We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Virgilio
Nearby Hotels
$267
$199
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$279
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$538
$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$320
$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$168
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Navona(Rome)
$215
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$389
$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$371
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (875)
Filter reviews
875 results
Traveler rating
176
426
195
40
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
426
195
40
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrevi fountainvia nazionaleexcellent locationwithin walking distancequiet streetminute walkpastriescentrally located hotelrecommend this hoteltermini stationair conpriced hotelstar hotelmain attractionscity breakbreakfast was includedthe wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 875 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2007

I've stayed a few times in Rome and it seems that it is hard to find a reasonably priced hotel where one could achieve some level of mental comfort, let alone physical. In this one, I experienced:
- a broken ventillator in the bathroom which was extremely loud and made for a very uneasy feeling when using the bathroom (it was switched on together with the light, so the other option was to use the bathroom in the dark)
- a toilet which appeared not to be very well attached to the floor
- loud noises on the corridor at night
- a very cramped breakfast room, to accompany a poor breakfast menu (cereal, croissants, jam, orange-flavored drink).

The place was reasonably clean and the staff were quite friendly although some very basic things were not obvious to them - like giving a receipt when having received payment (even if it was an advance payment) or providing a resonably secure place to keep luggage after having checked out but before heading for the airport.

I stayed there one night and I was not expecting wonders, basically a place to get cleaned up, get a good night's sleep and have breakfast in normal conditions. That was too much to ask.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasualTravlR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

This is an adequate hotel in an OK location. It is near the train station, but a fair walk (or short bus ride) from everything but the Coliseum. I would never stay here again and cannot recommend it.

Our bad experience: We did not have a reservation and were asked upon check-in to pay for our stay in advance. We did, BIG mistake. Do not do this!! After one night of the hard beds, poor lighting, grim breakfast, and cold showers, we decided we could do much better and wanted to cut our stay short. No problem, we were told. We will refund your money, but not until after you leave. This seemed odd at the time, so we made sure to get this promise in writing. After 6 weeks of daily phone calls and emails, we did get the refund, but only after enlisting help from a native speaker Italian.

On the positive side, the desk staff was courteous and professional.

Do note that the hotel looks MUCH better in the photos than in reality.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hiker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

We booked this Hotel based mostly on its location which was absolutely excellent!! 10 mins from the Trevi Fountain, Collesseum and Termini.We stayed here for 3 nights and definitely would stay here again. Staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast wasn't great, but typical of what you get in most 3 star hotels under "continental breakfast".Towels in hotel were not as bad as expected, actually seemed quite new and were changed daily. Bed was comfortable. Had to give deposit for safe key and air con/heating remote. Only Italian channels on tv. Overall good value, great location and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

I read a few reviews before booking this hotel but only found the negative ones when I had already booked and paid... I then spent a good few weeks worrying about it.

The hotel is situated just a few streets away from Termini Station. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a very courteous and pleasant gentleman who checked us in which included restaurant recommendations, maps of the city and tour information - we were then left to get on with our holiday.

Our room (128) was clean and smelt fresh; I decided to chance the rubbish towels and was rewarded with perfectly adequate ones. There was plenty of hot water to soak our aching muscles; the room was serviced everyday and was warm enough. There was a mini bar (with no price sheet so we didn’t bother!) and a TV; I don’t know whether we had satellite or not… I was in the beautiful city of Rome.

All in all the hotel was fine; clean, comfortable and ideally located. The breakfast was ok – cereal, fresh bread and warm cornets (croissants) with a selection of jams or cream cheese, coffee and orange 'squash'.

The staff were helpful but not overly friendly which we found to be the case in most places around the city. But who cares, we had a great time and I hope you do too!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lou&Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We picked this hotel based on the location and other reviews. It was pretty close to the Roma Termini and easy to find. The room was decent size and clean. Breakfast was ok not great. The bed was hard, and the pillow too flat. The towel warning was right on; the towels were rough and more like napkins.

My major complain was the elevator. It was very small to begin with, and you can barely fit two people with luggages. On our first night in this hotel, the elevator was skipping the ground floor, moving straight from basement (where the breakfast room was located) to 3rd floor (where most of the guests were staying since it was off season and only the 3rd floor was in use). After it skipped the ground floor for the third time, we decided to go down to basement to catch the elevator. Once we were inside the elevator, the door opened in between floors! And when it reached 3rd floor, the elevator stopped but the door didn't open. After about 10 seconds, the lights went off. Imagine getting stuck in the tiny elevator in total darkness! We stayed calm and pressed the alarm for assistance. We weren't in the elevator for that long, may be for 5 minutes or so, but the experience was definitely not what we had in mind. When the elevator started working again, it went straight down to the basement again. We stepped out of the elevator, glad that nothing major happened, and kindly asked the front desk if we could take the stairs instead. They told us there were no stairs to the 3rd floor (??), and our only option was to get back into that elevator. It took us a while to get the courage to step into the elevator again, but we finally managed to get back into our hotel room.

We stayed a total of 3 nights in this hotel, and nothing happened again on the 2nd or 3rd night. If they didn't make us paid for the 3-nights up front, I would probably considered switching to another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lycheeice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews