We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
Ranked #355 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Dorica for 5 days mid-October. The hotel is simply charming. It is not a 5-stars establishment, but you do get everything for the value of your money. I liked the friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff; they are not just employees, but rather parts of your extended circle of friends. Their services include the possibility of booking tours from the hotel's reception desk for Rome, the Vatican, Tivoli, Firenze, Napoli and Capri, and other locations. The hotel is centrally located in Rome on Piazza Viminale, upon which it has a charming view. This is adjacent to Via Nazionale, home to elegant boutiques. Most touristic sites are within a circle of 15-20 minutes walking distance radius, and so is StazioneTermini, Rome's main railway station. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. WiFi is available for free, which is quite an asset for a tourist on a first visit to Rome. Breakfast is generous and fuels you up for a day full of excursions. For my next trip to Rome, I know where I am going to book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hadi_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear customer,

we are really happy that your stay was so nice, because this is our primary goal. You said it all, I can only encourage other Tripadvisor users to visit our website and visit us to discover the wonders of this city.

Thanks again for the time that you have spent, and we await for you as soon is possible.

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dorica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 823 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stay 4 nights in this hotel. The complimentary breakfast are standard with no Ham, Salami. But the Front Office Staff (Emanuella, Florian & Diego) are very attentive, knowledgable and very friendly. Complimentary to the housekeeping, they have done a very good job. The Bedroom and bathroom are clean, new towels every day.
Location is about +/- 500 meters from Termini Central Station, but close to lot of Restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipthio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Philipthio,

Grazie :) for your time and your words, because for the location and rooms the other Tripadvisor users can see all the pictures in our web site, but our friendship and dedication for our costumers is not possible to see it there, so, thank you very much and we hope to see you again in our House.

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Here is why:

- location - it's in a walking distance to the MOST of the places from "must see in Rome" list including Termini station if need a train; a couple of buses stop right across the hotel or 5 mins walk to 2 metro stations
- very clean, simple but elegant room, mattress was rather firm;
- very quiet street at night or just close modern window during the day;
- FREE wi-fi is strong AND stable;
- breakfast is more than sufficient: juices, yogurts, large variety of baked good and, of course, coffee. Not your "dripper" watery staff but full blast espresso or whatever you request;
- front desk chaps are VERY friendly and helpful. Thank you guys!!!

The added bonus, for me at least, is the view from the window. A lot of hotels located in the old buildings offer nothing but ... the view of the walls/windows across.
Hotel Dorica overlooks a good size piazza with a fountain. I was delighted to fall asleep listening to the murmuring water.

Prices do vary significantly based on the season and, as I am guessing, availability of the hotels in the area.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the piazza below I think are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vesnaileto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Vesnaileto,

all roads lead to Rome, but from Termini Station just two streets lead to Hotel Dorica :) and just in 10 minutes walking you have arrived, and you can't go wrong!!!

Thank you very very much for your comments, just let me add some words to the other Tripadvisor users:

-Location: Take a look out from our window, see the pictures in our Official web site.

-Cleaning service: we know very well that this is essential for a traveler, in order to make feel the traveler like home, which is our main goal.

-Quiet place: front of us you'll find the Minister of Interior, beautiful palace with an majestic fountain: decorated with reliefs: three mountains (the emblem of the district of the same name), and the wolf of Rome, on the back, a turreted crown, symbol of Italy. But the most important thing about the fountain is what our costumer said "I was delighted to fall asleep listening to the murmuring water" :)

Tante tante grazie e arrivederci!

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I can honestly say that the staff here is nicer and more helpful than any other small hotel I've ever stayed with. When we first arrived from the airport, we were treated to warm greeting and an extensive discussion about the the most efficient ways to see the sights. Our room was clean and refreshed beautifully each day. View from the room is the Viminale Piazza which serves as an easy landmark when walking home. Personal bathroom has great water pressure and stays hot (always important when you're primarily walking all day in the Roma heat). Breakfast each morning was continental style (bread, cheese, yogurt, fruit, muessli, assorted pastries) and there was plenty of it. I recommend having the staff make you a cappucino as they were phenomenal. We took the train several times and were extremely pleased with how close Hotel Dorica is to Roma Termini. Really saved us a lot of time by being so close. One other thing we really enjoyed was buying tickets for museums / sights online and having the staff print them for us. This little trick saved us a ton of time by allowing us to bypass crowded ticket windows.

One thing that could be improved is the WiFi service. Our room was in the middle of the hallway and we sometimes had trouble connecting using an iPad. Luckily, we were on vacation and didn't need internet too much but could have been frustrating if we were relying on it. WiFi seemed to work pretty well in reception so worst case scenerio you could sit on the couch and take care of anything you needed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear customer,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your time in Rome as well as our hotel, and we surely will do our best to help you to know this beautiful city, our city, The Eternal City. So, thank you very much for your time and your words.

We appreciate any one of your comments because we always work to improve listening the voice of our customers.

I would just add one very important thing: you're right, our Cappuccino is spectacular :)

Sincerely,


Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Dorica October 12-15th of this year. The front desk personnel were so nice and helpful and went out of their way to provide information on restaurants etc. in the area. The view was great and the rooms were comfortable. Hotel is located in a good area with walking distance to many of the sights we wanted to visit. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim632013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear customer,

thank you very much for the time you has dedicated to us in writing these words, we are very happy that you liked it so much our staff, our rooms and the hotel in general, because this is our primary goal.

Our central location, our proximity to major historical monuments and the most important Roman churches (like Santa Maria Maggiore), which are also museums for the high value of the works of art they contain, our quiet area, our view of the Palazzo Viminale, and let me tell you , our custom stroke with the client make our home a place to know, specially for all those who have Rome as your next destination.

For all this and much more I recommend other Tripadvisor users visit our official website.
Tante tante grazie e arrivederci!

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Dorica for 3 nights . We found it quite easily after walking from the Termini Station, although crossing the roads was a bit scary but learnt to use the crossings with lights. Lovely view from our room and although the traffic was passing continuously throughout the night, the double glazed windows kept the noise to a minimum. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room and bathroom were spotless. Breakfast was continental but plenty to eat with some lovely fresh pastries. Marco made me some lovely decaffeinated lattes and nothing was too much trouble. The only disappointment was when we returned from our evening meal I asked at the bar if I could have a glass of white wine and was told they didn't have any white but had some red in the fridge. I found this very strange! The hotel is central for all the tourist sites, although we did use the open top bus to get around the first day but soon got used to getting about with the help of a map given to us when we checked in. We asked for advice on where to eat our evening meal and were recommended a restaurant La Boheme just around the corner, which we used for the three nights we were there and found it reasonable with a litre of house wine costing 6 euros. It was very busy which speaks for itself.
Will definitely book the Dorica next time in Rome, hopefully for the 2015 Six Nations!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the fountain
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear customer,

But how wonderful when a customer speaks in this way, when the Hotel, the staff, the services, the cleanliness of the rooms, comfort and location are highlighted, we feel honored and the only thing to say is thank you very much to our costumer, and come to visit as to the other Tripadvisor users .

Regarding the wine, you’re right, is very strange, maybe was missing just in this particular moment...
We await for you in 2015 for the 6 Nations
Arrivederci

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is our 5th visit to Rome, one of our favourite citys. We have always stayed in the Viminale area because it is quiet, safe, close to Termini train station and walkable to most all main attractions, with pleanty of good eating places in the area.
This was our first time staying at Hotel Dorica. We were greeted warmly by Marco and made sure we were comfortably settled and asked if we needed information for getting around & sightseeing. This Hotel is extremely well run from the general manager Manuela, desk personnel Marco, Fiorian & Pietro. Good breakfast selection with Mario in charge of the breakfast room with staff Diana, Andrea & Vera.
We enjoyed our stay due to the location, comfortable rooms, breakfast included at a very reasonable price and most of all the warm friendly atmosphere of the hotel.
If visiting Rome again, we would definitely stay at Hotel Dorica.
Tony & Hazel, Canada

Room Tip: Rooms are well appointed, clean & comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazz1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear customer,
In fact, our area is quiet, safe and beautiful too, why not say it, just looking out our windows is possible to see the majestic Palazzo Viminale of the early 900 realized by the famous Italian architect Manfredo Manfredi.
We invite everyone to see the photos of this beautiful building (which is home to the Ministry of the Interior since 1925), in our official website. If you then click on "Where we are" you'll see better on the map the strategic location we have and how is easily reachable the main Rome's Station.
Finally I would like to thank you on behalf of the entire staff for his comments, his words show us that we are on track.
We hope you can visit us again as soon as possible
Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#221 of 1,267 in Rome
1,232 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#211 of 1,267 in Rome
965 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#408 of 1,267 in Rome
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#239 of 1,267 in Rome
543 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#248 of 1,267 in Rome
1,505 reviews
Monti
Viminale View Hotel
Viminale View Hotel
#288 of 1,267 in Rome
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Address: Piazza Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#212 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $93 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing