We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'd definitely try to stay there again when travelling to Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
Ranked #335 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'd definitely try to stay there again when travelling to Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I spent last week in Rome and stayed at the Hotel Dorica. We chose it based on its location and reviews we’d read as well as preferring smaller more intimate places. The room and bed were much larger than we had expected for a major European city and the view of the Piazza across the street out the window and balcony was a real treat. The room and bath were spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The hotel describes itself as a small family operation, and we found that to be very accurate being extremely welcoming and helpful in every way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Everyone there was so friendly and gave us great tips on places to go and things to do. They all spoke excellent English, and were a big help to us in getting some of our Italian pronunciations correctly. We looked forward each morning to the continental breakfasts. The crusty rolls and fresh pastries were wonderful and the Cappuccinos that Marco makes are definitely the best we’ve had anywhere.

Rome is a very walkable city and we found the location of the hotel to be well within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to go to. Other than a cab back late one night from the Vatican, we walked everywhere. It’s close to the main streets, but off just far enough to escape from all the activity and noise and get a good night’s sleep.

If you’re looking for a big hotel with a fancy lobby and bar, valet service, shops, and concierge, then this isn’t that kind of place. If you want a great place to stay at a great location with personal service, then we highly recommend the Hotel Dorica when visiting Rome.

Room Tip: I meant to not include a rating for "Restaurant" since the dining area was only for the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Customer,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service. Our central location helps all the Customers for visiting the best monument, and all the staff like being helpfull also giving informations with pleasure.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    327
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
203
375
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

A friendly hotel in a very good location to explore Rome by foot. Termini Station which links Rome to the airport is just round the corner & the Trevi, Spanish Steps, Colosseum & most other attractions are close by. A nearby metro station will take you to St Peters rapidly.

The hotel itself has a homely, old fashioned family feel. The staff are very good, helpful & charming. Breakfast is fine with good coffee but nothing cooked. Our room which overlooked the square was small but adequate, spotlessly clean. The twin beds were small but new & were reasonably comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was old fashioned but had a good shower. Any traffic noise could be reduced by closing the double glazed windows. There was air conditioning in the room

There is no residents lounge where you can relax, the breakfast room doubles as the bar & the rooms & public areas need to be updated & redecorated to reflect modern tastes & expectations. A relatively small investment would make a big difference to the tired look of this well run hotel

Overall we liked the hotel. However although we did realise that it was high season in Rome we were left with the feeling that the hotel was too expensive for the facilities it offered.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor overlooking the square for the view or an inner room for peace & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Customer,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great location; very close to the hotel there are very good restaurants and a big parking. We walked to all the attractions without having to use the public transport. The staff were adorabale (thanks Marko for evertything). The rooms are big enough and very clean. We liked very much the breakfast and the good coffee. The hotel is so "italian", we loved it ! We definitely will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Customer,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service. Our location is very central and reaching the best touristic place is very easy.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel was very efficient and in a very central location in Rome. It was possible to walk to most of the major sites from the hotel although we got a metro to the Vatican (which we could see on TV at breakfast in the morning). We enjoyed the breakfast selection with nice coffee and all the staff were very friendly. The man at reception was very helpful providing us with a map and answered all our questions how to get around and find places.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChinYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service with a such kindness. All the staff like being helpfull and giving informations it's a pleasure for us.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, close to all the main attractions and with direct access to public transportation. The rooms are nice and very clean. We are a mature couple from Romania and we enjoyed everything: all the staff were very attentive, welcoming. The location of the hotel is ideal for tourists (the center of Rome, in a few-minute walking distance from the most famous sights and the metro stations); the room was comfortable (cleaning, change of bedclothing – every day); elevator in service; breakfast was served in a very cosy room (cappuccino is a must have!); we also enjoyed excellent wi-fi in the room. We are so thankful to all the staff for such pleasant support of our vacation in Italy! We advise this accomodation to everyone! And we will certainly come back !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihaela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Customer,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service with a such kindness.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

my wife and I recently stayed at this hotel. It is very clean, the location is great, and the staff couldn't be better. They helped to arrange for us to take a couple of tours and made all of the arrangements for us. They treat you like family!
Peter was fantastic and really helped us out whenever needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Customer,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, for kindness and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlederg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Dorica as a couple in 2012 and we both had a great experience! Hotel was very clean and Marco was great. Staff were always available to advise about trips and even booked a day trip to Pompeii for us which was a big help. This hotel was really good value and the location was great and within walking distance of all the main attractions. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Customer,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, for kindness and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#208 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Monti
Viminale View Hotel
Viminale View Hotel
#319 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#235 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#131 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#212 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Property: Hotel Dorica
Address: Piazza del Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#212 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing