We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domus Bocca Di Leone
Ranked #1,861 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice room, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice room, perfect location. Cute breakfast. Very helpful, thoughtful and engaged staff. Good well priced restaurants nearby, quiet street. Short walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and subway, little further to the Pantheon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyVan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Researching hotels for our short stay in Rome had an interesting twist after reading dozens of reviews on Trip Advisor. In the price range and location I was looking at, majority of reviewers reported theft of valuables and room break ins. I was petrified! Rome is an expensive city, and same goes for hotels, but it was very difficult to find hotels that seemed worth the money. When I came across this hotel, it immediately looked like a good match but I was weary of the lack of reviews seeing that the hotel was relatively new. I did not regret it! Finding the hotel was tricky for the taxi driver (because the hotel is new) so make sure you know the closest intersection and exact address. The hotel is located steps away from Spanish steps, on a quiet street. Literally next door, in true Rome fashion, Yves Saint Laurent boutique and across the street La Perla. Heaven. To the left, awesome street filled with restaurants, boutiques, flower stands and gelaterias. You are right in the thick of it, yet you can sleep at night. The hotel itself is actually a converted apartment. I will tell you one thing- it would be amazing to own a place there. We stayed in Piazza Navona suite and it was fantastic. Yes, a bit tight by North American standards but completely brand new, beautifully decorated and extremely functional. The bathroom was huge and had all modern amenities, even a bidet! You know you are in Europe when... :) i loved how romantic the suite was- warm, inviting and so very italian. Exactly as pictured on the website. My personal favorite was the view, cobblestone street from the postcards, and one night we even had a serenade under the window- amazing accordion concert of old italian favorites. something to remember forever. Free wifi worked without problems, and it was absolutely necessary to plan the days especially seeing that wifi all over rome is very spotty to say the least. Breakfast in the room was awesome- fresh pastry from the bakery at the corner (do try it!), fresh juice, variety of teas, coffee, energy bars, fruit and even nutella. You name it- you got it. Many of the items were individually packed (like cookies, bars and melba toast) so you can easily stick them in your backpack for an energy boost while running around the streets of Rome. The staff was amazing and there was always somebody at the reception, which is not the case (judging by the reviews) in other hotels. They were more than pleasant and helpful and gave us tips of what to visit, when and where to book special tours- none of the information we got from them was available on tourist information sites. They drew maps and made phone calls for us- they really went out of their way. We were leaving very early in the morning on the last day (before 5am) meaning we would not get to have traditional domus breakfast as they serve it 8am onward. What did we find in our room the night before? A tray full of packaged goodies that we can snack on before we leave! That really blew me away. What i also liked about the hotel was safety, especially because of the horrible reviews i read about other hotels in the area. The building itself has a locked entrance, the hotel is accessed through another door that is always locked, and of course your room has its own key. To top it off, there is always somebody at the reception and the hotel is so small that they would know if any non-guests were snooping around. We even mistakenly left the door unlocked one morning (it feels like home, we just closed the door!) and not a single thing was out of place or missing. Very comforting to know. Overall, choosing this place was a great decision. You cannot be more central, more comfortable, or more safe in my opinion. I did throw a coin in Trevi fountain so I hope I come back to Rome again. When I do, there will be only one place I will book for the stay. I highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyLuxe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The best of this place is the location!
The room i stayed was quite small but it was enough to spend a lokg weekend. Nearby you have plenty of shops and restaurants.
The staff were very friendly.
Only bad comment i have is that the WIFI did not work at all times, the first day it worked then it didnt, it is such a shame because was one of the main reasons i booked this place, to stay connected and be able to do some work , unfortunately was not possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karentraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in Bocca Di Leone for 3 nights last month. We booked triple room, although, it was not available for the first night, so we spent night in the same bed with our daughter. Double room was a bit small and dark, but the triple room we moved into was spacey, full of light, well furnished and very clean.
Very ordinary breakfast.
Good location, very close to Spanish Steps; plenty of little restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Homs Hotel
Homs Hotel
#549 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#278 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Campo Marzio
Relais Leone
Relais Leone
#1,079 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Spanish Suite
The Spanish Suite
#292 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mind the Steps Rooms
Mind the Steps Rooms
#338 of 1,089 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Campo Marzio
B&B Vicolo del Lupo
B&B Vicolo del Lupo
#441 of 3,762 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Bocca Di Leone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Bocca Di Leone

Property: Domus Bocca Di Leone
Address: Via Bocca di Leone 36, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,861 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Domus Bocca Di Leone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Bocca Di Leone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing