We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need of an upgrade”
Review of Hotel Zara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Zara
Ranked #1,060 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Very central but with exception of Alex the Receptionist/Maison D'Or very very central but aged.
treat it as if only a bed and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemonm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Zara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 436 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

The only 2 good things about this hotel are its location and price.
The hotel itself seemed to me nice, but only until the time when I entered the room.
The furniture is shabby, the TV remote control didn't function, the view out of the window was tubes, cigarette stubs and garbage . The wallpapers became obviously dark with time. It was impossible to stay long in the bathroom, as due to absence of shower walls, window or any other means of ventilation the water that remained after I took the shower remained on the floor and made the smell damp. + I had smoking neighbours. The ceiling in the corridor of the 1st floor leaked.
The breakfast is poor, don't expect a ham or a decent juice and coffee.
The hotel is closed from 2 AM till 5 AM. And every time you leave the room, you have to hand in the key at the reception. And that is why I used to take all my belongings with me, as there was no safe in the room and I was suspicios of the receptionists remembering all the guests.
The receptioninsts (an italian man who works in the morning and a palestinian man who works in the evening, unfortunately I don't know their names) are very nice and helpful - THANK YOU GUYS, YOU SAVE THE EXPERIENCE ONE MAY GET OF THIS PLACE!
Yes, the hotel is not expensive, yes it has great location, but I will advise everybody who will read my comment not to take these 2 factors for the basis as I did, but to add some money and choose another hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Rooms are good enough for store your baggages and to get rest after a long day around Rome. Don't forget to pack your ear plugs, since the hotel is located in a quite noisy corner of Via delle Quattro Fontane and Via Nazionale. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was mostly sweet cakes, which I don't concider to be good food in the morning. However, there are buns and cheese to get enough energy to make it to some great cafeteria of Rome.

Location was very good. When we arrived, we took a metro from Termini to Barberini. It wasn't very pleasant to pull and carry trollies in endless tunnels and stairs. After getting familiar with the neighborhood, it was much more easier to take a 10 minutes walk from the hotel to Termini station.

Spanish steps and Fontana di Trevi are not too far away from the hotel. When heading to Pantheon, Forum Romanum or Colosseum you can save your feet by taking a bus 64 or 40 at Via Nazionale to Area Sacra d. Argentina.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j-tourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

- Some of the lamps did not have light bulbs in them. This was not fixed even after mentioning about it at the reception.
- The hotel was closed from 2 A.M. until 5 A.M. During this time you cannot get in, which is very limiting if you plan to go out and see Rome at night.
- The keys didn't work very well. We had our keys fixed twice because we couldn't get into out room.
- The shower was very annoying as it kept flooding very badly. Because of this there was always half a centimeter of water on the bathroom floor.
- There were holes in the walls.
- Breakfast was edible, not very spectacular.

All in all Hotel Zara was not a very satisfying experience. The location is great and the price is pretty good, but be prepared for below average quality and service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jussi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Hotel experience with Zara was definately below what they promise. The air conditioning wasn't working on the first night, which can be an experiene in July. In that room there was couple of other problems. It seemed that the finishing of the deco was partly left undone. For example some panels in the walls were not attached and they kept falling down. Also the here was no other room available for the that night, so we had to wait until next day to get a new room fixed.

Anyways, after getting the new room next day we were happy with a cool room that was also a bit bigger than the one day before. Air conditioning worked perfectly and we felt that it was enough of complaining for now. To be honest there would have been lots of things to improve in the second room as well. The floor was cracked in the room and the shower was flooding on the bathroom's floor. There was no other way to prevent it except putting towels on the floor before going to take a shower. We felt that those were minor problems compared to the lack of air conditioning.

Room tidiness was in good levels. Housekeeping took care of changing the towels and sheets and cleaning up the room every day. They had also put automatically extra towels in the bathroom to prevent flooding. OItherwise we had mixed feelings what comes to the staff. Changing the room required some serious conversations with the staff. No discounts even of the first night were offered, and one receptionist ended up not even saying hellos after we dared to ask such a thing. Well, after couple of thank yous of the room change brought a some sort of a smile back to his face. Overall the friendliness of the staff seemed to be changing by person to person. The negative enquiries were normally answered by "it's not my fault/responsibility, ask someone else" -attitude.

Breakfast was a bit below standard as well. No fresh things whatsoever. Just same dry bread, cakes and cereal with coffee and juice every day.

However, we were still happy with the city and had lovely time looking the sights and experiencing the restaurants outside of the hotel. The location of the hotel was perfect. But in Rome it is very easy to get around, and it wouldn't even really matter if you lived close to the Spanish Steps or somewhere else.

Through this experience I would not recommend Hotel Zara to anyone, unless the pricing would be way below what other 3 stars ask in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuli208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The saving grace of this hotel was it's location, just a short walk to the underground and you are within reach of all Romes attractions.

The rooms were ok and clean and all that you needed and the sleep was good, however service from the staff was OK and this was the one hotel where I really didn't enjoy the breakfast. Finding the place at night using their instructions was also hard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aandw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I arrived, already challenged by delayed flight, lost luggage, and navigating Rome Termini and the subway. The hotel concierge, though clearly not busy, could hardly be bothered to contact my airline regarding my lost bag. The guy on the second shift was overheard telling the airline (in Italian) that the American, of course, was demanding special attention. The room was the smallest and most unremarkable room of my trip. At least there was air conditioning. The morning coffee was weak. The location was close enough to walk to many major sites and the metro.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRDahlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel St. Moritz
Hotel St. Moritz
#705 of 1,267 in Rome
211 reviews
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#527 of 1,267 in Rome
520 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#993 of 1,267 in Rome
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#211 of 1,267 in Rome
965 reviews
Monti
Hotel Esposizione Roma
Hotel Esposizione Roma
#817 of 1,267 in Rome
527 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#283 of 1,267 in Rome
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zara

Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 37, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,060 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $74 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Zara 1*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of Rome city on the National Street (Via Nazionale) there is a place where the ancient culture and modernity mingles together, Hotel Zara, family owned, completely renovated antique palace which is noted for its nearness to the Termini station, Coloseum, Metro (subway) A&B, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Via Veneto, Piazza Venezia, President's Palace (Quirinale). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing