We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located but average accommodation”
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
Ranked #379 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked the Hotel Dorica based on previous Tripadvisor reviews for 3 nights. Marco was definitely as he was portrayed in the reviews. Very helpful and full of information. However, the accommodation was very dated and for 3 of us sharing a room for 3 nights way too small and not cheap. The room did not even have a fridge which was highly unusual. Also the traffic noise from our room made it impossible to sleep late in the mornings. On the plus side we were able to walk (a decent distance) to many of the big attractions. There were also lots of good places to eat and drink nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service. All your information about the Hotel and the service, they help us for improving our service.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 837 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had made an online reservation for 2 nights for Euro 163 per night and had a confirmed booking guaranteed with my credit card about 2 months prior to our stay. There is a 6% discount with cash payment though.

On the day of arrival at about 3pm, we were told that there was a 'problem' and there are no rooms available! We were given 2 options. They can recommend another hotel nearby or they have a small room available (which is very small meant for single use or maybe staff use) and have to pay Euro 120 for it!

We have no choice but to take the tiny room as both our checked in luggage was missing when we arrived and we had put the address of this hotel for the delivery. Moreover we were very tired after 2 international flights and more than 23 hours of travel.

We did not sleep well and slept and woke up on and off. We slept as we tired and woke up when it was uncomfortable as the bed was small for both of us. They did change the room the 2nd night and we were charged the rate we had booked.

We made a complain on the morning of check-out but was told by Marco to "Pay up now and complain all you want later"

In all our more than 30 years of travel worldwide, we have not had a problem with room availability that has been guaranteed with a credit card.

However, they did help us made a call to the airline for an update on our luggage and we are thankful for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eveline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service. When the Hotels, in every country of the world, have problem with the room, they must offer all the ways for helping the Customers. And this is what we have done, offering you the choice between another Hotel nearby, paied by us or staying at our Hotel, at the only free room we had, in a small room (not staff use) with a french bed, offering you a good discount. You should pay Euro 163,00 per night, but we have offered you the rate Euro 120,00 just for the 1st night, for the technical problem we have had in a high season. At your leaving you didn’t want pay anything, just Euro 163,00 as the last night. Our duty is also helping Customers, when they lose luggage as we did.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. As every 3-star hotel it has its pros and cons.
Pros: I wouldn't rate the location as excellent but it's convenient. It's close to the bus stops, subway, tour bus stop, within short walk to Coliseum. Another good thing about it is very welcoming and helpful stuff. Breakfast was OK for me for 3 days. You get bread, cheese, yogurt (no omelet or ham). Free wi-fi is a plus.
Cons: I found my bed and pillow uncomfortable (other people in my party didn't complain). As we realized the thermostats don't work, you have the air conditioner either on or off. The hotel is small and occupies just 1 floor. Rooms on one side of the hallway face the street and look nice and bright during the day, on the other side the windows face the small stone courtyards and it doesn't look very welcoming. If you don't spend time in the room during the day it's OK., but it's always better to have a room with a view.
Overall, we had a comfortable stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in September 2012. The room we had was at the rear of the building and so completely blocked out all street noise, however there was some noise from the rooms next door and above. The room was clean and reasonably spacious. Marco at the front desk was fantastic to deal with and very helpful. We even got in to a converstion with what I think may have been the owner, a very nice gentleman who gave us some very good advice with regards to booking a dinner tour to Trastevere. He advised us to go there ourselves and pick our own restaurant, gave us the info on what bus to catch etc and saved us 100 Euros!
I liked the old fashioned caged elevator. Breakfast was the standard for Italy and sufficed quite well. Overall I would consider staying there again

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room to reduce internal noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamlaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September, and chose it based on its location to the Termini station, price, and reviews. We're very happy with the choice. Marco and Diana, who worked the front desk, were wonderfully knowledgeable about their city and enthusiastic about helping us make the most of our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl45247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited Rome mid September, this is a nice, clean, friendly hotel, the location is just off one of the main shopping streets 'via nazionale' and 10 minutes walk from Termini train/bus station. Its positioned centrally for all the major attractions as mentioned in previous reviews. The hotel reception is on the first floor, and we stayed on the fourth floor with a nice view of the piazza.

We enjoyed our stay, and experienced no problems with the room, the continental breakfast was great; tea, coffee/cappuccino, hot chocolate, juice, fruit, yoghurt and pastries - we loved the ring doughnuts and the bread rolls.

The staff do their very best to look after you and make you feel welcomed, thank you Marco and your team, and keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Room on the fourth floor - room 32 to 34 all have a good view of the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happi_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our recent visit to Rome..Sept. 5-9. We found the staff to be knowledgeable, helpful and accommodating. We were comfortable at the hotel and enjoyed the convenience of its location.

It wasn't, as a previous reviewer mentioned, that the air conditioner didn't work....you just needed to leave the curtain open so the air could circulate properly...due to the type of system and the placement. The room was comfortable.

The staff and the location were superb and we found the breakfasts to be more than adequate.

This hotel was quite conveniently located to the Metro, the train station, and many historical sites. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We would like to thank Marco and the rest of the staff for making us feel "at home" and for providing good service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Viminale View Hotel
Viminale View Hotel
#297 of 1,272 in Rome
120 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#211 of 1,272 in Rome
1,292 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,272 in Rome
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#204 of 1,272 in Rome
1,005 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#237 of 1,272 in Rome
1,566 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#469 of 1,272 in Rome
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Address: Piazza del Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $105 - $827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing