We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
Ranked #338 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Dorica in Rome for 6 nights. We were looking for a place not far from the Termini station to be able to take day trips from Rome. This place is very conveniently located to the station, about 10 minutes walk, but I would not advise to walk to the hotel from the train station with luggage, it will not be easy, although, of course, possible. The taxi is about 10 euros. The area is quiet, clean, and convenient. The hotel is family owned and provides great customer service. It is not for those who look for luxury, but it is well maintained and clean. The breakfast was a delight. It's continental, but you have plenty to eat and they make the best tasting cappuccino I have ever had and the best looking one! People can't do enough to please you and greet you in your native language if they can. Lovely, lovely place to stay in. Thank you, Emmanuella and your dad, for caring about the people staying with you.

Room Tip: My main problem was using an antiquated hair dryer, but they are installing new ones in the rooms. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vrumbelino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    329
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
204
376
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This visit started with an enthusiastic owner who took the time to welcome us, spend time going over the map, showing us where we could go and then taking us to our room which was ready even though we arrived early.
The room was a good size for 2 people, clean and comfortable.
The location is great a short work to all the exciting tourist sites! Breakfast was very nice, fresh coffee every morning, a great start to the day.
Marco was always happy to have a chat and organise anything we needed. The staff in the kitchen were lovely. We had a great time and really believe that hotel Dorica was a great choice in Rome. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robby160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thank you so very much for a nice stay at Hotel Dorica! The hotel location is very good in a rather quiet and charming piazza in the center of Rome. Easy to find our way to most of the attractions. We also tried the metro to take us to the Vatican. :) Walking distance to many other amazing attractions. Nice and clean room. We also got a balcony fronting the piazza. All staff members at Hotel Dorica are extremely helpful and service minded. Florian and Marco really knows how to recommend exciting and interesting restaurant experiences. :) Hope to visit Hotel Dorica and Rome soon again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We did not initially book Hotel Dorica and arrived through unexpected circumstances, but our stay was excellent. The room we stayed in was a good size and very clean and quiet and in a safe area. It's a long walk from the Vatican and Trastevere, but within walking distance of Trevi Fountain, Forum, and other landmarks, shopping areas, and restaurants. Breakfast was nice and we found a couple nice restaurants and gelato spots right around the corner.

I must also compliment the staff, specifically Marco. They were extremely professional and helpful despite some tough circumstances for us upon our initial arrival. Thank you and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdg0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked the Hotel Dorica based on previous Tripadvisor reviews for 3 nights. Marco was definitely as he was portrayed in the reviews. Very helpful and full of information. However, the accommodation was very dated and for 3 of us sharing a room for 3 nights way too small and not cheap. The room did not even have a fridge which was highly unusual. Also the traffic noise from our room made it impossible to sleep late in the mornings. On the plus side we were able to walk (a decent distance) to many of the big attractions. There were also lots of good places to eat and drink nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service. All your information about the Hotel and the service, they help us for improving our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had made an online reservation for 2 nights for Euro 163 per night and had a confirmed booking guaranteed with my credit card about 2 months prior to our stay. There is a 6% discount with cash payment though.

On the day of arrival at about 3pm, we were told that there was a 'problem' and there are no rooms available! We were given 2 options. They can recommend another hotel nearby or they have a small room available (which is very small meant for single use or maybe staff use) and have to pay Euro 120 for it!

We have no choice but to take the tiny room as both our checked in luggage was missing when we arrived and we had put the address of this hotel for the delivery. Moreover we were very tired after 2 international flights and more than 23 hours of travel.

We did not sleep well and slept and woke up on and off. We slept as we tired and woke up when it was uncomfortable as the bed was small for both of us. They did change the room the 2nd night and we were charged the rate we had booked.

We made a complain on the morning of check-out but was told by Marco to "Pay up now and complain all you want later"

In all our more than 30 years of travel worldwide, we have not had a problem with room availability that has been guaranteed with a credit card.

However, they did help us made a call to the airline for an update on our luggage and we are thankful for that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Evelineching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service. When the Hotels, in every country of the world, have problem with the room, they must offer all the ways for helping the Customers. And this is what we have done, offering you the choice between another Hotel nearby, paied by us or staying at our Hotel, at the only free room we had, in a small room (not staff use) with a french bed, offering you a good discount. You should pay Euro 163,00 per night, but we have offered you the rate Euro 120,00 just for the 1st night, for the technical problem we have had in a high season. At your leaving you didn’t want pay anything, just Euro 163,00 as the last night. Our duty is also helping Customers, when they lose luggage as we did.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. As every 3-star hotel it has its pros and cons.
Pros: I wouldn't rate the location as excellent but it's convenient. It's close to the bus stops, subway, tour bus stop, within short walk to Coliseum. Another good thing about it is very welcoming and helpful stuff. Breakfast was OK for me for 3 days. You get bread, cheese, yogurt (no omelet or ham). Free wi-fi is a plus.
Cons: I found my bed and pillow uncomfortable (other people in my party didn't complain). As we realized the thermostats don't work, you have the air conditioner either on or off. The hotel is small and occupies just 1 floor. Rooms on one side of the hallway face the street and look nice and bright during the day, on the other side the windows face the small stone courtyards and it doesn't look very welcoming. If you don't spend time in the room during the day it's OK., but it's always better to have a room with a view.
Overall, we had a comfortable stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Monti
Viminale View Hotel
Viminale View Hotel
#316 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#238 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#119 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#213 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Property: Hotel Dorica
Address: Piazza del Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#212 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing