We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the price!”
Review of Hotel Zara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Zara
Ranked #1,036 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for the price!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Zara and had a great time. The location is perfect and we were at the Trevi fountain within minutes. The hotel in undeniably in need of an upgrading in the bedrooms and bathrooms BUT, it was spotlessly clean and serviced daily. The breakfast was standard continental and plenty of it. all reception staff were friendly and helpful and all in all, for the price we paid, we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    92
    127
    75
    86
See reviews for
61
163
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It's a basic friendly hotel, very clean. Bed and pillow very comfortable. Excellent location, 10 min walk from the very heart of Rome (Fontana di Trevi, Spanish steps...). Staff friendly and helpful. We had a room overlooking the yard so not noisy at all, bird chirping in the morning. Breakfast very basic but ok. If will be another stay in Rome we will return in this hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the yard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alekb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was so small only one person at a time could fit. Could hardly shower with the curtain wrapping round you. Desk clerk was very helpful. Breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olgaolha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very basic but ideally situated to see all the sites. Can be a little noisy but it is a busy city so no surprise. Breakfast was Italian style lots of sweet pastries and cake but cereals and plain rolls and one choice of cheese! Plenty of coffees and teas to choose from also choice of juices so your set up with a meal to fuel you for all that walking as there's archaeology everywhere you look. The staff were very helpful advice on which buses and metro routes to use.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gillndash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We (my partner and I) stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of march 2014. We were quite apprehensive as we had seen some unfavorable reviews before we went. However, the staff were all friendly, helpful and polite. The room was a good size, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower/bathroom definitely could have done with some TLC, but it worked and did the job. (Getting fed up with people wanting to pay for 2 star but expecting 5 star service and complaining when the two don't marry up). The hotel is really well placed and we were able to walk to all the main sights (but the main tourist bus routes all have stops very close by); pantheon, St Peters etc and it is really handy for Termini station.
The breakfast is plentiful and there is a good choice of pastry's only two types of cereal but I didn't mind as I don't eat cereal, and the coffee is very good. The room we had was at the front of the hotel and was one of the quieter rooms we have had in Europe! No problems sleeping. We liked the fact that there was always someone on the desk and the security appeared good. The door to the hotel was locked when the person on the desk had to nip to the toilet and they had no cover, we didn't mind waiting a couple of minutes if it meant people couldn't casually stroll in off the street.
For the price very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We choose this hotel solely for the position....walking distance to all attractions except maybe the Vatican. Our room was adequate but the bathroom was ridiculously small, the shower curtain had to be wrapped up out of the way just to use the sink, in fact while showering too! It was a wet room and didn't drain well plus there was nothing to dry the floor so you traipsed water everywhere, not great! Breakfast was what you would expect, croissants, cakes, bread and cheese, couple of cereals, coffee machine and juice. They had small packets of biscuits that were good to take for a mid morning snack! All in all good for price and excellent for location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

After reading all the bad reviews of this hotel l feared the worse, but the only negative I noticed was that the rooms do look a bit "tired" and a small refurb would transform this hotel. On the positive side the staff were very friendly and helpful,the Room was clean warm and comfortable,breakfast was more than adequate,free WiFi in the TV room,at the rate they charge I think it is great value,and the location is brilliant

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Augustea
Hotel Augustea
#641 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Monti
Hotel St. Moritz
Hotel St. Moritz
#687 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Elide
Hotel Elide
#545 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#568 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#507 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Monti
Esposizione Hotel
Esposizione Hotel
#748 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zara

Property: Hotel Zara
Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 37, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,036 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Zara 1*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of Rome city on the National Street (Via Nazionale) there is a place where the ancient culture and modernity mingles together, Hotel Zara, family owned, completely renovated antique palace which is noted for its nearness to the Termini station, Coloseum, Metro (subway) A&B, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Via Veneto, Piazza Venezia, President's Palace (Quirinale). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing