We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Selene Style Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Selene Style Hotel
Ranked #122 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My fiancé and I stood at the Hotel Selene for six days during Christmas in 2013. It is located on a nice street close to Termini Station, from where you could walk to get to the hotel, even carrying suitcases. The staff were always very polite and helpful. We had a double room, which was very large, and the bed was big too. The tv was small, but we almost didn't have time to watch it. The bathroom was good too, the only thing that bothered us was that during the shower, the water wold turn cold for no reason for ten seconds, every minute or so, so it wasn't a very relaxing shower. N the first night we were a bit cold, maybe because the heater wasn't working properly, but the other nights the temperature in the room was alright. The wifi worked very well inside the room.
Despite the fact that our window faced the street, it was very quiet at night and in the morning we only had a bit of a problem with noise coming from the breakfast room, since it was close to it.
The breakfast was very good, with a variety of breads, croissants, cakes, some fruits and cereals, juices and yogurt.
From there, you could easily walk to Piazza di Spagna, Fontana di Trevi, Via Condotti, the Coliseum, and get the subway at the Republica station to the Vatican museum.
We liked very much our experience and will definitely stay there if we go to Rome again.

Room Tip: Choose a room far from the breakfast room, because it gets a bit noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank classicskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear classicsk,

thank you very much for the great review.

I am glad to understand from your words that Hotel Selene Roma has turned out to be an excellent option for your needs and it is fantastic that you wanted to share your feedback with the community of Tripadvisor in order to tell what kind of service we provide.

Thank you very muck again.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    566
    127
    16
    7
See reviews for
330
564
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

me and my husband stayed at hotel selene for the new years holiday(dec. 2013-jan. 2014) for 4 days and we were really pleased with our choice. the front desk staff Valentina, Gabriele and Carlo were amazing!they did everything they can to make our stay even better!their correspondence before our stay was so quick and they were all very friendly and attentive.they kindly answered all the questions and were pleased to assist us. we were upgraded to one of the newly renovated rooms which was really nice and big and really clean.(4th floor)
the reception was on the 3rd floor of the building but since there is an elevator it was not a big deal to travel up there with the luggage. (since its an old building you only expect the elevator to be a bit slow but was not a problem at all)

location: terrific. everything is literally 15-20 min walk distance. termini station is literally right around the corner. all the main attractions were walking distance and there was a metro station(republica) 2 mins walking distance.

breakfast: if you are familiar with the european hotels like these you would be delighted with the breakfast choice. there were several kinds of pastries, eggs, bread, ham/cheese, cereal etc which was pretty good.

room: our room was new and big. once we emailed the hotel staff upon reservation they kindly upgraded us to this room. it did face the hotel next door so there was no noise or whatsoever. (and it was new years eve!)

overall we were really pleased with this hotel and its staff and would definetely stay here once we decide to go to Rome again.

Room Tip: ask the staff for the newly renovated rooms. they are big and new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BbK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear BbK83,

thank you very much indeed for the wonderful words spent on us.

All of your outstanding and detailed considerations are definitely going to catch the eye of any Tripadvisor's user who will land on our page.

Carlo, Valentina, myself and the entire staff are saying thanks for the special mention on your review and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Selene Roma in August 2013. The location was excellent, very close to trevini train station, and very close to Colosseum and other great Rome attractions. Our room was newly renovated and a beautiful room. Staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was excellent. I certainly recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Paul,

thank you very much for remembering to share your experience at the Hotel Selene even though almost 5 months have passed since you have been here.

Your stunning considerations are definitely going to be a great help for all Tripadvisor's users who intend to book our hotel. Thank you especially for mentioning the kindness of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a lovely time in this cute, perfectly located hotel by Termini station.
Rooms were big and i liked the style and the decor. Staff was helpful and nice at all times. Complimentary breakfast was great and wifi was definitely a plus. I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor are quiet and very modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Paul,

thank you for having the time to post (for the very first time!)a great review regarding your stay at the Hotel Selene Roma.

I am pleased that that our new Comfort rooms were very much appreciated from you too. Thank you especially for mentioning the kindness of our staff, the good quality of our breakfast and the complimentary wifi signal throughout the the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Location was convenient to the train station and metro which made getting to other destinations throughout Italy a breeze. The neighborhood left a bit to be desired however with limited amenities and dining options.

The room was comfortable and clean but basic. The room faced the street and several mornings I was awoken in the early morning hours by street noise of garbage collection, laundry trucks and deliveries.

Wifi was extremely inconsistent in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Colleen,

thank you for posting a comment on Tripadvisor almost 6 months after your actual stay.

I am glad that overall you have appreciated being our guest; i apologize for the technical troubles with the wifi signal during your stay, it definitely was only a temporary issue.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here before our Mediterranean cruise in Feb 2013. Location can't be beat! So close to the main train station, buses, and other transit. It was also walking distance to a lot of the major attractions. Room was clean and basic. The breakfast was also basic but definitely sufficient. The staff were a delight and so helpful. I had so many questions for them and they answered each of them patiently and drew out maps for me. I would definitely come back here to stay on my next vist to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyt822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Jyt822,

thank you very much indeed for remembering to leave a positive feedback almost one year after your stay.

It is really amazing that after such a long time the desire to share your experience at the Hotel Selene Roma did not vanish at all.

I am glad that the location worked out great for your needs and especially that we have managed to leave you a great memory about us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Hotel Selene. Our room was located in the new, renovated side of the hotel, and our room was very nice, modern and clean. The hotel felt safe. The WIFI worked very well. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was very near Termini station, and not far from turist locations if you're willing to walk for a while. The only negative sides were that the reception was under renovation, so it was moved to another hotel's 3rd floor. The sings to the right place were quite hard to find. During taking shower the temperature of the water would change from hot to very cold, propably because other people using showers at the same time. But overall, we can easily recommend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the new renovated side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Opansku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Opansku,

thank you for writing a positive review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.

I am glad that you have enjoyed staying in one of our renovated Comfort Rooms; we are always glad to upgrade direct reservations made through our website/email/telephone.

Please allow me to clarify to you and to the other Tripadvisor's users that our reception has not moved to another Hotel! We actually own the reception area you have seen and the rooms you've seen around it are still the Hotel Selene Roma's rooms! If you'd have any doubts you could have asked our reception staff, they would have explained it to you.

Anyways, I am glad to understand that overall your stay with us has been pleasant and satisfactory for your needs: we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#78 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#62 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#131 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selene Style Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selene Style Hotel

Property: Selene Style Hotel
Address: Via del Viminale 8, 00184 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Selene Roma)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Rome
#103 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#134 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Selene Style Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Selene is the perfect hotel for both leisure and business. It is located in the heart of Rome, at the crossroads of culture, history and shopping, in a privileged position very close to the following tourist sites: Piazza della Repubblica, Termini station, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Roman Forum, the Spanish Steps, Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore , Diocletian Bath, Teatro dell'Opera, dell'Esposizioni Palace, Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli, St. Peter in Chains, the Palazzo Venezia. Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica can be reached in 10 minutes by using from Piazza della Repubblica the line A of Rome's Subway. Most of our 40 rooms overlook Via del Viminale or Via Principe Amedeo, two very quiet streets with little traffic. Hotel Selene Roma has recently renovated its 40 rooms: the decor of Hotel Selene Roma is simple yet elegant and classic and instantly creates a relaxing atmosphere. Book on the hotel's official website in order to get advantage of the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Selene Style Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selene Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing