We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place - I wish we had found it earlier!”

Su & Giu Cucina Romana
Ranked #185 of 12,367 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Prati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place - I wish we had found it earlier!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Btw the business name is Su e giu ( meaning 'up and down' in Italian because the restaurant is on two levels).
These guys really take care of you. The food was superb and the Staff were very welcoming.

Dishes are described in wonderful detail leaving your mouth watering in anticipation.

Highly recommend this place - we haven't done better for this price anywhere else in Italy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rach2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,422
    563
    158
    40
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a wonderful dinner here. Suggest reservations due to size of place. Family run, fresh, great tasting food with excellent service. Daniel is a great host and be sure to give Big Mama a kiss for me. Reasonable prices and clean bathroom.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TampaFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in Rome”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We ate at this restaurant during our stay in Rome. The food was really good and the host was really nice. This restaurant is really small so it is best to reserve a table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt like part of the family...”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

At the recommendation of Luca, our B&B host, we had the most wonderful true non-tourist dining experience of our 30 day trip thru France and Italy. Walking into the 9 table restaurant, we were warmly greeted by "Big Mama" and her son Daniel. Papa is in the back doing the cooking. Daniel is host and menu translator for the non-Italian guests, carefully going thru and explaining each and every item from ingredients to preperation.
The food was fabulous, the service excellent and the prices were well below almost any other place we have eaten in Italy. Frequented by locals, make sure you call ahead for a table.
It's the kind of place where you would expect the Italian version of Guy Fieri to pull up in his 67 Alpha Romeo at any time to tell you about this great family jewel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wats7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wait for a table!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We waited for a table and SO glad we did ! My favorite meal in Italy!
It was nice to eat at a family run restaurant. If you are in ROME you should take the time to visit this cozy restaurant .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su & Giu Cucina Romana also viewed

 

Been to Su & Giu Cucina Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing