We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for some situations.”
Review of Mercure Roma West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Roma West
Ranked #375 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel itself is equivalent to any average business hotel. We booked it because we have a preferential business rate.

We stayed here under a particular set of circumstances: we were driving in late from somewhere else in Italy and driving straight to Rome airport the next morning.
I unfortunately do not know if the shuttle is free or not, as I did not use it. It is about a 20 minutes drive from the airport and 30 minutes from downtown, so not the best place to stay if you plan on spending time visiting Rome.

We booked a superior room, but to be honest it looked like any other standard room in a business hotel. The room was of sufficient size, with a comfortable queen bed, a clean bathroom, a small fridge and a desk. The room’s info card says that there is a safe in the room, but I looked everywhere and did not find it.
Our initial room was facing the road and we immediately heard that it would be noisy, so we asked to change. Therefore, make sure to ask for a room that is not facing the road.

There is a good spa with a big pool and relaxation area, which is open until 9pm and is free. There is also a small steam room and a sauna which costs 10€ per person.
Buffet breakfast is 15€, but they also offer an express breakfast (pastry & coffee) for 6€.

Driving there was difficult, but once you check-in there is a free indoor parking. There is also a gas station 100 metres away.

It’s a OK hotel if you are just spending the night between flights, but you may want to find a better located hotel if you plan on spending time visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stinz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice hotel in uptown of Rome with nice and quite big rooms. It is very far from city center so getting there is uneasy, but not impossible.
Staff is very helpful and nice, they told us they have upgraded our room from standard to deluxe, I think it was just a little swindle, anyway our room was good...
Wellness part was also nice, a little above-average. Hot tub and pool was free of charge, but we would have paid for sauna.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked this hotel as I was flying into Rome Fiumicino airport late in the evening and flying out of the same airport the following morning. The Mercure Roma West website indicated that the hotel was a few minutes from the airport. This statement is totally UNTRUE. It takes about 30 minutes by taxi at a cost of 40 Euros. So this means 80 EUROS just for transportation to and from the airport.if you were to use public transportation to get there, this involves two buses and a train, not much fun with luggage.
You are far better off getting a hotel near Termini station. The bus takes you there for 5 Euros or you can get the train for 14 Euros.
I have no complaints about the room. It was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stark1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel has been quiete recently taken over by the Accor group and really deserves its four stars: spacious lobby, nice decor, friendly and helpfull staff, a lot of amenities in the room (coffee-tea maker, mini-fridge), free bottle of water (each day of your stay!), free Wifi in the room, good daily housekeeping etc. Make sure that your breakfast is included in your booking, so you can enjoy the extensive buffet. A few downsides: rooms are not sound proofed, so if there are people in the neighbouring rooms, you will definitely hear them, as well as the hotel guests that are smoking (evenings) or waiting for their bus (mornings) in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid the rooms at front side of the hotel, because of the noise, especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the-penta-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This a good hotel for travelers. Rooms comfy. I had to get ventilator checked as the room a bit of a stench. Staff could be a bit aloof & hotel is located in a residential area. Service is average. A typical hotel for business stay-over. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this hotel for its spa and quiet location. We have stayed at another Mercure hotel which was previously a Ramada, and so were a bit cautious as we'd noticed a decline in their standards.
Firstlly - if you are about to book this hotel... Don't!
If you have already booked this hotel and can't refund, good luck...
The good things about this hotel are listed at the end, but this is everything we experienced in our "three-night" stay.
From Campino Airport, the taxi was 25 Euro. We arrived, the lady on the front desk (with glasses) checked our reservation, and said the room wouldn't be ready until 2pm. We chose to leave our luggage in store, and wonder around the area and book the spa.
At 2pm, when we had just finished booking the spa for 4pm, another lady from the reception team (Marianna) came up to us in the lobby and said "We have a problem, but also a solution. The soution is the most important part" we were told that the hotel was full and they could no longer accomodate us (even though we had already paid). We were also told that another hotel had been arranged, and asked to take a seat. For the next 45 mins, we could see Marianna frantically making phone calls. She asked us if we wanted something to drink, we said water. When the water arrived, we were told it would be 3 Euro! We were then told that another hotel had been arranged. We explained that we had booked a spa treatment, and Marianna said not to worry, the other hotel was much better than this one, and had all the facililties there, including a spa. She also said that they would cover the costs of the hotel, and it would include breakfast. Seeing as we had already paid for bed and breakfast at the Mercure, we thought this would be a minimum requirement. We also arrange to be collected the next morning at 10.30am so we could move our luggage back to the Mercure, and venture into Downtown Rome.

The alternative hotel was the All Time Relais & Sport (see separate review). This turned out to be the equivalent of a spruced up Travelodge with Room Service and an on-site sports centre (not a spa). The man doing the transfer obviously had no idea about this hotel, as parked on the street and walked up to the hotel, even though the hotel has its own car park). This was located in a very very run down area (opposite were abandoned shops with rampant graffiti). We asked the lady on reception if there was anywhere we could eat in the locality, she said no. The only place she could think of as a chinese restaurant (not really what we were after).

We rang the Mercure to speak to the manager to say that this hotel was unacceptable. The lady answering the phone said the manager was on another call, and she would ask him to call us back. He didnt. When I rang again, I spoke to a man called Edoardo. He was extremely apologetic. He mentioned that both the manager (Solanki Michel) and the General Manager (Disicchio) had left at 6pm, in the meantime there was nothing he could do. He also mentioned that Marianna had previously worked at the All Time, and so knew of its facilities, so must have been a problem in communication. He informed us that our stay at the Mercure would be upgraded to a suite

The next day, the Mercure's personal taxi driver came to pick us up. At the Mercure, we were told that we told that the room wasn't yet ready, although we could check into another room in the meantime. As we wanted to go to Rome, we opted to leave our luggage in store, rather than move 3 times in one day!

On our return, the suite was nice and clean. We were offered a complimentary drink at the bar (though no-one informed the barman). The next day we decided to spend at the hotel and surround area and booked our spa treaments (See below for both). At Reception I spoke to Luca, to book a taxi for the next morning for 7am, I was informed it was a fixed charge of 40 Euro. Later, I went to change this to 7.30am, unfortunately for me, I was again served by Marianna and received an inquisition about the change "why?" "what time is your flight" "are you sure" and again later "what time is your flight, and your gate closure?"). In the room we needed extra towels, so rang reception. Initially Marianna was fine, and arranged for towels to be sent. The second time, I was again questioned... "did my colleague not bring the towels?", "why?...

Upon checking out, the taxi turned out to be the hotel taxi. A normal taxi is only allowed to charge you a maximum of 38 Euro to Campino Airport by law, we were charge 40 Euro!

Based on the staff's "we'll ust say everything is great, even if it isn't" and "now we transferred you, we don't want to know" attitude, I would never advise this hotel... Ever!!

Breakast
Breakfast was, ok. I would not even pay 5 Euro for this, much better is available less than 10mins walk away.

Spa
Don't use the spa for treatments, the pool is nice. The Hawian and Californian massages are vigorous, rather than soothing. They use olive oil instead of body oil. If you are unlucky enough to get it massaged into your hair, you will have to shower a number of times to get rid of the oil smell. If you like having cooking oil vigourously massaged all over you, then go ahead.

Getting into Rome
The shop in the lobby sells a 100min ticket (1.50 Euro each), this is good for the bus journey to EUR Fermi and the metro for a single trip. The bus stop behind the hotel will go to the metro station (bus 705). On the Saturday we were told this runs until midnight. Getting back in the evening, we were waiting for around 30 mins for a bus to the hotel. Return trip time from the Colloseum Metro station was around 55mins.

The local Area.
The hotel is located in a rubbish place for tourists. If find yourself here, and don't fancy eating at the hotel. There are two options.
Out of the front entrace, take a right and walk up, there is a little kiosk on your right, they sell cheap biscuits and snacks, very friendly staff (not open on sundays)
Other option. Out of the hotel, take a left, down to the bottom and follow the road around. Go Right at the traffic lights past the petrol station, there is a brilliant little place called Bonnani. It is a little deli come cafe. awesome food.It is open from 5.30am til 9.30pm. There is man called Naeem, who speaks good English. We had to pizza's and two glasses of Rose wine. The staff also brought out a little pork meat pastry for us to try. The whole meal cost 16 Euro! There are locals in and out of this place all day long!.

In an nutshell, dont stay at the Mercure, especially if you are a tourist. If you find yourself stuck here, go to the area near Bonanni.

Room Tip: Suite 552 is nice, though watch out for lizzards in your bath tub! and dont expect your room to be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Prady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Roma West, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hello from Rome,

i am Marianna from Mercure Roma West
I am the person who asked you Kindly if you wished to move in an other hotel.
When you confirmed my request , i choose a hotel of the same category; i know very well this hotel because i worked there before.
We are very sorry that the other hotel didn't satysfied your expectations; anyway, we organised a transfert to the hotel All Time and pick up to come back for the days after
Apologiazing for the inconvenience, we made an up grade to our executive suite for the following two nights and we offered you a dinner
Moreover we want to guarantee that our SPA use only high quality products, and all transfertas are free upon request of our guests: we just give suggestions to be helful
We hoope to have the opportunity in welcoming you here again in the very next future, to let change your opinion on our services.

Best Regards
Marianna PINNA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

let me first of say that i am american, i know in most cases that is against me. my standards are only from hotels mostly in america but also including Australia, Hong Kong, japan, and mexico. first of let me say that the staff is very friendly. it kinda starts going down hill from here, the beds are like box springs, no padding, from the pictures it looks super flat... because it is, its amost like sleeping on the floor. the internet is a joke, every day you need to get a internet pass that last for 24 hours and only allows you to have 200mb download and a 256 bandwidth limit... its about as fast as dial up, and you have to pay 9 euro a day for that btw, not free. hopefully you come in the summer or the winter because if you come in the spring or fall they do not turn the ac on. so if its hot you sweat it out. if you open a window you hear traffic extremely loud (i am a sound sleeper, i slept through a nascar race in the fifth row) and makes it hard to sleep on your stiff bed with loud trucks going by at 1 am. the hotel will not exchange your money, and neither will the back next door. i did find some good restaurants from previous reviews but other then that i have been trying to leave this hotel since the first week here, ps you have to pay ahead and its non refundable. breakfast is around 16 euros for pathetic spread too.

Room Tip: best western is a little further away but if your here for business and you have to stay for a while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottschibes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
12.9 mi away
Novotel Roma Est Hotel
Novotel Roma Est Hotel
#399 of 1,271 in Rome
967 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Hotel I Triangoli
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rome - Eur Parco Dei Medici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Roma Eur
Novotel Roma Eur
#247 of 1,271 in Rome
890 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#257 of 1,271 in Rome
992 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Eur Parco dei Pini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Roma West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Roma West

Address: Viale Degli Eroi di Cefalonia 301, 00128 Rome, Italy (Formerly Nicolaus Hotels Roma West)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Rome
#42 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#206 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $62 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Roma West 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please visit the new spa Heated indoor pool with Jacuzzi corner, gym equipment TECNOGYM, sauna turkish bath, relaxation areas, treatment rooms, changing rooms and docce. No access to children under 6 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Roma West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eur Roma West Hotel Rome
Sheraton Roma West Hotel
Four Points Rome
Rome Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing