We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!!”
Review of Hotel Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Donatello
Ranked #291 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My friend and I just returned from our trip to Rome, and we thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay at the Hotel Donatello. We'd booked our trip through Virgin Vacations, and since they'd picked the hotel, we were a bit unsure of what to expect. Upon our arrival, however, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel exceeded all of our expectations. The daytime manager, Carlo was extremely helpful in every aspect of our vacation. He gave us excellent directions on a daily basis, and did everything he could to accommodate us during our stay. The daily breakfast outside on the terrace consisted of delicious baked goods that we could actually smell being baked when we would return to the hotel in the wee hours of the morning. They were served along with hot milk and coffee and fresh orange juice that made for an excellent start to our day. The hotel is in a very convenient location for the tram, bus, and metro station. We had no problem navigating the neighborhood around the hotel, and came upon a few lovely restaurants for lunch.

As two young, single girls traveling alone, safety was extremely important and we always felt safe at our hotel. You needed to be buzzed in to enter, and there was always someone at the front desk keeping an eye on things, no matter the hour. When we left our things in our room overnight while we traveled to Naples, we never once worried about whether or not they were safe. There is also a safe inside of the closet to put your most important items, so we found this to be helpful as well.

The rooms are clean and quaint and the marble floors and charming decor make you truly feel like you're in Rome. If you are looking for the huge living spaces and the overflowing continental breakfasts of American hotels, than I suggest you stay in America for your vacation. If you would like an authentic European experience with pleasant, accommodating staff members in a convenient location, then I highly recommend the Hotel Donatello.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 676 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

I just returned from a trip to Rome and stayed at Hotel Donatello. It was not as well located as we were led to believe. It was a 50 min. walk to the Colosseum and the nearest subway was about 15 min.. It was very hot while we were there but the hotel turned off the air conditioning from early (before we were up) till 2pm. The hair dryer did not work. The breakfast was 1 cold roll and watered down orange drink, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My Partner and I stayed at the hotel Donatello from the 22nd to the 25th June, and have to say that we left feeling happy with our decision to stay here.

its not the worlds best hotel, but i think we paid little over £30 per night to stay here, and got a bed to sleep in , a shower / sink to wash up, a safe to keep my valuables safe, and breakfast in the morning...

there is an older man who appears to have an attitude problem, but after seeing him a couple of times and trying to speak the lingo, he opened up and was ok... but expect a stern reception from him if he doesn't know you.

the breakfast is coffee/tea with rolls/croissants, which is different to many other hotels which provide B&B services, but this was fine as i came to Rome to visit the city not to have a fried breakfast... it kept me happy till lunch time.

the hotel was perfectly located to the local metro which was a 5 - 10 min walk (2 stations in close proximity), and from the metro, you can get a direct link to the termani.

my partner and I used these metros (just like the tube in london) to get to the trevi fountain, the vatican and the termani which then took us on the B line down to the Colosseum (which is a 15 - 20 min walk to the hotel).

stay in this hotel, its good... cheap and convenient, but don't be expecting the world... its really just a place to stay at night so you can refresh and visit more of Rome!

ps... there is a local ice cream shop 5 mins up the road (palazzo del freddo Fassi) which has some magnificent flavors, and was one of the best ice creams we have had... you will have to excuse the random queuing system Italy has, as its every-man for himself... but a must go place to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, and air conditioning is very nice. breakfast was basic yet pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed two nights. Pros: (1) Very attractive room and common areas. (2) Air conditioning worked very well, which was good during the heat wave. (3) Night clerk was very helpful and friendly. Cons: (1) Far from Termini train station. You will need to plan how to get from Termini to hotel before you arrive. We walked a very long way and neighborhood seemed sketchy at night. Hotel and street were not on the Rick Steves map. (Hotel is about half a block from Porta Maggiore and several blocks from the Manzione Metro stop.) (2) Breakfast was quite inadequate - just a croissant and coffee or juice. Of all 12 hotels we stayed at in Italy, this one had the lightest breakfast. (3) Day reception staff seemed put upon by my questions on how to get to a Metro station and to Termini. I tried to be respectful of his time, asking only a couple questions. (4) Heard people in the adjacent room come in after midnight. They were not excessively loud; it was just that the sound went right through the wall. (5) Power in room went off when using the hair dryer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LosAngelesJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A lot to complaint with this hotel. Every year we always travel & We never complaint about our hotel before, this is the 1st time & hope the last time
1. Farrrr from train station.... Plus the environment is not safe. Lots of gangster hanging around near the hotel!
2. Small room
3. VERY CHEAP HOTEL! Everything is soooooo cheap! Soap only tiny plastic for 1x use.
4. They TURNED OFF AIr conditioner at 3AM till 2PM! Crazy!!! Even outside the hotel with 104F is so much better than in the room with no ventilation at all!
5. We went to Venice & Florence before Rome, all hotel gave free wifi. This hotel charge 3euro for 1hour!
6. Breakfast only bread with coffee/tea/juice
7. Front desk named Benedetto is Very RUDE! No manner when we told them about the AC. They dont care at all! Basically just asked u to accept whatever it is! Said about hotel politic whatsoever!
8. Lots of mosquitoes in the hotel. (I though venice will hv problem with mosquitoes but we didnt get any problem in venice. The fact that we all got mosquitoes bite in this hotel!)

We bring my 20mos daughter, she couldnt sleep with no AC! We complained & they said they cant do anything. It's hotel politic! Even so, they should turned off AC when there's no one in the room!

NEVER EVER stay in this crappy hotel! It will surely ruin your trip!

So dissapointed! We booked it through gate1 travel & they didnt help us to cancelled the other 2nights also! How can gate1travel put that hotel on the list! I always booked through gate1travel but never got so dissapointed except this one! It's more dissapointed when gate1travel didnt want to help at all. Never ever gonna booked thru gate1travel again!

Room Tip: Basically dont stay in this hotel or u'll b dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyFootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Donatello in May of this year. The hotel is a little further off the main drag than where we usually stay - however it was easily accessible and not far from a Metro station. Our room was very clean with a large bathroom. The bath had a jacuzzi feature but unfortunately it didn't work. The shower was over the bath and was nice and hot. Breakfast was provided and was quite basic - coffee (make sure and ask for it nice and hot!), croissants/rolls, jam and butter. The staff at the hotel was really friendly and very helpful - I speak Italian but they had excellent English. We would stay at the Donatello again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FifiBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Nice hotel owner who told us where to go. Hotel really looked after us...a little bit of a walk from the train station but ok...had a good time but traffic in the morning was quite loud...good budget hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#580 of 1,269 in Rome
406 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Galles
Hotel Galles
#752 of 1,269 in Rome
451 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#961 of 1,269 in Rome
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Caracciolo
Hotel Caracciolo
#643 of 1,269 in Rome
174 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Principe Di Piemonte
Hotel Principe Di Piemonte
#690 of 1,269 in Rome
232 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#434 of 1,269 in Rome
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatello

Address: Via di Porta Maggiore 83, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $60 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatello 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel Rome
Rome Donatello Hotel
Hotel Donatello Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing