We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday from hell”
Review of Valle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valle Hotel
Ranked #1,035 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Holiday from hell”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'd rather burn £600 than give this hotel this amount of money for 3 nights of accomodation. Staff were by far the rudest people I have ever come across. They would look down their noses at me and my boyfriend due to the fact that we are a young couple. They spoke to us as with no respect and would constantly make comments. The rooms were tiny, and although we ordered one with a bath we did not have one. We were only given a shower and when we pointed out our actual order on the documents I had printed out and taken along with us, they shrugged their shoulders and told us it was tough luck. I could not wait to go home, holiday from hell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wales106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvalle, Direttore at Valle Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We read with dismay your third negative comment was added. In fact, after having carried out appropriate research in our booking system we realized that you are always the same customers.
Your behavior is detrimental to the image of our hotel, which as is shown by the comments of other guests welcomes its clients to make their stay pleasant and satisfying.
In case you have plans to continue to add additional negative comments will adopt the necessary procedures to protect ourselves in order to avoid your actions
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    107
    102
    70
    60
See reviews for
70
134
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last month. Being a young couple we found that the staff at the hotel were extremely rude towards us, despite being polite towards older people that stayed here. The location is not ideal if you prefer to walk rather than catch the metro. We paid for a double room, yet were given a twin room. It was only after making a fuss that they allowed us to change rooms. Breakfast was extremely basic. I'd recommend going to the cafe next door instead as it has much more of a welcoming atmosphere. The outside doors of the hotel need to be activated from inside, so sometimes we'd find ourselves stood knocking the door for several minutes, waiting for someone to actually notice us. The thought of going back to the hotel everyday out a downer on the evening, was actually that bad. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank GThom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvalle, Direttore at Valle Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We note with great dismay your returns.
Our staff is extremely kind to all customers, not just with older people.
The hotel is situated in the historic centre just a five minute walk from the Colosseum and the Imperial Forum, just 50 mt. from the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore.
It’s also connected by bus and underground to the entire city.
The double room is a room that can be or twin or king bedroom. It appears that there has been provided immediate change without any protest.
The breakfast offers assortment of sweet and savory foods, we are sorry that your taste has nor been satisfied, while other clients appreciate it very much.
Finally, as regards the outer door of the hotel this is automatic and opens individually to the presence of the person in the doorway.
Hope to have satisfied all of your complains, we would be very glad to welcome you again in our hotel as our loyal client.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Worcester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I originally booked the hotel for it's location and then read the various reports, I was a little concerned. These concerns were soon despatched after arrival. A warm welcome was given at reception. Our room was spotlessly clean, I would not consider the room either too small or too large but just right. Breakfast was plentiful both in volume and choice and was well replenished. The only negative was the small breakfast area (which is cramped when busy). The location is ideal being only 5 minutes from the main termini station and the Colosseum. If I was to return to Rome I would certainly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Cute, clean and a great location
The hotel is only 10 minute walk to the Roma Termini (train station) and 5 minute walk to the hop on hop off tourist buses (and the splendid Santa Maria Maggiore!). At the hotel, the staff were nice and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast area is small, (which, may give a romantic atmosphere for couples less than 1.87cm!) . The TV has some problems (only 3 channels, poor image) but we were here to see Rome, not the local political debates!

Room Tip: higher floors seems to have more noise and furniture comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiriac D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the other reviews about how small the rooms were and the breakfast area, but unless you are a very large person.. the rooms are fine! i have taken a photo so you can see. I don't know what other people plan on doing in their rooms that they need so much room for (starjumps??) but we had a huge double bed (twin beds pushed together), side tables, a wardrobe, mini fridge, tv and desk and our bathroom. bathroom did smell a little odd at times but we put it down to ventilation. Be prepared to soak your bathroom floor every day as we didn't have a shower curtain, but again, we didn't really care because we showered, left, and the maid would clean everything every day. towels were changed every day, once they forgot, i asked for new ones and were given them straight away no problemo!

breakfast area, yes this is part of reception, it's really not that cramped, it was never over crowded, and we would wander down at 9.30am, when breakfast would finish at 10am, and there was always plenty of food - bread rolls, cheese, garlic sausage slices, pastries, jam, soft cheese and butter, loads to fill you up. Coffee had usually run out but again, you just ask and you will get!

all the staff were polite and friendly and spoke enough english to communicate which was good as we don't speak a word of italian! We booked through olhotels and the hotel cost us £170 for 4 nights, really can't complain about anything.

fantastic location, we walked to our hotel from the termini train station, about 10mins, and about 15mins to the colleseum, 5-7min to nearest metro. very close to the opera where there are some lovely restaurents. we also went to the restaurent opposite our hotel which was great.

the only downside we had was that the room outside ours on a seperate building, were doing some building works, so we were woken by a loud drill a couple of mornings! We stayed in room 307 so perhaps ask to be put on the other side of the hotel if you can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is only 10 minute walk to the Roma Termini (train station) and 5 minute walk to the hop on hop off tourist buses. At the hotel, the staff were helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast area is small, which, may give a romantic atmosphere for couples.

Room Tip: I booked last minute at the Roma Termini accommodation booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AroundWorldIn80Years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

bad points, very small rooms, no kettles, coffee.. in the room, and language problem. good points; helpful staff, clean room everyday, breakfast ok and excellent location. you can walk to most of the sites from hotel. the day before we traveled, i read the review saying about the bed bugs, and i had a really bad night thinking about it and it was to late to change the reservation, next day when we arrived first thing i checked was the beds and they were all clean, so ignore that review which says bad bugs..

Room Tip: rooms at the front does not smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sema2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#351 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#225 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#349 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#427 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#87 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#295 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valle Hotel

Property: Valle Hotel
Address: Via Cavour 134, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,035 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Valle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valle Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing