We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but nice with good location”
Review of Hotel Viminale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viminale
Ranked #896 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The hotel is located near the Colosseum (15 minutes walk) in a quiet street. If you arrive by car you might find it difficult to park as the hotel has no parking facilities and the garages near-by are very expensive (25 EUR per day). The bus station and subway station (Cavour) are within walking distance and are the best option if you arrive on foot.
The hotel building is quite old and hallways are narrow so it might feel a bit claustrophobic at times. The rooms are relatively small but clean and the bathroom was quite spacious. Our room was located on the ground level and we’ve had a small terrace which was quite ice in the evenings. Rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, which was quite loud and a bit inconvenient but it would have been difficult to be without it. There is also a refrigerator and the staff doesn’t really mind if you use it for your own food and drinks.
The breakfast was served in the ground level and it was quite a good choice of food and it is possible to have breakfast outside (which is really nice). The fitness centre was locked at the time the doors to it didn’t give the impression of something good is hidden behind it (in my opinion the fitness doesn’t really work but probably you won’t need it anyway).
All in all the hotel has good location, solid prices and offers good service if you are not too demanding.

Room Tip: Few rooms on the ground level have small terraces which are quite nice if you're a smoker or jus...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KNellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viminale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 531 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank mariacomini
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Situated in a quiet street just over 5 minutes walk from Roma Termini and within 15 minutes walk from the Colosseum and Trevi Fountain in the opposite direction, making it an ideal base for sightseeing. The hotel and room was very clean and elegant with polite and helpful staff

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The room in which I stayed was small but beautiful, decorated in a traditional style that fit the area. It felt very Italian.

The man who helped me to check in was very friendly and helpful. The man behind the desk the second day was less pleasant but no one was unfriendly. When I went downstairs for breakfast the maids and waitresses all greeted me with a cheerful "buon giorno".

The best part for me was the location. Restaurants, shops, and some attractions were all within walking distance, even for an out-of-shape 50-year-old.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent three great nights at Viminale. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, Nothing was too much trouble at all. The room was very clean and elegant and the bathroom facilities were typically Italian modern plumbing and excellent.

The hotel is situated in a very convenient & handy position for most of the historic attractions.
Right opposite the Rome Opera House is also very good. The little bar (next door but one - NOT the expensive restaurant next door), is fantastic and great. A wonderful stay and we will definitely return to Viminale if we are lucky enough to return to Rome again.

Room Tip: We booked qa long way `ahead and received a room at the back of the hotel. We believe most of the ro...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our visit to Rome, Italy was fantastic, however, not thanks to the hotel staff of Hotel Viminale.
An impression of our experience:

- During breakfast, a waitress on the edge of a nervous breakdown did not accept us enjoying our breakfast outside on the patio;
- Enjoying our breakfast in our hotel room was no possibility either, since room service was non existent;
- Okay, then breakfast in the dining room.. Plates were wet and glasses smelled awkward, it was a bouquet of detergent and very recent use of their dishwasher;
- When using the stairs up to our room, my wife ended up holding the handrails in her hands. Fortunately, she managed to keep her balance like a true acrobat;
- Housekeeping did not refill sanitary bags, which my wife had to ask for herself every time we ran out;
- Besides non-existing room service, there was also no service available at the roof patio (great view though!);
- Our room was clean, beds were nice. However, there were no chairs beside one office chair;
- Business centre & optional computer-use are available at the hotel, which is l nice option when you're traveling 'cause of business, or maybe you like emailing your friends and family. Minor detail is that it was not operational most of the time;
- Then check-out: we had to leave the hotel at 4 a.m. due to our flight schedule. The day before, we asked a member of the front desk staff whether it was possible to take care of our bill that same day, instead of the next morning at 4 a.m. That was not possible, he said. So the next morning, we asked his colleague to check us out, who responded quite agitatedly why we did not checked out the day before?? Well, because your colleague told us not to? Very unprofessional behavior, do not take it out on your guests when communication between staff members is not functioning optimally!
- Charging the bill on our VISA creditcard took forever. After eight (!) attempts, the member of the front desk staff finally managed to connect the hotel system to VISA;
- And again, breakfast; we had asked for packages to take out, so we could "enjoy" breakfast on our last morning in Rome. Unfortunately, the very same staff member did not manage to kind of hurry up with taking care of our breakfast-take-out, so in light of catching a plane back home, we left.
- There was no swimming pool and no restaurant available at the hotel.

In short, we do not recommend this hotel to tourists nor business people. Unfortunately I might add, because the roof patio is very nice, as does the garden, so we see a lot of potential.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben1652365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#712 of 1,267 in Rome
385 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,077 of 1,267 in Rome
899 reviews
Monti
Viminale View Hotel
Viminale View Hotel
#264 of 1,267 in Rome
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Edera
Hotel Edera
#782 of 1,267 in Rome
403 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#412 of 1,267 in Rome
644 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#677 of 1,267 in Rome
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viminale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viminale

Address: Via Cesare Balbo 31, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#336 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $90 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viminale 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viminale is located in a central and convenient location, just 700 meters from Termini Station. It is at 10-minute walk from the Coliseum and has a roof garden with panoramic views of Rome. Housed in a historic building, Viminale's rooms have classic décor and modern amenities such as a minibar, TV and air conditioning. A continental breakfast is served every morning from 7 am to 10 am in the lounge or out in the courtyard. Thanks to the proximity to Termini Station, served by both metro lines, you can easily reach any area in Rome. Rione Monti is a great choice for travelers interested in Roman remains, food and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viminale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viminale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing