We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wolf in sheep's clothing! AVOID THIS PLACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Anima E Sapori

Anima E Sapori
Ranked #10,079 of 12,162 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wolf in sheep's clothing! AVOID THIS PLACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Should have read the reviews before we went to this horror show!
Ordered fish with vegetables ,but out comes the grilled platter of all things seafood. Similar to earlier reviews . We were two adults and two children under 12. When we questioned the waiter affirmed all was ok .Should have pushed harder , but not yet wise.
I started to get worried when a young American couple next to us ordered two glasses of house wine . Two glasses got poured , and the bottle was left on their table. They didn't touch the bottle . The con artist waiter then charges them for the whole bottle . The young guy was too nice to cause an argument .
Then was our turn , €325 for entree of muscles , a bottle of €28 red and the infamous grilled sea food platter. The sea food had all been frozen and was second rate rubbish .
The waiter is all very charming , but is a con artist . With two little children in a foreign country at night ,no place to have an argument .
Do your self a favour and avoid this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    7
    4
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They will steal your credit card!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Was in Rome with my parent this past week. We were tired and hungry and just decided to eat there. 2 days later received a fraud alert. They decided to go shopping with my card for over $2000. Luckily my card company stopped them, but still. AVOID at all cost, literally!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TrvlDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“please avoid this tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Three of us went in as the waiter boasted 4 minutes for a pizza and we were on our excursion tour with the cruise ship. We asked if they do Pizza with bits of seafood and he said okay. A huge plate of grilled seafood came to our table after 20 minutes and we told him it's not what we ordered and asked the price immediately. He replied 30euro and we also made sure it was 30euro for everything although it sounded too good to be true. He came back in 5 minutes and said the chef made a mistake it was 50euro which we thought it was okay since we were eating already.

When the bill came it was 176euro consisting 50euro per person for the seafood ,one bottle of mineral water, a green salad and 16euro cover charge. We queried with the waiter that he had never mentioned the price of the seafood was 'per person' and he now pretended he did not understand English. I said I will call the police and he said 'please do' and was then busy with other things. At the end I left 100 euro on the counter and we walked out although he insisted to have the handwritten bill back for some reason....

I visited Italy numerous times since 1998 and this was the first bad experience I encountered. I hope the owner of the restaurant would have read this at some point. The rest of the waiters seemed to be okay and the food was good and the restaurant is in a convenient location. What a shame !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scam gang ~~”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Biggest tourist trap~~ scam gang that target at tourist ~~~the bill is eight times higher then we expected ~~~ tell your friends skip this restaurant ~~ if u are unfortunately sitting in this restaurant ~~ reading my review ~~ I suggest u stand up and walk
Off ~~ now ~now~ right now ~}

Helpful?
3 Thank 30678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
261 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Avoid this place it is a total rip-off...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Beware the nice waiter offering you the house special pasta with shellfish, stating mussels, clams, shrimp, sea-bream, as the one thing he does not mention that comes with this house special is the lobster. Three times I heard him describe this dish to diners, including us and never once did he mention the lobster, which bumped up the price to 50Euro per person for this dish.

Many people arrived, looking at the menu set out on the street, thinking the prices and food seemed OK. The most expensive thing on the menu was the Lobster Noodles at 35 Euro, so to offer out the house special at 50Euro without mentioning the price is shameful to say the least.



Unlike other diners, we were only charged 20 Euro for a bottle of wine, plus the usual charges mentioned below for service and water and of course the waiter tells you as he gives you the bill "tips are not included..."

To be honest, the house special pasta was actually quite nice, but then again at 50 Euro what else would you expect?!!

Rarely do I get ripped off, but on this occasion they won and we (along with may others) lost.

AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Luxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anima E Sapori also viewed

 

Been to Anima E Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing