We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Scrumptious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria Valentino

Gelateria Valentino
Ranked #4 of 777 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Trevi
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
178 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Truly Scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The chap who runs this place puts a lot of effort into making you laugh and smile when you're in his little gelateria.
When matched with the very fabulous gelato on offer I'd struggle to justify not giving it 5/5.
I'd make a point of stopping off for a scoop or three on any future visit.
Molto buono - grazie!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeHibb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much indeed and we really hope to see you soon again.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,488
    588
    187
    58
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited on 3 occasions as our hotel was just around the corner. The ice cream was delicious (better than any gelato that I've had in the UK) and the service excellent. Recommend unreservedly.

A great example of only doing one thing but doing it brillantly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UKFamily0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much indeed and welcome back whenever you are in rome.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Ice cream was very tasty, owner and staff was very friendly. A must try. Owner even helped to take some photos for us. Huge choice of ice cream flavours

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much and welcome back.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I have done a fair amount of traveling around Italy, but tonight I had the best gelato ever. On top of that, the server was the greatest Italian man you'd want to buy gelato from. I had tiramisu and dark chocolate, but all the flavors looked good. I promise you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you very much indeed and you are always welcome to visit us.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very doasppointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I assume that the bigh ranking is due to the location - otherwise the icecream is just not good enough! Way too sweet, not the best quality, and not special at all. Had betters here!

Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your opinion but you could have chosen less sweet flavours.welcome back.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Gelateria Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing