We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
272
168
38
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
168
38
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsspanish stepsno elevatorgreat locationtrevi fountainheart of romepastriesmini baryour luggagestay there againwalking distancelounge areabreakfast was excellentquiet at nightvia del corsoboutique hotelhighly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 507 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great location, wonderful full breakfast, great A/C and location 2 blocks from the Spanish Steps and a metro station. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful.

One thing. This is not a fancy hotel and the hotel is up 2 full flights of stairs. So, if you have mobility issues, this is not the place for you.

Would definitely stay here agan when in Rome

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttercup53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great review about your stay!
All the staff of Residenza Frattina would like to thank you for your feeback about their job and we are very glad you enjoyed your experience.
As you wrote our location is central and all the main attractions of Rome are esily reacheble by walking distance and we are happy tp hear that you appreciated our breakfast which has a big varity of choice and for wich we always choose the best and freshest products.
Finally, it's true that there is no elevator, but we also have a bellboy for most time of the day ready to help with luggage.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at the Residenza Frattina for two nights.
Having travelled to Rome by car and on the advice of a friend parked in the Villa Borghese big underground car park. a 5 minute walk through the passage that linked directly to the Piazza di Spagna and there it was a mere 2 mins to the Residenza. Easy to find.
Being located on the second and third floors of a building dating from the 1700's means that there are a couple of flights of wide and shallow stairs to negotiate. Reception asked before we came in the gate to the courtyard if we needed help with luggage so there is no need to worry on that front, We hadn't booked direct with the hotel but via one of the booking sites, so we were particularly impressed by the warm and welcoming email we received before our arrival which set the tone and gave the opportunity to ask for anything we needed.

Rooms are nice, even the smaller of the two we stayed in was adequate for a city centre hotel, beds comfortable and linen spotless, bathrooms maybe a little dated. Bathrobes and slippers provided. Tea/coffee making facilities are in the rooms, a free minibar with water and soft drinks. And we were advised that complimentary Tea and Coffee was available in the really lovely lounge throughout the day - excellent!
During our stay we did change rooms from one at the front of the hotel to one overlooking the courtyard because we found the street noise a bit of a disturbance. The changeover of rooms was managed really well. A complimentary bottle of spumante as an acknowledgement of a birthday was a kind and welcome touch.

The lounge area is lovely and furnished in a style befitting a town house of the some elegance. Breakfast is served buffet style here and is available until 11am which is great if you want a lazy morning.

What really made our stay a great pleasure was without doubt the staff.
Flavia and Valentina on Reception were without doubt most welcoming and efficient at their jobs and their attitude and ability really helped to make us feel we were staying a guests in a rather nice private house as opposed to just a hotel. The lady serving breakfasts was equally excellent - lovely warm smile and nothing was too much trouble. The other members of staff we encountered seemed to share the same ethic.

The location is perfectly situated for sightseeing and shopping being located a stone's throw from the Spanish Steps. The area abounds with restaurants and eateries and the Trip Advisor ROME app a useful way of finding out what was best nearby.

Having returned home, a follow up email from the Residenza Frattina is a polite, courteous and professional touch.

Room Tip: It is lovely to overlook the pedestrianised street below though some early noise from cleaning vehicles is to be expected. If this is a problem then asking for a room overlooking the courtyard might be an idea.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sessoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for the compliments that we all have really appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to be your choice again when planning your next vacation in our beautiful city.
Best Regards,
Residenza Frattina
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Residenza Frattina November 16-22, 2013. We chose the hotel because of the TripAdvisor positive reviews and they were right on the money. The decor is lovely and the rooms adequate but it's the staff that earns the five star rating. They are friendly, helpful and it's obvious they will do anything to insure a guest's delight with their stay at the hotel. The location was perfect for getting around, located in the area of the Spanish Steps but quiet enough to insure a great night's sleep. The hotel offers a "pillow menu" for guests to choose from a selection of high quality pillows and that was a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent, our daily cappuccinos delightful and we always had hot water for our showers. My daughter's frustration with the hotel involved the hotel's unreliable wifi but I wasn't bothered by it at all. Yes, the shower is small but I have yet to stay in an "American sized" shower in Europe so again, it didn't bother me at all. Would I stay at the Residenza Frattina again? In a heartbeat. My thanks and compliments go out to the staff for a job well done!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarlaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review that we all have really appreciated, Regarding the problem you had with the internet it was the first time it happened in the Residenza and we managed to solve the problem at a certain point, and we asked you if you wanted to change room twice but our request was not accepted from you. Also we are very sorry that you thought that the shower wasn't big enough but again, by changing room you would have had for sure a bigger room. It’ s important to us to know when there is a problem so we can try to find a solution (and we believe we did by asking you to change room).
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to be your choice again when planning your next vacation in our beautiful city.
Best Regards,
Residenza Frattina
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff was very warm and helpful. The breakfast was nice with many choices, although not enough seats if everyone went to breakfast at once. We loved the delicious lemon tarts served at breakfast! The barista will make you a specialty coffee and tea or coffee was available in the afternoons as well. The location is great if you are planning to explore on foot. Loads of restaurants and shopping in the neighborhood. We were worried about the street noise, but the rooms have double windows, so it wasn't a problem. There was also air.con. Great water pressure in the shower, so much so, I'm not sure the drawn could handle it, and drainage was a bit problematic. Not too many TV channels, the internet was temperamental in the rooms, but fine in the lobby/ breakfast room, and the standard room was a bit small, but these things were hardly worth mentioning as our stay was really wonderful and I would absolutely recommend this establishment! The staff really goes out of their way to make your stay pleasant.

Room Tip: I believe some rooms face the court yard, which might be a little quieter if you are a light sleeper, but if noise doesn't bother you, it was really fun to look out the window at the bustling street below.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandieree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for your good review about your stay with us!
It's a pleasure for us to learn that thanks to our hospitality and our helpfulness, you spent a great time with us! Everytime we try to do all our best to satisfy and cuddle our guests, with our special tea and coffees in the morning and in afternoon served in our lounge, that accompany your day full of shopping and walking tours in the surrounding areas. For the next time, if you want to try something different, we suggest to have a look of our Junior Suites and Suite!
Hoping to welcome you next time to spend with us a pleasement vacation!

Best Regards,
Residenza Frattina
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The staff were excellent, only drawback in the room was the lack of a proper shower and the running out of hot water, but the situation and ambience made up for that. The breakfast room was lovely overlooking the street were the quality of the food mingled with the shoppers, fantastic

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet we had 46,
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for feedback about your stay with us!
Regarding the boiler in your room, you could tell us about that trouble and we would immediately have gone and checked if there was any. Anyway, it's a pleasure for us to learn that you spent a great time with us and that you liked our enchanting breakfast room facing the characteristic Via Frattina!
We really hope to welcome you next time!

Best Regards,
Residenza Frattina
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews