We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Adriano(Rome)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$288
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$263
$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$342
$245
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)(Great Value!)
$137
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$439
$357
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$340
$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $507/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$1,049
$849
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
272
168
38
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
168
38
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsspanish stepsno elevatorgreat locationtrevi fountainheart of romepastriesmini baryour luggagestay there againwalking distancelounge areabreakfast was excellentquiet at nightvia del corsoboutique hotelhighly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 507 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just returned from a short break staying at this hotel.It has to rank as one of the best we've stayed in and in terms of friendly service surpasses the Shangri La's we've stayed in.The staff are so helpful and friendly they deserve a medal. We requested a quiet room before we arrived,our request was met with a large room at the rear of the hotel and they offered us a mobile phone to use for internet access because the wi-fi connection was not good in that room. Breakfast was a delight with plenty of choice both hot and cold and friendly service.The location of the hotel is central to all the main sights within very easy walking distance of the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain whilst the Vatican and Colisseum are under 30 minutes walk away,bearing in mind that the hotel is up 2 flights of stairs with no elevator the walking distance should not pose any issues.They have told us that they are planning to install a lift within the next year which should help with some peoples concerns.All in all this is a super hotel and thanks go to all the staff for making this a great break. The best value for money hotel we've stayed in

Room Tip: rooms to the rear are quieter but if you are not happy give reception a chance to resolve your problem
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking part of your time to write a review about your stay in Residenza Frattina!
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our services and that you liked your room.
We are also happy to know that you appreciated the small modem we gave you for the signal that the first day was a little weak in the room. It was a modem that you could also use outside to have wifi everywhere and it's good to know that it was useful.
Thank you for writing about the central location of the Residenza and for the nice words about our services!
We hope to see you again in the future!
Best regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We arrived after a long flight and took a taxi to the hotel. When we arrived we could not find any directions or signs that told us where to go. I found the name on the mailbox and a man inside the cleaning room on the first floor told us the hotel was on the 2nd floor. We drug our luggage to the second floor. We were met at the desk and the young woman said oh you should have called we would get the luggage......I'm not sure how I would have called there was no telephone available and I was not willing to leave my luggage alone in the courtyard.
When we arrived our rooms were not quite ready so we were offered a cup of coffee while we waited.
I chose the "apartment" which was nothing like the photo. Inside the apartment a room in the front of the building and a long hallway leading to the other end of the building where the bathroom was. Very nice bathroom but up 4 marble steps, I had visions of falling down them in the middle of the night. The shower was very slippery and the door was a fixed partition which meant that I had to reach around it and try not to get scalded while I adjusted the water temp. The "apartment" photo shows a table, chairs, microwave for a small dining area. This does not exist. The small alcove now contains a daybed that cannot be opened because the hall is too narrow.
It was only two of us so I didn't need the day bed but I would have liked to use the table.
The website claims that there are fresh flowers and satin sheets.....apparently not for us, we couldn't even find a washcloth.
But we did find one bar of soap and one shampoo.
I am tolerant of most things but the noise!!! The street was very very noisy. The windows are old and poorly insulated. I requested a room change and was told I should give it some time it's only noisy in the day. She did take me to another room that was available but told me I needed to give the "apartment" some more time.
We'll I did and it was reasonably quiet from 11pm to 4am, the the garbage trucks, the delivery vans, the newspaper delivery and every other vehicle drove up and down the street!
In the morning I asked to change rooms, they told me I would have to pack my luggage and they would move it when the room was ready?? I could even have the smaller room for the same price as the "apartment".
We arrived back at the hotel around 6 pm, received our new room key and went to our new room. It was stifling hot, I looked for the temperature control.....none to be found. I called the desk and she arrived with 6 remotes....none of which worked. There was no way to turn on the air or turn off the heat, and the stick to open the windows was broken. The clerk said she could have someone look at it in the morning we stuffed pillows in front of the heat vents and opened our door. I had a choice between the noise or baking.
This morning another of my friends who was staying down stairs discussed our experiences. She was not able to sleep because she was close to the reception desk and heard people talking all night. Someone even turned on music in the breakfast room at 6am.
So we decided to cut our losses. I ran next door to Daniel's Hotel and secured us wonderful accommodations for the rest of our time in Rome.
I am disappointed with Residenza Frattina, it was not a good choice for me, it's more of a place for individuals who want a little more than a hostel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay.
It's important to us to know if our guests are satisfied or not about our services especialy during their stay.
And the point is that you didn't complain at all during your stay. The only complain we received was about the noise from the street the first day and in fact we offered a change of room.
We would like to say that we have a flag out of the window facing the street and Residenza Frattina is maybe the more visible Residenza or hotel in the whole street.
Also, there is a bell downstairs with "Residenza Frattina" written on it and the receptionist of course meant that you should have rang the bell to let us know that you were arrived, not that you had to call to our phone.
By knowing that you were arrived we could have asked our bellboy (that is always ready to help guests with the bags) to help you and carry your bags.
About the Apartment, we recently renewed it with value finishes, wooden floor and marble floor in the bathroom. It always get lot of appreciation from our guest.
It is very spacious for two people and it faces Via Frattina so it can be a little noisy sometimes but just in some times of the day like every room that faces a street.
As soon as we had an available room we offered a change for a room that was a bit smaller but the price was the same because it is a superior typology of room.
We moved all the bags for you and we have to say that the windows work properly and we are sorry for the problem with air conditioning but it was blocked at the start because it was programmed on the heating and so it can take some time to start.
But the receptionist turned off all the heating in the room and opened the windows so didn't feel the room to be hot.
Finally on the second day of the stay you asked the reception to leave earlier without any explanation and we accpted to let you go without paying the rest of the nights as contracted on the reservation that could be cancelled only up to two days before arrival.
You also showed up two days after the check out to ask about the preauthorization we make before arrival to check the credit card and you didn't mention anything about your bad experience.
We are very sorry for everything you wrote about your stay but we didn't know about the problems and disappointment you had but it would have been very useful to know it during you stay so we could have done something to let you have a better stay and maybe find a type of room you liked.
Best regards
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Residenza Frattina, this was our 3rd visit to Rome and we would have to say accommodation wise this was the best yet, even though in the past we have paid a lot more for a top hotel! Yes it's not the Raphael or the Cavalleri, however if you want good value for money and a spotlessly clean place to stay you cannot do better than Residenza Frattina. The rooms were comfortable, clean and with everything you could need, the bathrooms were spotless and modern , the shower cubicle was a standard size you would get anywhere, so not a problem as I have read in another review. The staff were lovely, all were attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, it was very much a personal touch. As for having to carry luggage upstairs , yes but the stairs were not difficult and on arrival and departure the staff offered to carry our bags for us, honestly if you can carry your bags around an airport, the hotel really isn't an obstacle. Location wise you couldn't find better it is smack bang in the middle of Rome with many sites within walking distance. At night it was a little noisey but that's to be expected in a capital city with the hustle and bustle going on around you, and certainly nothing that could be seen as the hotels fault, all hotel rooms in the centre must be the same. It's the only hotel I've ever stayed in where the mini bar was stocked with soft drinks which are complimentary! We (including our teenage children who enjoyed the free wifi) would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking to explore Rome, for location, comfort and staff.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your great review and for the compliments to our hotel and its service and staff. We are so happy to read you have enjoyed your stay and that we satisfied your expectations.Thank you for mentioning our location that as you wrote is ideal for those who want to explore our beautiful city as we are located a few minutes by walking to most of the main attractions in Rome. We do hope to be again your choice on your next trip to Rome.
Best regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great location, wonderful full breakfast, great A/C and location 2 blocks from the Spanish Steps and a metro station. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful.

One thing. This is not a fancy hotel and the hotel is up 2 full flights of stairs. So, if you have mobility issues, this is not the place for you.

Would definitely stay here agan when in Rome

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttercup53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great review about your stay!
All the staff of Residenza Frattina would like to thank you for your feeback about their job and we are very glad you enjoyed your experience.
As you wrote our location is central and all the main attractions of Rome are esily reacheble by walking distance and we are happy tp hear that you appreciated our breakfast which has a big varity of choice and for wich we always choose the best and freshest products.
Finally, it's true that there is no elevator, but we also have a bellboy for most time of the day ready to help with luggage.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at the Residenza Frattina for two nights.
Having travelled to Rome by car and on the advice of a friend parked in the Villa Borghese big underground car park. a 5 minute walk through the passage that linked directly to the Piazza di Spagna and there it was a mere 2 mins to the Residenza. Easy to find.
Being located on the second and third floors of a building dating from the 1700's means that there are a couple of flights of wide and shallow stairs to negotiate. Reception asked before we came in the gate to the courtyard if we needed help with luggage so there is no need to worry on that front, We hadn't booked direct with the hotel but via one of the booking sites, so we were particularly impressed by the warm and welcoming email we received before our arrival which set the tone and gave the opportunity to ask for anything we needed.

Rooms are nice, even the smaller of the two we stayed in was adequate for a city centre hotel, beds comfortable and linen spotless, bathrooms maybe a little dated. Bathrobes and slippers provided. Tea/coffee making facilities are in the rooms, a free minibar with water and soft drinks. And we were advised that complimentary Tea and Coffee was available in the really lovely lounge throughout the day - excellent!
During our stay we did change rooms from one at the front of the hotel to one overlooking the courtyard because we found the street noise a bit of a disturbance. The changeover of rooms was managed really well. A complimentary bottle of spumante as an acknowledgement of a birthday was a kind and welcome touch.

The lounge area is lovely and furnished in a style befitting a town house of the some elegance. Breakfast is served buffet style here and is available until 11am which is great if you want a lazy morning.

What really made our stay a great pleasure was without doubt the staff.
Flavia and Valentina on Reception were without doubt most welcoming and efficient at their jobs and their attitude and ability really helped to make us feel we were staying a guests in a rather nice private house as opposed to just a hotel. The lady serving breakfasts was equally excellent - lovely warm smile and nothing was too much trouble. The other members of staff we encountered seemed to share the same ethic.

The location is perfectly situated for sightseeing and shopping being located a stone's throw from the Spanish Steps. The area abounds with restaurants and eateries and the Trip Advisor ROME app a useful way of finding out what was best nearby.

Having returned home, a follow up email from the Residenza Frattina is a polite, courteous and professional touch.

Room Tip: It is lovely to overlook the pedestrianised street below though some early noise from cleaning vehicles is to be expected. If this is a problem then asking for a room overlooking the courtyard might be an idea.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sessoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for the compliments that we all have really appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to be your choice again when planning your next vacation in our beautiful city.
Best Regards,
Residenza Frattina
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews