that must thought he was a rally car driver. Overall, I will come back to this hotel and can recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamKOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fully recommend Domus Australia as a place to stay whilst in Rome. Neither my partner nor I are religious, however we found it really interesting to stay in a hotel/chapel. The room, although on the smaller side, was perfect (possibly seemed smaller because the bed was so huge!). The bathroom was lovely and one of the best showers that I've experienced in a hotel. The only downside that I could fault is the busy road and thin walls of the room, hence more evening noise than you may like, but that's perhaps the trade off with staying in a really interesting hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fantastic standard of accommodation; delightful staff; all newly refurbished & a quiet sanctuary. Good district for finding local restaurants or bars. Brilliant place to stay. Feels very safe; would be great for single female travellers.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninjaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

You don’t have to be a Catholic or an Australian to book at Domus Australia and enjoy the facilities contained within. We stayed there in October for four nights, following a sixteen day Italian coach tour. During the tour we stayed in many so called “four and five star hotels” where inadequate facilities, especially bathrooms, were passed off as “Italian charm”. Most tour hotels were crowded, many with little or “delayed service”, with packed breakfast rooms the norm.
Coming off the tour experience, into Domus Australia, was like entering a whole new touring world. The room facilities are excellent. It was a delight to have showers with doors that opened and you did not trip into bathtubs to access them! Luxury hotels encourage you to use their high priced washing facilities, so it was heaven to use the laundry facilities at the Domus and the ironing board and iron provided in each room.
Early October was still warm in Rome and crowded. After a busy day walking the major sights the spacious air-conditioned rooms were welcome. The extensive range of teas and coffees provided were also appreciated.
Domus Australia is a small boutique establishment and has only been open for a year. It is one of the best kept secrets in Rome. Friends who stayed in the Domus late 2011 thoroughly recommended it and their “rave review” was indeed justified. We particularly liked the new elevators that worked!
Simply put, the location is convenient to Stazione Termini and you can walk, bus or Metro easily to main sights etc. Location, at a good price, wins every time!
Breakfast is excellent and you are able to eat at your leisure and read the newspapers provided etc. You can have dinner at the Domus, although on this stay we preferred to eat at one of the many family restaurants in the nearby area. An added bonus is a large Conrad Supermarket just down the street which enabled you to stock up your room refrigerator with discounted drinks.
The Domus Australia staff members are charming and friendly and offered to help you plan your day, organize tickets, get the right bus, arrange taxis etc. This was truly appreciated, as was the free Wifi and numerous computers for guest use.
Again I stress that Domus Austrailia while being described as a pilgrim centre, boutique guest house etc it is not just for Catholics. The establishment does have a religious flavour, but there is no effort whatsoever to evangelize, other than by providing a great facility. However, if you are anti-Catholic or anti-religious perhaps you should stay elsewhere. Otherwise, go for it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Domus Australia shortly following our wedding. Our second visit to Rome and Domus together and equally as good as our first. Big beds, big showers and the food!

This time we were able to enjoy drinks on the roof terrace also, an amazing sanctuary from the busy streets below. The staff at Domus really are 1st class, so approachable and friendly, nothing is a problem.

Domus is also nice and close to the action, walking distance to the attractions of Rome, a stones through from mouth watering cuisine and close to metro (Republica) and Termani stations.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenBrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This boutique hotel is a true home away from home. Our room was spacious and extremely well appointed. The staff were fabulous and so helpful no matter what the request. Domus is only a short walk from the Metro and many of Rome's major sites. There are a good range of restaurants within a few metres of the hotel. We also dined in the the in house dining room and found the food and service to be great.

We will definitely stay here when next in Rome.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,550 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#65 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Australia

Property: Domus Australia
Address: Via Cernaia 14/B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Australia 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Australia is an authentic Italian 32 room guest house established by the Australian Catholic Church. It is located in the centre of Rome within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, key shopping areas and Rome's major cultural attractions. The superbly restored historic building offers guests a calm and welcoming refuge from the busy tourist pace of Rome, making the Domus an ideal base for pilgrims, groups, families and solo travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Domus Australia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing