We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple hotel”
Review of Residenza Frattina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residenza Frattina
Ranked #137 of 3,763 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, very central if you want access to Metro and located in the shopping district. The hotel was clean, breakfast was provided with lots of selection and between half 7 and 11am.
The room was also very nice, great shower, comfy bed and clean. However, we were situated by the breakfast room and it was very noisy in the early hours of the morning. You could also hear all conversations that took place in the corrider. The staff were pleasant but not forthcoming with information. We would have expected a quick intro to the location, including a map or some guidance to where to find a first drink / bite to eat.

We also booked a wake up call for our departure at half 4. We had set an alarm luckily as we found the porter asleep on the sofa and had to wake him to call us a cab. This could have been a different story if we had relied on the call!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krysia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guests,
first of all thank you for writing a review about your stay with us.
I would like to thank you for your nice words about our Residenza, mentioning the breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms!
About the noise I'm sure the staff would have provided a change of room if knowing about this problem.
I'm very sorry to hear your complaining about our staff that always receives the best scores on the websites. All the staff would like to apologize about the episode you mentioned. We will absolutely take dispositions about that.
I need though to inform you that our alarms are set automatically from the computer and after a research we realized there was an alarm at that time this month and the process went through correctly.
It could have happened that the ringtone has been switched off in the room or that something technical went wrong.
Finally let me just tell that we are located in the city centre and the closest taxi stop is just 200 metres from here so it just takes two-three minutes for a taxi to arrive and I'm sure you didn't have to wait too long fortunately.
I again apologize in the staff's name and we hope you will choose us again for your next trip in Rome and give us the chance to let you reconsider our services.
Best regards,
Customer Care Department.
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 475 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel location is excellent. There is no need public transportation all the attractions within walking distance. The staff is very nice and very helpful. Rooms are clean and free minibar. Sometimes hear noise coming rooms and the street below. Value for money

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amnonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us on Tripadvisor!
All the staff would like to thank you about your nice words and we are glad you liked all our services, like breakfast, free minibar and the cleaning.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Rome!
Best regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is a small charming hotel with very friendly staff. Tearoom with a bit worn sofas, swinging old herringbone parquet floor, fresh fruit all day and not to forget a barista for the breakfast. Bicycles for those who wish to scan the city first, before digging into all the lovely places you find in every corner of the city. Soft drinks in the minibar were free.

Be ware of the poor sound insulation to the corridor.

If you aim for luxury then this is not the place for you though. Part of the charm is the slight worn wallpapers, sofas and everything is small. However, well noted is that the beds are NOT worn but instead good. Breakfast is functional with most of what you need also for children, but not more. On the other hand - Rome has such good food, so you do not want to fill your stomach too early, but strangely I missed a normal good croissant for my espresso.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mudmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience with us!
Your opinion is very important to understand if we are doing a good job.
As you correctly wrote in our tearoom it is possible to have a tea/coffe and there is always fresh fruit and biscuits available for our guests! We are glad you appreciated the high quality of our breakfast and all the staff would like to thank you for your nice words about their job at our Residenza!
I would just like to say that there are some pieces of real antique forniture in our Residenza, so what could seem to be a little to worn it is just due to the age of the forniture itself (most of them dated 18-19th century).
We all look forward to welcoming you again at Residenza Frattina!
Best regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Well located hotel, friendly atmosphere, and tasty breakfast.
The rooms were very comfortable, free wi fi was available 24 hours/day, the staff was very nice. Rooms were fitted with a large plasma TV. The room had coffee and tea facilities. A small minibar was included and we could use it free. The shower was confortable, and there was a good supply of toileteries.

Room Tip: To be in the same floor of the reception. My room was one floor above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your splendid review about your staying with us ! Your opinion is really important for us!
We hope to welcome you again with us in Rome in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Deapartment
Residenza Frattina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family of 4 stayed for 5 magnificent nights in late January. The family room had a nice queen size bed with two pull out single beds on each side. There was plenty of room to sit and the bathroom was more than large enough. Even better was the entry to the room, just off the bath, we were all able to dress in privacy. My family loved the breakfast and sitting room off the lobby, it was our meeting place while we were all getting ready for the day, and a wonderful place to sit in the afternoon. Our room was in the front of the hotel which is noisy, but the music of the Italian people speaking soothed us all to sleep. The staff was friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. We would absolutely stay again and recommend to all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the lobby level, there was a lot of activity and could get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knippfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guests,
All the staff of Residenza Frattina would like to thank you for your great review about your stay with us!
I'm glad you liked your room and our breakfast room and lobby and I would like to thank you for your nice words about our staff!
We will be more than happy to host you in the next future.
Best regards,
Customer Care Deapartment
Residenza Frattina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our 3 night stay was great. The hotel is lovely and in a fantastic location enabling you to walk to any of the main tourist sights (you are also in the center of the shopping district if you fancy doubling the cost of your holiday on a handbag). The nearest thing to a bar nearby is the Enoteca Antica, which I highly recommend for a delicious glass of wine in stylish/attractive surroundings. We tried to get a table at the Matricianella but they are closed on Sunday and the hotel staff recommended Le Grotte (don't bother - distinctly average and just expensive). When trying to find the hotel, look for a red flag half way down the street protruding from the 1st floor of the building. We had 3 good days of sightseeing in Rome and at no point felt the need to use any form of transportation which can only be testament to the great location of the hotel. My wife found the mattress a little hard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sur4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for spending your time to write a review about your stay with us!
Our previous guests opinion is really important to us in order to get better and understand if we are doing a good job.
As you wrote our Residenza is located very central and by walking distance to all the main attractions.
I hope we will be again your choice for a future trip to Rome!
Best regards,
Customer Care Department.
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our friends birthday at the beginning of February 2013 and it was an excellent choice.
The hotel is very centrally located, in fact we walked to all of the attractions within the city, and the area around the hotel is full of designer shops and restaurants.
The hotel itself is small and incredibly friendly - the staff literally cannot do enough for you. The room was clean with a safe, free minibar stocked with soft drinks and water, a Television and even a bathrobe an slippers! Cons however the bathroom was tiny, verging on too small, the hair dryer was useless, and the lighting was awful (nightmare to do your makeup - girly I know!!) also our room (37) was right next to the breakfast room which meant when everyone else was up for breakfast so were we! The breakfast itself was lovely with fresh fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheese, eggs and warm bread.
One final point the hotel is up 2 flights of stairs with no lift, this was fine for us but anyone with walking difficulties may struggle. I would definately reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a friendly centrally located hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your review about your stay with us!
All the staff would like to thank you for nice words and I'm very glad to know that you appriciated the high quality of our breakfast!
I'm sorry you felt the bathroom was tiny and that the hair dryer was not strong enough. I'm sure that by telling that to our staff they would have immediately suggested a change of room!
We hope to be you choice again for next time in Rome and we look forward to welcoming you again..
Best regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Elite
Navona Elite
#812 of 1,272 in Rome
5 reviews
Campo Marzio
Dopodomani Suite
Dopodomani Suite
#413 of 3,763 in Rome
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Splendor Suite Rome
Splendor Suite Rome
#39 of 3,763 in Rome
401 reviews
Colonna
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
#36 of 3,763 in Rome
476 reviews
Trevi
Arpinelli Relais
Arpinelli Relais
#13 of 3,763 in Rome
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Frattina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Frattina

Address: Via Frattina 104, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 3,763 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $96 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Frattina 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Frattina, a charming town house in the center of Rome, offers a cozy and charming atmosphere for guests. Elegant room décor with a storied history to create a delightful home-grown experience. Residenza Frattina is an ideal jumping point to entire Rome; located close to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and world famous boutiques on Via Condotti and Via del Corso are all easily accessible from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Residenza Frattina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Frattina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing