We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful boutique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Garden Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose Garden Palace
Ranked #79 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at the Rose Garden Palace twice on a recent trip to Rome--one night the first time, and five nights the second. It has all the qualities I look for in a boutique hotel, and I will certainly book it on my next trip. Specifically: It's small, so there are no large tour groups. The rooms are well designed and spacious (single rooms in Italy are often tiny, but these are generous). The breakfast buffet is excellent, and the restaurant is open from noon until late without a break--a boon to a jet-lagged traveler wanting an early dinner! The staff are extremely helpful, remembering guests' names and preferences. It's on a quiet street just off the Via Veneto: no noise, but easy access to transportation. There are a bus stop and a taxi stand in the same block, and it's a 10-minute walk to the subway (although the bus connects, so even that can be avoided.) Five stars on all counts!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    276
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
187
416
33
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Loved this hotel! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was fantastic. When we arrived our room wasn't quite ready so we were taken to the bar area and given free coffee and drinks. This was a lovely first impression. The room itself was amazing. Really spacious, clean and enjoyable to stay in. We had a double balcony, a walk in wardrobe and a bath tub for two. The facilities at the hotel were also fantastic. Pool, Sauna and gym. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast selection was very good. We had a really wonderful time in Rome and having such a good base just made it even better. Because we went when we did; the week before Easter the deal we got was amazing! Value for money and then some! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking at going to Rome. It's a 10 min walk from the Spanish steps, the facilities are fantastic and the staff really attentive. I defy you to have anything other than a brilliant time.

Room Tip: We went for the Superior Double. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

If this is your first time in Rome, I'd not recommend, basically due to the location isn't "user friendly" for first timers. If you HAVE been to Rome and are looking for a new neighborhood to start your walking journeys, then this is it!

The staff is so wonderful (friendly/helpful) and the rooms nice. Breakfast very good. Restaurant a bit expensive...especially when you can stroll down to Vento and have a wide selection of good food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was billed as a 4 star hotel and it certainly matched up to its rating. The hotel was clean, tidy and all items working (ie air conditioning). We didn't eat at the restaurant as it was a little expensive (but then again isn't all of Rome), the breakfast was good with a large choice of fresh food. Good location just off the Via Vento and everywhere was walkable. We had a room opposite the American Embassy which had a view all over Rome, well worth asking for this side of the hotel. Only criticism was that the pool was not big enough to swim in, more of a plunge pool. I want to go back......now !

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the American Embassy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We took our company top performers to Rome in March and stayed at the Rose Garden Palace. It was a wonderful decision. It is close to just about anywhere you want to walk. We felt safe being across the street from the American Embassy. We were a 10 minute walk from the subway and amazing shopping all around the hotel. San Marco Restaurant was always delicious and the grocery store next door had everything we needed for our room. The coffee was amazing- the best I've had in Europe! I would stay there again and I didn't hear any complaints about the hotel from my 59 travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birthjunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosegardenpalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rose Garden Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing the Rose Garden Palace Hotel for your visit to Rome.

Our guests' comments are very important tool to monitor the quality standard we strive to offer.
We are glad to realize that you and your 59 travelers appreciated our Hotel, location and our staff professionalism.

We hope to see you again as our guest for your next visti to Rome.

Kindest Regards,

Rose Garden Palace Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location - central but quiet. It is very clean and comfortable. And we enjoyed the spa pool a lot, using it every day. The breakfast is ok. We like to have fruit but it wasn't always the sweetest or best quality. And not a good choice of cereals. Our bed and pillows were comfortable but I would have preferred not to have a rubber crunchy mattress protector. I don't remember that from the last time we were there. Also I would have liked more light for reading in the room. We often ate at Il Pomodorino, a restaurant very close by. They serve delicious and reasonably priced food, and many locals and families eat there as well as tourists. We also found a nearby cafe called Lotti which is v. good. This hotel is very good and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite, which was spacious; the standard room looked rather small. I would enquire a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosegardenpalace, assistant manager at Rose Garden Palace, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear NormaDMH,

thanks for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed our fitness center L'OASI with free access for our hotel guests and open from 7am till 11pm.

About the rubber mattress protectors we have them since the hotel opening (November 2001).
Of course they are necessary for cleanliness reasons.

We hope to welcome you again to our hotel and we wish you a nice day!

Carmen Mattiello
Assistant Manager
&
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a lovely small hotel in a quiet part of Roma (yes, there are quiet parts) near the Villa Borghese. Yet it is convenient to everything, if you don't mind walking. The room is generous considering the price and the staff is exceedingly helpful. They really made us feel at home! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the small but well equipped gym.

So what was the problem? Our bed was rather uncomfortable. We had a thin mattress and lumpy pillows. Fix the beds and this hotel is just about perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosegardenpalace, assistant manager at Rose Garden Palace, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear David D,

many thanks for your comment.

You are right: the location is fantastic: nice and quiet area few steps far away from Via Veneto and Villa Borghese park.

Thanks for your words of appreciation for our Staff, a young and professional team!

We are sorry you considered uncomfortable our mattress: we have 2 different typologies and if you prefer a fatter and softer one you could ask for it at the Reception desk.
About the pillows they have a seam just in the middle against cervical pain but feather pillows are available. Then we wait for you in a next future and you will be able to ask for them at our Housekeeper Rita...

Thanks again!



Carmen Mattiello
Assistant Manager
&
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#43 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#223 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#41 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Palace

Property: Rose Garden Palace
Address: Via Boncompagni 19, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#68 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#89 Family Hotel in Rome
#92 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Rose Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing