We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, central location and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
Ranked #377 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We returned this week from a glorious 8 day visit to Rome and stay at the Hotel Dorica. The location is very central to all attractions in Rome. They are within reasonable walking distance, but we recommend using the fantastic metro system to save yourself some steps. There are an abundance of restaurants within walking distance and lots of shopping in and around the area as well.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and welcoming. Our room was good sized as was the bathroom. We faced the street and the fountain on Piazza Viminale and that was quite nice.
We began each day with a great continental breakfast and the best cappuccinos in Italy. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were placed in the bathroom. There was plenty of hot water for our showers each day.
We highly recommend staying here if you value cleanliness, location, reasonable pricing and amazing staff. Thank you Hotel Dorica staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsc213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 833 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Dorica has a number of floors in a traditional Roman apartment block opposite the "Ministry of Internal Affairs". The staff were unobtrusive but could not have been more helpful. The breakfasts were typical, with coffees personally made for you by the enthusiastic Marco. Within 5 mins walk of major tourist routes, and with 2 or 3 good value restaurants close by, this was a great place for our 2 night whistle stop walking tour of Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ne11y_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this friendly family run hotel. The location is excellent within walking distance of the termini and all the main attractions. All the staff were helpful and professional whilst maintaining a personal and welcoming atmosphere. For a hotel that is so close to all the attractions of a major city centre it is very reasonably priced.
Geoff & Sue

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A short walk from Termini Station and in a pleasant area, this Hotel is highly recommended. Most sights in the historic centre can be reached easily on foot by those of average fitness.
The welcome from all the staff was warm and friendly, Marco provided a map of Rome and helpful advice about local restaurants. We had requested a quiet room which was provided. The room was without frills but had everything necessary for a comfortable stay, it was well maintained and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and delicious pastries!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service, and for your kindness. We always try to offer the best comfort to our Guest because they are very important for us.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for a recent short break and couldn't be happier. Central location within a short walk of the major sights, but not unduly effected by traffic noise etc. Spotlessly clean throughout and pleasantly friendly staff. Hotel Dorica has that certain charm that other hotels can only imagine, whilst offering it all at sensible rates. I have never felt compelled to write a hotel review before but this is a truly special place. Will be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spirit0f66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service, and for your kindness. We always try to offer the best comfort to our Guest because they are very important for us.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My 16 college age American students and I spend 3 weeks at the Hotel Dorica every January. We have used this hotel for several years and will continue to stay here for future cultural trips to Rome.

What makes this hotel special, ideal, and suitable for foreign undergraduate students is the kindness, care, warmth, and professional manners of the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, the excellent central location, and the safety of the area. My students felt like at home, were taken care for all day long, were given information and tourist tips for best restaurants, tours, museums and cultural activities in Rome. Their long stay at the Hotel Dorica was safe, comfortable and always pleasant due to the kind attention that they received every day from the staff.

I highly recommend this hotel to any one going to Rome and especially to leaders of groups of students or adults.

I thank Mr Piero, Marco, Florian, Mario, and Vera for making our stay in Rome a wonderful and comfortable experience. The success of my study abroad depends largely on the level of safety and comfort provided by the people working in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostonfelicita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing a such good impression about our service, and for your kindness. We always try to offer the best comfort to our Guest because they are very important for us. Especially your student group that every year come to Rome for studing and learning italian, with the best teacher they should have as you.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hotel Dorica is in a very central location in Rome, walking distance to all the main sights as well as central for shopping and a variety of restaurants. It faces onto Piazza del Viminale, and if you had a front room like us with a large picture window it is quite fascintating to watch the comings and goings at the piazza and the government building opposite Hotel Dorica. It also gives you a sense of space and light in the room, and the roller shutter on the window blocked out all outside light and noise making sleeping very easy! They hotel had a normal sized lift which we appreciated. The family room was a good size, with a bay window that gave you room to store your luggage out of the way. The room itself was very simply decorated, which is the only reason why I did not give this hotel a 5 star rating (I would choose 4.5 stars for this hotel if I could) - there was nothing wrong with it, it was clean and well maintained, but there were no extra little touches, it was not a luxurious hotel, but clean and honest.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, Marco in particularly was very pleasant and probably one of the most helpful people we encountered on our holiday. We enjoyed all of his restaurant recommendations! The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and my husband commented that the breakfast staff made the best cappuccino in Europe! The breakfast was very yummy - donuts, danishes, cheese and yogurt - good thing we enjoyed walking around Rome from this location! I felt very safe and comfortable at Hotel Dorica, I often went off for an evening shopping jaunt on my own while the rest of the family caught up with the free WiFi at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room facing the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service, and for your kindness. We always try to offer the best comfort to our Guest because they are very important for us.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#222 of 1,270 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#252 of 1,270 in Rome
561 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#467 of 1,270 in Rome
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#124 of 1,270 in Rome
1,139 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#207 of 1,270 in Rome
993 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#438 of 1,270 in Rome
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Address: Piazza del Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $44 - $733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing