We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location & Value”
Review of Residenza Frattina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Frattina
Ranked #166 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were really surprised how great this little B+B hotel was for the price we paid. Spacious room, overlooking Via Frattina, a hubbub of activity by day, just 2 blocks from the Spanish Steps, and surrounded by restaurants, shops, even a great regional wine bar just steps from the entrance. Fabulous staff, very helpful and gracious, and an excellent breakfast to boot!

Hotel is in an apartment structure, a couple of flights up to the lobby, no elevator. However, they insisted in having a porter lug our bags up to the room. Great sound insulation with windows closed, very comfortable beds, just couldn't have been nicer in all aspects. If you're flying out of Rome, they have a private car (ours was a Mercedes R-Class!) that will take you for just 2 Euro more than a cab, with service and baggage included, a real bargain at e55. Loved our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms off street are quieter, stairs to climb (no lift). Locked entry gate to courtyard, and hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snosearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked your room and our services.
As you wrote, our bellboy is always available to helpy with the luggage and the breakfast always receives appreciation from our guests as the products we serve are fresh and high quality ones.
We hope to be your choice again on your next trip to Rome!
Best regards
Customer Service Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 466 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely breakfast buffet. Very clean and tidy hotel. Rooms very comfortable. Location was amazing. Most sights within walking distance. Spanish steps on your doorstep. Designer and other shops all around you and trevi fountain very nearby.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your beautiful review about your stay at Residenza Frattina!
We are glad to know that you liked our services and the room and all the staff would like to thank you for the nice words about their job.
Thank you also for writing about our central location, just at a few minutes away from the main attractions in Rome such as the Spanish steps, the Pantheon and the Trevi fountain.
We look forward to meeting you again!
Best regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

it was a nice stay at this old house, nice experience in Rome with very good location, you find everything you need just under the hotel...
i had a cold room at the beginning and they were kind enough to upgrade my room to a warmer and spacious one; huge one :)
i would sure come back to Fratinna Residenza and would recommend for friends.

Room Tip: very nice & friendly staff, with perfect location..great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review about your stay with us!
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back and reccomend the Residenza to your friends!
We are sorry for the first room that you felt was not warm enough even though the heating was working, but as we really care about our guests satisfaction we provided another room the same day and it's good to know that you liked the second room.
We hope to see you again and welcome you in Rome soon!
Best regards
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just returned from a short break staying at this hotel.It has to rank as one of the best we've stayed in and in terms of friendly service surpasses the Shangri La's we've stayed in.The staff are so helpful and friendly they deserve a medal. We requested a quiet room before we arrived,our request was met with a large room at the rear of the hotel and they offered us a mobile phone to use for internet access because the wi-fi connection was not good in that room. Breakfast was a delight with plenty of choice both hot and cold and friendly service.The location of the hotel is central to all the main sights within very easy walking distance of the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain whilst the Vatican and Colisseum are under 30 minutes walk away,bearing in mind that the hotel is up 2 flights of stairs with no elevator the walking distance should not pose any issues.They have told us that they are planning to install a lift within the next year which should help with some peoples concerns.All in all this is a super hotel and thanks go to all the staff for making this a great break. The best value for money hotel we've stayed in

Room Tip: rooms to the rear are quieter but if you are not happy give reception a chance to resolve your probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking part of your time to write a review about your stay in Residenza Frattina!
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our services and that you liked your room.
We are also happy to know that you appreciated the small modem we gave you for the signal that the first day was a little weak in the room. It was a modem that you could also use outside to have wifi everywhere and it's good to know that it was useful.
Thank you for writing about the central location of the Residenza and for the nice words about our services!
We hope to see you again in the future!
Best regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We arrived after a long flight and took a taxi to the hotel. When we arrived we could not find any directions or signs that told us where to go. I found the name on the mailbox and a man inside the cleaning room on the first floor told us the hotel was on the 2nd floor. We drug our luggage to the second floor. We were met at the desk and the young woman said oh you should have called we would get the luggage......I'm not sure how I would have called there was no telephone available and I was not willing to leave my luggage alone in the courtyard.
When we arrived our rooms were not quite ready so we were offered a cup of coffee while we waited.
I chose the "apartment" which was nothing like the photo. Inside the apartment a room in the front of the building and a long hallway leading to the other end of the building where the bathroom was. Very nice bathroom but up 4 marble steps, I had visions of falling down them in the middle of the night. The shower was very slippery and the door was a fixed partition which meant that I had to reach around it and try not to get scalded while I adjusted the water temp. The "apartment" photo shows a table, chairs, microwave for a small dining area. This does not exist. The small alcove now contains a daybed that cannot be opened because the hall is too narrow.
It was only two of us so I didn't need the day bed but I would have liked to use the table.
The website claims that there are fresh flowers and satin sheets.....apparently not for us, we couldn't even find a washcloth.
But we did find one bar of soap and one shampoo.
I am tolerant of most things but the noise!!! The street was very very noisy. The windows are old and poorly insulated. I requested a room change and was told I should give it some time it's only noisy in the day. She did take me to another room that was available but told me I needed to give the "apartment" some more time.
We'll I did and it was reasonably quiet from 11pm to 4am, the the garbage trucks, the delivery vans, the newspaper delivery and every other vehicle drove up and down the street!
In the morning I asked to change rooms, they told me I would have to pack my luggage and they would move it when the room was ready?? I could even have the smaller room for the same price as the "apartment".
We arrived back at the hotel around 6 pm, received our new room key and went to our new room. It was stifling hot, I looked for the temperature control.....none to be found. I called the desk and she arrived with 6 remotes....none of which worked. There was no way to turn on the air or turn off the heat, and the stick to open the windows was broken. The clerk said she could have someone look at it in the morning we stuffed pillows in front of the heat vents and opened our door. I had a choice between the noise or baking.
This morning another of my friends who was staying down stairs discussed our experiences. She was not able to sleep because she was close to the reception desk and heard people talking all night. Someone even turned on music in the breakfast room at 6am.
So we decided to cut our losses. I ran next door to Daniel's Hotel and secured us wonderful accommodations for the rest of our time in Rome.
I am disappointed with Residenza Frattina, it was not a good choice for me, it's more of a place for individuals who want a little more than a hostel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay.
It's important to us to know if our guests are satisfied or not about our services especialy during their stay.
And the point is that you didn't complain at all during your stay. The only complain we received was about the noise from the street the first day and in fact we offered a change of room.
We would like to say that we have a flag out of the window facing the street and Residenza Frattina is maybe the more visible Residenza or hotel in the whole street.
Also, there is a bell downstairs with "Residenza Frattina" written on it and the receptionist of course meant that you should have rang the bell to let us know that you were arrived, not that you had to call to our phone.
By knowing that you were arrived we could have asked our bellboy (that is always ready to help guests with the bags) to help you and carry your bags.
About the Apartment, we recently renewed it with value finishes, wooden floor and marble floor in the bathroom. It always get lot of appreciation from our guest.
It is very spacious for two people and it faces Via Frattina so it can be a little noisy sometimes but just in some times of the day like every room that faces a street.
As soon as we had an available room we offered a change for a room that was a bit smaller but the price was the same because it is a superior typology of room.
We moved all the bags for you and we have to say that the windows work properly and we are sorry for the problem with air conditioning but it was blocked at the start because it was programmed on the heating and so it can take some time to start.
But the receptionist turned off all the heating in the room and opened the windows so didn't feel the room to be hot.
Finally on the second day of the stay you asked the reception to leave earlier without any explanation and we accpted to let you go without paying the rest of the nights as contracted on the reservation that could be cancelled only up to two days before arrival.
You also showed up two days after the check out to ask about the preauthorization we make before arrival to check the credit card and you didn't mention anything about your bad experience.
We are very sorry for everything you wrote about your stay but we didn't know about the problems and disappointment you had but it would have been very useful to know it during you stay so we could have done something to let you have a better stay and maybe find a type of room you liked.
Best regards
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Residenza Frattina, this was our 3rd visit to Rome and we would have to say accommodation wise this was the best yet, even though in the past we have paid a lot more for a top hotel! Yes it's not the Raphael or the Cavalleri, however if you want good value for money and a spotlessly clean place to stay you cannot do better than Residenza Frattina. The rooms were comfortable, clean and with everything you could need, the bathrooms were spotless and modern , the shower cubicle was a standard size you would get anywhere, so not a problem as I have read in another review. The staff were lovely, all were attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, it was very much a personal touch. As for having to carry luggage upstairs , yes but the stairs were not difficult and on arrival and departure the staff offered to carry our bags for us, honestly if you can carry your bags around an airport, the hotel really isn't an obstacle. Location wise you couldn't find better it is smack bang in the middle of Rome with many sites within walking distance. At night it was a little noisey but that's to be expected in a capital city with the hustle and bustle going on around you, and certainly nothing that could be seen as the hotels fault, all hotel rooms in the centre must be the same. It's the only hotel I've ever stayed in where the mini bar was stocked with soft drinks which are complimentary! We (including our teenage children who enjoyed the free wifi) would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking to explore Rome, for location, comfort and staff.


Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your great review and for the compliments to our hotel and its service and staff. We are so happy to read you have enjoyed your stay and that we satisfied your expectations.Thank you for mentioning our location that as you wrote is ideal for those who want to explore our beautiful city as we are located a few minutes by walking to most of the main attractions in Rome. We do hope to be again your choice on your next trip to Rome.
Best regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great location, wonderful full breakfast, great A/C and location 2 blocks from the Spanish Steps and a metro station. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful.

One thing. This is not a fancy hotel and the hotel is up 2 full flights of stairs. So, if you have mobility issues, this is not the place for you.

Would definitely stay here agan when in Rome

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttercup53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great review about your stay!
All the staff of Residenza Frattina would like to thank you for your feeback about their job and we are very glad you enjoyed your experience.
As you wrote our location is central and all the main attractions of Rome are esily reacheble by walking distance and we are happy tp hear that you appreciated our breakfast which has a big varity of choice and for wich we always choose the best and freshest products.
Finally, it's true that there is no elevator, but we also have a bellboy for most time of the day ready to help with luggage.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
867 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#304 of 1,271 in Rome
285 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#62 of 1,271 in Rome
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Splendor Suite Rome
Splendor Suite Rome
#46 of 3,734 in Rome
394 reviews
Colonna
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
#45 of 3,734 in Rome
461 reviews
Colonna
Mia Suites
Mia Suites
#172 of 3,734 in Rome
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Frattina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Frattina

Address: Via Frattina 104, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $95 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Frattina 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Frattina, a charming town house in the center of Rome, offers a cozy and charming atmosphere for guests. Elegant room décor with a storied history to create a delightful home-grown experience. Residenza Frattina is an ideal jumping point to entire Rome; located close to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and world famous boutiques on Via Condotti and Via del Corso are all easily accessible from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Frattina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Frattina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing