We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but very far from centre of Rome”
Review of Mercure Roma West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Roma West
Ranked #361 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place but very far from centre of Rome”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Was there on business during conference. For this purpose it is a good place. But if you are a tourist in Rome it is not good because of uncomfortable destination. Till the centre of Rome 30-35 min on a taxi which costs you 35 Euro.
Very nice spa with free swimming pool.
Free wi-fi but every 24 hours you have to receive a new password at the reception.

Room Tip: My room 607 was very quite and good for comfort sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorEvchatov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    462
    246
    103
    68
See reviews for
254
322
75
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

There has been a delay in writing this, its only when I booked my next holiday i realised how useful the reviews on here have been, so i wanted to make others aware of my experience at the Mercure Roma WestMe and my friends stayed in this hotel back in June. Starting with the plus points the hotel was clean and spacious. We had buffet breakfast which had a large selection and the food was nice too but only because it was included in our package otherwise the prices were too high
Negative points where do i start the staff were so rude and nasty. They hardly understood us and when we first checked in they could even find our booking!!! It took them a while to find our booking due to no fault of ours but they made it out it was all our problem.
Throughout the stay we had problems with them. None of the staff had an idea about anything and they continously made things up when we asked for anything and when we asked another member of staff they gave us a completely different answer. We asked to use the spa service and the lady at the reception spoke to us very rudely and told us the spa wont be opening today whereas the gentleman on reception told us a while earlier that they were running late and the spa will be open at 10!
When we challenged them and asked for a manager (there wasnt one available) she said to her collegue she never told us that and accused us of lying. Overall the staff were very unpleasant. I would never return and stay at this hotel only because of the staff.
Hotel is far away from rome city but we just got a bus to the metro station and got the metro everywhere, which was a bit of hassle and little out of the way especially if returning late as the hotel is in a poorly lit area which seems to be deserted and run down. Even the hotel lobby was very quiet with hardly any guests visible. The hotel did do a shuttle bus but not at weekends though according to one member of staff but the same Saturday evening we did see a shuttle bus returning???However we were never informed of any shuttle bus or timetables etc
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattert, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Price was good, Breakfast and Wifi included in the Rate !
Hotel is Standard , but Carpets in the Hallways have to be renewed .
Taxi to Airport was 40 euro , and was there in 12 minutes .
All not outstanding but a good standard .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAIPUR
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel is good value for money, staff is helpful. But you have to ask for every small service. We booked special rooms which comes with free wifi and travel pass/water bottle, but we have to remind them several times for availing this facility. Daily u have to ask for 24hr PW of Wifi from them. You have to remind them that u paid extra for these facilities. Further small things like shaving kits, milk powder pouch for making coffee are not provided at rooms so u have to ask for these several times, and at times they are not available with reception and house staff. Rooms/breakfast buffet is excellent. Staff of restaurant is very good. On sundays/holidays u have to take 130 No. bus and other days 705 from Eur Fermi. Location is far away from city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My laptop bag was stolen while I was checking in. My colleagues tell me that this is not the first time that such things happen at this hotel - one bag was stolen a couple of years ago in the same way.

Obviously this fact compromised my stay at this hotel. But I noted that the way the check-in desk is shaped does encourage messy crowds and this helps thieves in their job. Also the hotel should improve security and increase the number of videocameras.

In any case I will ask my Company to remove this hotel from their list.

Room Tip: If you really need to stay at this hotel keep your belongings between your legs at all time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zia_Angelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Responsabile reception at Mercure Roma West, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are sincerely sorry that your stay with us was unpleasant because of the theft of your PC.
It happens sometimes that we find smart phones, bags and wallets in the lobby, and we place them in our lost and found deposit in order to give them back to the owners ,as demonstrated in a recent review, but unfortunately, in your case, even though we have video surveillance cameras and security staff, we were less fortunate.
We cannot ensure that objects or luggage left unattended, cannot be stolen in the lobby of a hotel, in fact the rare cases where such incidents have occurred, the cameras revealed unsuspected people go out of the lobby with goods left unattended even for a second.
That can happen in any places with lots of people like an hotel lobby.
We would like to let you know that we have a luggage room and safety boxes at the reception and we invite our guests to use those facilities specially in order not to leave valuable goods unattended , even for the time to get a coffee.
We will take your negative experience as a strong commitment for us to improve our threshold of attention on this matter, because we are very sensitive to the safety of our guests.

We understand your disappointment about what happened, an unpleasant episode, unfortunate and we pledge to making sure that never happens again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
12.9 mi away
Novotel Roma Est Hotel
Novotel Roma Est Hotel
#396 of 1,261 in Rome
931 reviews
1.7 mi away
All Time Relais & Sport Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rome - Eur Parco Dei Medici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Aris Garden
Hotel Aris Garden
#940 of 1,261 in Rome
276 reviews
14.6 mi away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#504 of 1,261 in Rome
236 reviews
11.7 mi away
Domidea Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#217 of 1,261 in Rome
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Roma West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Roma West

Property: Mercure Roma West
Address: Viale Degli Eroi di Cefalonia 301, 00128 Rome, Italy (Formerly Nicolaus Hotels Roma West)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#36 Spa Hotel in Rome
#197 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Roma West 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please visit the new spa Heated indoor pool with Jacuzzi corner, gym equipment TECNOGYM, sauna turkish bath, relaxation areas, treatment rooms, changing rooms and docce. No access to children under 6 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Roma West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eur Roma West Hotel Rome
Sheraton Roma West Hotel
Four Points Rome
Rome Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing