We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will stay somewhere else next visit to Rome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roma Resort Barberini
Ranked #430 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will stay somewhere else next visit to Rome.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is not a standard hotel and it's hard to find at first. There's no sign, only a brass logo beside the door and the numbers "171" to show the street address. It appears to have been a small apartment building at one time and they've converted each of the two suites per floor into a hotel room. I would guess there's no more than 12 rooms in the hotel. There is no restaurant and the lobby consists of a small desk, staffed by one person, and a sofa. There is a bellman during the day but at night, the entrance door is locked and you must get the attention of the night watchman to enter if you don't have a room key to open the outside door. My husband and I arrived on separate flights and even though I pointed out to the evening person and then the night attendant (at 11:30 pm) that he would be arriving just after midnight, he was not able to get in and was left standing on the street for 20 minutes until he was able to wake me via cell phone. I had to go downstairs to let him in and had to walk by the office in the lobby where I could hear the load snoring of the night watchman. A bomb could have gone off and he wouldn't have responded! My husband was dressed in a business suit, carrying a briefcase and felt very exposed at that time of night as the hookers and others spotted him banging on the door of his "hotel". The front desk staff were helpful and the rooms were very clean but many little things like no drinking glasses in the room one night, a wasp's nest on the ceiling of the main room, a running toilet, the cover for the toilet flusher fell off in my hand once, no blanket on the bed, only a sheet and a heavier sheet for a cover, no soap dish in the shower so you needed to hold the soap in your hand, the closet was in the middle of the hallway, no mirror in the bedroom.....all added up for a negative experience for us. I've read the other reviews and if you needed a small kitchen to feed a child and an extra room to spread out a lot of gear, this would work but as a middle-aged couple looking for a secure and comfortable place to stay, we were disappointed. We stayed three days and then returned for another night at the end of our trip. We were travelling with 3 other couples and we all left a suitcase in storage while we were travelling in the countryside. My friend had 2 pairs of expensive shoes stolen from her suitcase while our bags were stored with the hotel. We were NOT impressed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadiantraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    88
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
70
71
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

If you are traveling with the family, this is a great hotel. They offer suites with 2 rooms that are very convenient for families with children. Suites have small kitchens with sink and refrigerator, which is very convenient also. We have stayed in this hotel many years ago and unfortunately it was not renovated since. The rooms are simple, but clean. Some negatives: the sleeper sofa in the family room had a really bad mattress, not the best sleep quality; one day the toilet broke in our room (it got fixed the same day). Location is great, walking distance to all major attractions. Will recommend this hotel to families. If you don't need 2 rooms, you can probably find a better place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yanka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights. Good location, friendly reception, but very uncomfortable beds and rooms. Rooms are too small to an extent that there is no place to put your luggage. There were no mirrors in the rooms at all, only one was available in the WC, which in its turn did not have a socket to plug the hair dryer!! Internet is only wired, No WIFI signal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restrip100, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Roma Resort Barberini, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
We stayed for 2 nights. Good location, friendly reception, but very uncomfortable beds and rooms. Rooms are too small to an extent that there is no place to put your luggage. There were no mirrors in the rooms at all, only one was available in the WC, which in its turn did not have a socket to plug the hair dryer!! Internet is only wired, No WIFI signal.
Dear Sir,
we regret that you have not asked to the Front Desk about these features:
- all of our suites have a mirror in the corridor or in the wardrobe (sometimes inside it);
- same for the plug for the hair-dryer: there is one on the right side of the wide mirror of all of our suites.
About Internet, the Residence offers a free fast Internet cabled line (cable included in all the suites). There is also a public & free Internet point at the reception floor.
In addition, we are in the central zone of the wi-fi and some of our Guests have tried without a cable and they perfectly got the wi-fi line from an external connection....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

The Residence Barberini offers comfortable apartments within close proximity to the Spanish Steps. My husband and I traveled to Rome with our 2 year old son, and found these apartments suited our needs perfectly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, allowing plenty of room for the 3 of us. We were lucky enough to stay in the beautiful penthouse suite, complete with views of The Pantheon and St. Peter's Basilica. The two terraces were a wonderful place to enjoy a bottle of wine after a long day seeing the sights in Rome. I loved the close proximity to the Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese. If you drive to Rome, there is a parking garage literally right around the corner from the apartment, which we found quite convenient. Another perk of staying in this hotel is that they don't require a minimum night stay AND they provide daily cleaning service. I would most definitely stay at Residence Barberini again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnainnapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed here for Christmas Holiday and over all it was a good experience.

PROS: The staff was GREAT I mean they could not have done more for us. The location is awesome very close to everything and being near the Metro station was handy “2 euro for two people to take the Metro easy and a bargain”. Close to a Grocery store to get stuff for breakfast and whatever.

Cons: Our room was a little worn not to bad and a wake up call that never came. No sign in font of the hotel.

The only thing that bugged me was that we were on the third floor and at the landing of the emergency escape stairs was an unbelievable stack of boxes. I mean their must have been 70 boxes and you could just get around them. Now, the elevator was slow and only could fit 3 people 4 at most. So, in the event of a fire “which you should not use the elevator anyway” A) the boxes catch fire and your blocked in or contribute to the blaze or B) someone bumps into them as they are hurrying out they collapse and they impede the exit until you can clear a path thus slowing your Egress.

I brought this to the staffs attention they appeared unconcerned. I mean the likely hood of such an event happening is rare but if it did you would likely be hosed. I guess you could jump it is only three stories and come away with broken bones and such.

This would be a fire code violation in the United States but when in Rome well you know the rest.


Bottom line: I would stay here again if they trash the boxes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJGfrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

We arrived early and the front desk took our bags and we headed to lunch while the room was cleaned. Returning from lunch, we picked up the key and took the funky elevator to Suite 11. I looked through several open doors thinking that one would lead to our room. I soon realized that ALL the rooms were included in the suite--two bedrooms, a sitting room, a large corridor and a bathroom the size of most Rome hotel rooms and a balcony with views of St Paul's. We stayed for 5 nights. Great location-within walking distance of almost all of the attractions and a 3 minute walk to the Metro. Great front desk service--helpful with arranging trips and providing transportation. We will definitely stay at the Residence Barbarini when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmccahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed in the rooftop penthouse of this hotel and it was perfect for us. My husband and I brought our 2 year old daughter along and there was so much space for her to run around and play. The 2 patios are huge and the view is brethtaking. Absolutely a hidden gem. The hotel will do a room service breakfast, or send ice, but that's it. The kitchenette came in very hany. The hotel decor is very modern and the front desk staff were always very helpful and perfectly fluent in english. The location couldn't be better as well - just far enough away from the major attractions to save a bit of money, but still within short walking distance. The downside: the bathroom is TINY... that's all I can think of!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booboomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#170 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#593 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#319 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#322 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Trevi
Domus Julia
Domus Julia
#663 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Trevi
Hotel 2000 Roma
Hotel 2000 Roma
#847 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Resort Barberini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Resort Barberini

Property: Roma Resort Barberini
Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 171, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Roma Resort Barberini 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roma Resort Barberini is a new hotel placed in the heart of Rome's historical center, in a corner of Piazza Barberini at five minutes walking distance from the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, Via Veneto and at 50 meters from the Metro Station Barberini (red line A). Recently renovated with care and attention, the establishment offers double, triple, quadruple rooms and a unique Penthouse suite on the top-floor. All the rooms have a large double bed (no twin possible) and a private bathroom with shower. The triple and quadruple have also a comfortable single or double pull-out sofa-bed and a kitchenette. The only two Economy rooms are placed downstairs in the basement or in the hall of the reception. Features: free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, Satellite TV, daily cleaning. Reception open with limited time, check-in from h 02:00 PM to 09:30 PM. Later check-in not possible, nor advising, check your time of arrival before reserving or you'll enter the next morning at 8:00 AM. Staff can help in booking tours of Rome or various tickets. No breakfast is available on site but a lot of good places are just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roma Resort Barberini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Barberini Rome
Residence Barberini Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing