We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to explore rome from”
Review of Villa Glori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Glori Hotel
Ranked #236 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

as you will read or have already read, yes the rooms are quite small, and yes there are "people" on here who who have very harshly criticised the hotel for that!! but being 'normal' i went to Rome in order to......well..... SEE ROME!!! if you're looking to spend a lot of time in in a room, with home cooked meals and a large screen TV to watch a film on just like at home....stay home!! if you're looking for a hotel to explore Rome from that is cheaper than the central hotels and in some instances more convenient look no further, there is a tram stop about 40 metres from the hotel (which is free and every 2 minutes) and it stops at Piazza del Popolo, one of the main piazzas, which has a metro station that costs 1.50 per trip to anywhere in Rome!! you can literally get from the hotel to the Colosseum or the Vatican in about 15 minutes without walking more than a few hundred steps!! If i visit Rome again i will definitely, without hesitation, book this place again!! the daytime staff were very good, very helpful and spoke English perfectly, the night staff weren't quite as friendly, or helpful, or polite, or happy, or as good at speaking English, or approachable, but at least there are night staff and someone at the desk 24 hours a day. also, the pizza place opposite the hotel was very good, they also do takeaways, if you wanted to have it in your room :s. the breakfast was average, cereals, eggs, breads, cheeses, hams and doughnuts (thats right, doughnuts!?), im quite happy with cereal so it was fine for me!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanky1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear "Hanky 1984"
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!
We are glad to know that you found our Hotel clean and quiet, with very friendly staff, spacious and clean room, outstanding breakfast....but overall thank you for your clear guide to explore Rome starting from Villa Glori ;)
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Villa Glori Htl again in the future.
I remain at complete disposal
Sincerely
Stefania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Villa Glori Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 760 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice, clean and cosy hotel. Although the room was quite small. It was perfect for my vacations with my husband. The hotel was in very good neighborhood very close to the tram station, which takes you downtown (piazza di popolo) in less than 10 minutes. Staff and especially Isabella was very kind and helpful!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Eleni K,
Thank you for your review and to have chosen our Villa Glori Htl for your stay in Rome.

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our comfortable Hotel, staff,( Isabella Thanks you sincerely;) )
I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments!
Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location and connections.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Villa Glori Htl again in the future.

With Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

this is a great base to explore Rome from, it was a nice hotel, good sized rom, great bathroom, all very clean. Good breakfast selection. Reception staff all spoke english and were really helpful and friendly. This hotel is in Flaminio just 10 mins from the metro station - which is nxt to Plazza del poppolo. We actually walked into town as it was nice weather and only a short walk. Very pleasant area generally. We had considered a hotel near termini and I am realy glad we didnt go for that as this is a much nicer area. Not touristy.
Try La Friseria on the corner for great cheap eats just steps away from the hotel. The Nero D'avola red was 2.5 euros for a large glass and was delicious! great pasta mains fr 8 - 10 euro's.

Room Tip: we were in room 60 on the ground floor - which has its own patio / balcony area.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kallienolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear "Kallienolan",

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay and to have chosen our Villa Glori Htl !

We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and that we met your expectation. :)))

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location and connections.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at the Villa Glori Htl again in the future.

Best regards
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

the hotel was a little bit out of the way from the city centre, however it was very quick and easy to get to the centre. hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the complimentary breakfast was nice.
the lift was a bit small and only one person can fit in it with luggage, the rooms are also quite small however this didnt really matter as not a lot of time was spent in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for spending your time to share your experience with us regarding your last stay at Villa Glori Htl in Roma.

We give great value to all our customers feedback as it allows us to do always better, in fact the great standard of service in which we believe and deliver is proven by the many positive reviews of our guests that have allowed us to achieve a high score on review sites online.

We hope to have the chance to accomodate you once again in the next future and please consider us at complete disposal for any further necessity you may have .

Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Very cozy Hotel! The neighborhood is wonderful! It was my first time in Flaminia area and I love it. Walking (not to close!) distance to Villa Borghese park, which I love so much. Avarage price for a taxi to go to Fontana di Trevi, for example, is 15euros.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiLuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we thank you for your positive feedback. We thank you for all the comments and we are absolutely delighted about your impressions about our Hotel. We really do care for our guests' satisfaction and do our best to improve every day our services .
Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel is well located, in a quiet nice street not far away from the people's place. There are some small restaurants nearby. The staff was kind. But the room was small indeed.
Too small to be a true 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlorrieFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wonderfully located hotel! In a quiet location, extremely close to public transportation and a couple good restaurants nearby!

I had stayed at this hotel in 2009 with my daughter and found it perfect, so when the chance came up for I and my husband to take a city break I suggested staying there again and he agreed since I had so many nice things to say about it the first time.

Villa Glori Hotel didn’t disappoint!

The staff is wonderful and helpful. Shame that someone quite recently posted a horrible review about the staff and the hotel. As I have worked in Guest Relations for a major cruise line, I can only surmise that this couple were upset to begin with and that carried over to their dealings with this hotel. Sad, but that is my opinion I suppose!

Anyway, the hotel offers breakfast in the morning from 7am to 10am. Basic, but enough to give you head start for the day. 4 different cold cereals. 3 different continental meats. Pastry, toast (you make yourself) fruit and yogurt. 2 different juices and bottled water. Coffee, Latte and hot water for tea. We seen a few guests being served what appeared to be Espresso and Cappuccinos from the kitchen by the gentleman who stocks up the breakfast, but we never tried this. It's a small room; tables are set in 2’s and if memory serves, hold about 38 people.

We read that internet was an additional cost of €6 but when we arrived we were told that it was free. You just have to ask the receptionist for the login information. Pretty good speed, but we just used it for checking out directions and information on sites.

Yes, the room and bathroom are very compact but they are clean, well pointed out and quiet! The pillows are a bit on the thin side. However, we were so tired after spending the entire day walking around seeing the sights of Rome that we didn’t really care, just fell to sleep!

Being close to the City Centre without actually BEING in the City Centre! You literally walk 2 minutes straight to the Tram (which arrives every few minutes), 2 stops later (at the end of the line) you can jump on the Metro (underground) and it will take you to all the main attractions (Spagna, Colosseo & Vatican). Or you can take a walk, straight ahead of you when you step off the Tram, on Via del Corso; passing by all types of shops, ristorantes, cafés, pizzerias; gelaterias etc and get to the main attractions with little effort (it's about a 20-25 minute leisurely walk to the Colosseo).

This is my 4th visit to Rome and my 2nd to the Villa Glori Hotel. Neither disappointed me. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CompassRoseCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for spending your time to share your experience with us regarding your last stay at the Villa Glori Htl here in Roma.

We give great value to all our customers feedback as it allows us to do always better, in fact the great standard of service in which we believe and deliver is proven by the many positive reviews of our guests that have allowed us to achieve a high score on review sites online.

We hope to have the chance to accomodate you once again in the next future and please consider us at complete disposal for any further necessity you may have .

Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#245 of 1,267 in Rome
909 reviews
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#198 of 1,267 in Rome
691 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#311 of 1,267 in Rome
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#817 of 1,267 in Rome
62 reviews
Hotel Clodio
#477 of 1,267 in Rome
409 reviews
Hotel Delle Vittorie
#298 of 1,267 in Rome
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Glori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Glori Hotel

Address: Via Bernardo Celentano 11, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Flaminio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#140 Family Hotel in Rome
#314 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $104 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Glori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Glori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing