We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location in the heart of Rome!”
Review of Residenza Frattina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Frattina
Ranked #134 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location in the heart of Rome!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just stayed in the family apartment (with our two boys ages 9 and 6) at Residenza Frattina and fully enjoyed our experience! Wi-Fi, A/C, Modern amenities, comfortable beds, reasonable rates, superb location, great shower (!) and wonderful staff. Not only were we steps away from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum and the Spanish Steps, but we were in the heart of the city, with restaurants and people watching galore. Given we had just arrived from Naples, We asked for an early check in so we could go sight seeing for our only day in Roma. Even though our room wasn't ready for another half hour, Valentina kindly offered us cold drinks, cappuccinos, fruits and croissants while our boys watched You Tube videos on the computer in their Tea room. The Tea Room was a little formal, but still inviting. In the meantime, Valentina gave us lunch recommendations and maps of the area. When we checked into our room, it was clean, quiet and nicely decorated. A huge hall separated the bathroom from the sleeping area and our boys loved running up and down it. There was a medium sized mini fridge in the room and it was a nice surprise when they told us that we were welcome to everything in the minibar at no extra charge (just water and soda, but nice nonetheless). Since we had to leave for FCO before breakfast was served in the Tea Room the next day, Valentina offered to have our fridge filled with yogurt and snacks so our family could have breakfast in the room before we left the next day. The absolute ONLY drawback to the hotel is that you have to climb a BIG flight of stairs to get to the lobby and we felt that they could use slightly better signage on the outside of the hotel. They do have porters available to help with your luggage if climbing the stairs with your bags is a problem. Otherwise, we would highly recommend staying here, especially so because of the location, nice sized family room, cleanliness of the room and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Area is relatively quiet at night. Not sure what the other rooms are like but the family apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tess100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guests
thank you for your review for your gret reviw regarding you staying with us thanks part of valentina ! All the staff would like to thank you for the nice words and it's great to know that you liked our services and the location which is really central.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to be able to host you again in your next trip to Rome.
Best regards,
Customer Care Department.
Residenza Frattina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    148
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
171
151
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The location is excellent, close to all the shops and restaurants. Walking distance to a lot of major tourist attractions. The breakfast was good with friendly and helpful staff. It came highly recommended from friends of friends and did not disappoint. Will definitely come back and stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend to stay on the 4:th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your feedback about your stay with us!
We are so glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our breakfast and room.
We would be very happy to welcome you next time in the future!
Best regards,
Customer Care Department.
Residenza Frattina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

First of all, this hotel is in a great location on a street that is quiet at night. It is so close to the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. It's a straight shoot to the Vatican and to the train station. Next, the staff is simply outstanding. They responded to an email about rooms and noise when I was shopping around for a place to stay. They responded immediately and we're willing to accommodate my request for a quiet room. I am super sound sensitive and can be woken easily. The staff placed us in an amazing room. Large, charming and it had a great shower. The staff always greet you with a smile and are willing to help. They helped us repeatedly with tricky phone calls in italian. They offered us cappuccinos when we sat in their tea room even after we checked out. We were shocked that the minibar is stocked with soda and water AND that it was at no extra charge. The building is older (1700s) and just beautiful. You would be crazy not to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor of the hotel - they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a positive comment on tripadvisor, we are happy that liked the service and the location. the main objective of our job is to satisfy our customers and make them feel at home. Regarding the elevator we don't have one because this building Is to old but staff always ready to help you with the luggage.
Best regards,
Customer Care Department.
Residenza Frattina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Everything was just spot on. The room was very unique, we had a stained glass window, a large circular bed and everything including the free min bar was accessible. Internet was great, and super to have computer available to use as well. The breakfast was super and plentiful. The metro was just a short walk and train station was a few stops away. Close to Spanish steps and Trevi fountain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 787Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review, we are very glad that you appreciate our Residenza! is very important for us to know that you liked the room and the breakfast .We are very glad made spend a pleasant vacation in Rome and to have satisfied all the expectations. We strongly hope that you will be our guests again in the future.
Best regards,
Customer Care Department.
Residenza Frattina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked for a quadruple room for a family of four for five days. The room and shower is always kept clean. The mini bar always stocked with water and sodas. It's a great location, walking distance to metro, taxi stop and places like Spanish Steps, Via Condotti (shopping district), Trevi Fountain, Piazza Barberini, Galleria Alberto Sordi and more. The breakfast room was very cozy and Ms. Pita makes very good cappuccino. Residenza (Ms. Spigola and Ms. Valentina) also helped us book our daily tours with Carrani and it was all worth it, we skipped the long lines to Vatican Museum, St. Peter's Basilica, Pompei, etc., the tour guides kept the walking tours at good pace for all participants and were informative. Residenza also provided the airport shuttle service for our convenience. Juan Carlos was the driver, very pleasant and helped carried our luggages. We had a great time and will surely recommend Residenza to friends and family.
Gent family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gent j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for spending part of your time to write a review about your stay with us!
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed our services especially the job of the staff at the reception, our breakfast and the cleaning service in the rooms. All the staff would like to thank you for your nice words and for mentioning their names!
As you say, our Residenza is located in the heart of Rome, very close to all the main attractions and we believe it's the best location to explore the city without the stress of moving with the buses or subway.
Finally, our staff is always pleased to help our guests booking a good tour or a taxi service as happened in your case.
I hope you will choose us again for your next trip to Rome!
Best regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay for my 40th. The staff here are it's greatest asset, simply charming. The rooms (our room) were small with high ceilings. The bed was immaculately clean and the shower excellent. We had a welcome bottle of prosecco and the minibar (soft drinks) was free and plentiful. The whole ambience is homely and relaxed. The breakfast was plentiful with great coffee. Finally, the location is superb. If you get a taxi from the airport to the Spanish steps you will get dropped right in front of Via d. Frattina. Have already recommended to family. Thanks for making this a special birthday Residenza Frattina :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanhol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
first of all thank you for your good review about your stay at Residenza Frattina!
Thank you for the beautiful words about our staff and our services. It was a pleasure for us to honor your birthday with a welcome bottle of prosecco!
It's very important for us to satisfy all our guests and to make you fill at home.
Really hoping to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,
Residenza Frattina
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a very enjoyable 3 night stay staff were very helpful location is superb breakfast lovely the only small niggle is yes soundproofing is an issue but hey you can't have everything can you unless you pay a ridiculous amount of money all all this hotel is in a great location with great staff a good breakfast we will be returning many thanks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCFoodie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your feedback about your stay at Residenza Frattina!
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here, you liked breakfast and our hospitality. Concerning the noisy, next time you can inform us and we try to change the room, because we always try to satisfy all our guests in any way!
We really hope to have you as our guests in the future!

Best Regards,
Residenza Frattina
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#109 of 1,256 in Rome
828 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,256 in Rome
268 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#65 of 1,256 in Rome
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#163 of 1,256 in Rome
796 reviews
Campo Marzio
Daniel's Hotel
Daniel's Hotel
#426 of 1,256 in Rome
191 reviews
Campo Marzio
Frattina Rooms
Frattina Rooms
#506 of 3,643 in Rome
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Frattina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Frattina

Property: Residenza Frattina
Address: Via Frattina 104, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residenza Frattina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Frattina, a charming town house in the center of Rome, offers a cozy and charming atmosphere for guests. Elegant room décor with a storied history to create a delightful home-grown experience. Residenza Frattina is an ideal jumping point to entire Rome; located close to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and world famous boutiques on Via Condotti and Via del Corso are all easily accessible from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Residenza Frattina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Frattina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing