We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, friendly and a great location”
Review of Hotel Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Donatello
Ranked #358 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
New Jersey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, friendly and a great location”
Reviewed January 29, 2010

The room was small, but manageable. The shower was great. The breakfast was just bread (a croissant and a roll), but the coffee was out of this world good. Staff was friendly and helpful. Best of all, the bus was about 1 block away, as was the tram. Subway about 5 blocks. I'd stay here again because of how fast we were able to get anywhere we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrose414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    240
    151
    65
    30
See reviews for
111
301
18
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

This inexpensive little hotel near the main train station was a in a prime location for us. Since Rome only has two metro lines we needed to be close to a metro stop and this was close enough. The rooms were average size (by European standards) and clean. The bathroom was small but clean. No problems with staff and cleanliness...linens changed every day if requested. Breakfast was mostly breads and cereals but coffee was great. Staff was very friendly and their English was better than mine, lol. Very helpful when asking about sightseeing and directions for bus, streetcar or metro. Talked us out of a cab when we left and suggested we walk to train station and they were right, it was close enough to walk. The only caution I would give is the neighborhood at night. By day it's just a working class neighborhood and easy and comfortable to get around. But at night you will see the occasional bum/homeless/drunk on the sidewalk. We never had a problem but I would make sure you are aware of your surroundings...typical stuff you would do in a large city. There are several cafes & restaurants within walking distance so the lack of a restaurant at the hotel should not be an issue.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We found the Hotel Donatello and it's lovely Bernardo by way of our scheduled B&B owner Baci da Roma being a total flake, and waste. Hotel Donatello has lovely rooms with balconies, and tons of space for Rome. There is a charming continental breakfast. We walked in and the rate was only 100eu. not too bad. There is a charming restaurant called "The crazy chicken" underground, inexpensive undergound. Make sure you meet Bernardo.
Would easily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caligirl2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I had read the reviews and forewarned about paper-thin walls. But with earplugs I was fine. The bed was comfy, shower worked and I found the staff accomodating. Next to tram and near bus...and short walk to Metro. Spartan breakfast, but coffee was great!!!
When in Rome, consider this (especially as it ws tied to AlitaliaVacations package)!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2009

I just got back from Rome and I truly had the best time of my life. The Donatello Hotel is really a great hotel the staff was very accomodating and pleasant . The went out of their way to assit you with all your travelling needs and concerns. For example my friend and I got lost in the city and we missed our prepaid tour when we got back to the hotel the gentleman in the front desk called the company and got us reserve for a tour the next day that is really good service The rooms are small but they are very clean. The Donatello experience was truly great dont let the Grafitti around the hotel scare you because you will see that around Rome a lot.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daglis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We liked the place. The staff was very nice and gave us all information we need. They keep our luggages in a adeposit whe we checked out. Excellente hotel. We will come back

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

I totally recommend this hotel! It was our first time in Italy, traveling on a budget and we couldn't have asked for anything better. First, don't be fooled by the picture of the entrance to the hotel. Unfortunately, Rome is plagued by graffiti. When I first saw the outside in person I was scared because of the graffiti but once you walk in, the experience is completely different. The hotel is a boutique hotel that is very charming and the decor is very italian. It gives the feeling of an old palazzo. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They spoke english very well and if they didn't they tried very hard to communicate in english which was a pleasant surprise. Our room was cozy and faced the back of the hotel overlooking a very nice terrace. Now, the hotel is on a very busy street so make sure you book a room that faces the back so you wont get all the street noise. As I said, our room was very cozy and the bathroom facilities looked new. Bring your own towels as Europeans use bath sheets. For us, Americans, its weird to use a sheet to dry off. I cant express how friendly the staff was. The continental breakfast was decent. We took advantage of it since we were traveling on a budget. The location of the hotel is excellent. Its a few blocks from buses and trolleys and in walking distance from a train station called Manzoni. Take the train everywhere!! Its really worth it! The hotel supplies you with a decent map of the city upon check-in. Checking in and out was hassle free. As a matter of fact, we arrived so early in the morning and our room was ready (we were in Rome during off season). There was a charming young man at the front desk I cant recall his name. He is Italian but lived in the UK for 5 years. His service was superb!!! You can't miss him. His english was fantastic!! Please visit this hotel. Don't expect frills its not the Four Seasons but the service, quality and cleanliness of the hotel is totally worth it. I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlost75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#495 of 1,256 in Rome
889 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#918 of 1,256 in Rome
424 reviews
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#656 of 1,256 in Rome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#431 of 1,256 in Rome
402 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#356 of 1,256 in Rome
787 reviews
Esquilino
Taormina Hotel
Taormina Hotel
#398 of 1,256 in Rome
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatello

Property: Hotel Donatello
Address: Via di Porta Maggiore 83, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatello 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel Rome
Rome Donatello Hotel
Hotel Donatello Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing