We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely haven for a long weekend break in busy Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Garden Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rose Garden Palace
Ranked #87 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely haven for a long weekend break in busy Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We walked from the main train station in Rome to the hotel when we arrived. We caught the shuttle train from the airport which was really easy. On reflection, taking a cab from the train station to the hotel would have been much easier!

The hotel was very clean, modern and welcoming. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was much bigger than we were expecting. It was very comfortable with a view of the American Embassy opposite! We slept really well in the big comfortable bed. We had a sofa area lovely walk in wardrobe. The breakfast buffet was delicious and varied and available from 8-11am! We had several late breakfasts!

We found the lovely pool in the hotel basement and had it all to ourselves for an hour! It was a great way to cool off after a hot day sight seeing. You can go straight from the lift to the pool so just wear your dressing gown - really decadent!

The hotel is about a 15 min walk to the Trevi fountain and just a few mins to local bars and restaurants. There is a taxi rank at the end of the road - really convenient! We walked to some of the main sights the first day, but after a whole day walking around the sights we were really exhausted, so after that we treated ourselves to a cab to get us to an area in the morning and then a cab home at the end of the day. This was much better and in general each cab cost about 8-10e each time.

The hotel was always a welcome sight at the end of the day. I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndawylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    282
    51
    15
    8
See reviews for
197
423
34
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful small hotel with excellent service. Rooms are large with walk in closets. Bathroom was the best ever. Directly across the street from US Embassy. Quiet street. Within walking distance of shopping & nice restaurants. GREAT French Cafe one block away on corner where you can dine in and/or take out bakery or just have a drink while watching people. Food service & bar at hotel very good for those times you need to just stay in resting your feet! Staff helpful and very accommodating. Suggest taking Hotel business card if using Taxi. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgar103150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel in Romw which we would well siuated to our tastes and reasonably priced in comparison to other Rome hotels for the faciities on offer.
We had a nice room that was very clean,quiet and a comfortable bed.
We enjoyed several meals at the hotel in the evening and enjoyed the informality of the breakfast room arragments in the morning.With lovely fresh strawberries and lovely pastries everyday
What really makes this Hotel in my view though is its staff.Over the six days we stayed I found them all polite and helpful and willing to go the extra mile which was appreciated.

Room Tip: There are no smoking rooms on no smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at Rose Garden Palace for 3 nights. It is well located on a quiet street and in the heart of Rome. The staff is very very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very clean, comfortable with speedy wi-fi. The garden is perfect for breakfast and a quiet dinner.
I really enjoy my stay and I think is a good option for a pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is very well situated on a reasonably quiet street. My room faced the main street and I barely heard any traffic at night nor from the neighbouring rooms, which I greatly appreciated. Otherwise, I was a bit disappointed that breakfast started at 07:00 considering I had meetings to attend early in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Rome for 5 day and 4 nights from London. It is well located near the Spanish Steps and the Fontana di Trevi. The staff there are very friendly. The pool is very nice. The rooms are very big with very comfortable beds. There are desks there so you can work if you go on a business trip. It is very kind that they give you mints on your pillows. The gym is small but functional. The breakfast was yummy. I think 15 euros is a fair price for one person.The pool is small but good for relaxing in and it has a built in Jacuzzi.The sauna is nice and relaxing but be warned because it does turn off. So overall I think that it is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWLondonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

In planning a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Rome for our family, my husband and I visited a dozen hotels in person before selecting the Rose Garden Palace -- and we made the absolute right choice. We were traveling with people with diverse needs, and this hotel not only fulfilled them, but exceeded our expectations. We needed a modern, full-service hotel with 24/hour personnel, spacious rooms, an on-site restaurant, an elevator, a/c, immediate access to taxis and transport, and a sense of calm and peace. We got exactly this.

The Rose Garden Palace manages to be luxurious but unfussy; it is in the heart of Rome and yet at a slight remove from the Via Veneto, making it a perfect oasis. The hotel is quiet and chic. The breakfast buffet each morning is generous and delicious. And, perhaps most importantly, the staff is top-notch.

The rates, when we booked in advance directly with the hotel, were competitive. Indeed, we looked at much smaller hotels around Rome that offered far less -- for the same price or even more money.

THE SERVICE: Our parents, who are older, needed a room with a walk-in shower instead of a tub. They got this (only a few of the 65 rooms have this -- the #14 line). A sister, flying solo, was given a reduced rate for her double, which she appreciated. And my husband and I were upgraded to a junior suite free of charge. Complimentary bottles of Prosecco and a fruit basket were sent to us all upon our arrival. The welcome could not have been warmer. And throughout the week, the exuberant staff bent over backwards to accommodate us -- making dinner reservations, calling cabs, even helping me with my Italian. They were wonderfully patient, conscientious, friendly, and helpful. They really made our stay.

THE LOCATION: This is the "genteel" part of Rome, right near the Villa Borghese, the Via Veneto, and the embassy district. The streets are wider, leafier, and less active than those closer in to the Historic Center. It's a 12-minute walk to the top of the Spanish Steps, a 20-minute walk to the Trevi Fountain, 40 minutes to the Pantheon. A public bus to the Coliseum and Forum stops right outside the hotel. The Barberini Metro stop is 8-10 minutes away down the hill. Taxis to the Vatican took about 15 minutes and cost us between 12-20 Euros, depending on traffic. A taxi stand is right outside the hotel. So it's within easy access to all the big tourist "musts."

If you are a walker who loves to be in the middle of all the winding, narrow-street areas like the Spanish Steps, Campo di Fiori, or the Pantheon -- or, if you like the funkier, less touristy areas of Trastevere, Testaccio, or Celio -- you might find the Rose Garden Palace's neighborhood a bit staid. For us, however, it was a perfect antidote to all the bustle. And we were surprised to find some truly decent restaurants just a few minutes from the hotel. (Il Fellini, Il Piccolo Mondo, to name two).

THE ROOMS: The rooms are extremely spacious for Rome and decorated in relaxing tones of white, pearl gray, brown, blue, and peach, with a nice, simple mix of modern and antique furniture. They are clean with excellent firm beds; individual climate controls; safe; minibar (two free bottles of water a day); free Wifi; slippers and robes; room & turn-down service; sitting area & work space; fluffy towels, washcloths (not a given in Europe); a hairdrier. Our room was on the first floor facing the main street and the embassy; I worried it would be noisy, but it was not. The little balcony was a treat, too.

The hotel was fully booked when we were there, but it never felt crowded -- even though the airy, stylish public spaces are not vast.

THE FEW QUIBBLES: Even though our room had its own handy dressing room, we found there was not enough actual closet space. The hangers are those annoying ones that slot into a ring suspended from the bar. And there is not master light switch by the bed, so that you have to go around before you go to sleep shutting off each light. When I went down to use the spa pool after a long day of walking, the water was tepid & the button for the jets in the whirlpool seemed to be on the opposite side of the outlets. Yet these are clearly "first world problems," and hardly reasons not to stay at this lovely hotel. I wanted to mention them simply so that readers know exactly what to expect.

The restaurant, while convenient for a late lunch or dinner, could be a little spotty in terms of service. Some of the food was excellent, some merely fine. Nothing, however, was bad. And yes, it was pricey. It was what we expected, frankly, from an upscale hotel restaurant.

Overall, the Rose Garden Palace really lives up to its name. It is truly a little Eden in the middle of a boisterous city. My family was extremely comfortable and grateful -- and impressed with the overall level of the hotel. A special "grazie mille" to Marco, Barbara, Natasha (did I get that right?) and Jemela at the front desk, and all the lovely bellmen (whose names, unfortunately, I forgot to write down). A week-long stay at a hotel can be heaven -- or hellish -- depending upon the accommodations and the staff. This one was wonderful. I say: Go ahead and book it.

Room Tip: Most rooms face a street. Yet they are not noisy. I am a ridiculously light sleeper and very noise-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aBroadAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#210 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#41 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#37 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Palace

Property: Rose Garden Palace
Address: Via Boncompagni 19, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#68 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#89 Family Hotel in Rome
#92 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Rose Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing