We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service Grade "F"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roma Resort Barberini
Ranked #420 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Customer Service Grade "F"”
Reviewed October 1, 2005

My stay at the Residence Barberini was less than acceptable. At the door, we were told due to our shuttle driver having to wait for us (flight was late; no fault of our own) that we would be charged an extra 30Euro. That immediately set the tone for the rest of our stay here.

We resided at the Barberini for 4 days and 3 nights. The hotel was clean and stylish and centrally located (if you don't mind the hustle and bustle of downtown Rome). But the customer service was very unsatisfactory. The staff seemed less than interested in our needs and/or comfort while there. We were not greeted most times as we entered and left the premises and just did not experience the customer service you would expect a hotel of that caliber to provide.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone regardless of the interesting art collection throughout the hotel and it's stylish apartments. Not worth the cost or the service.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LimerickPiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    91
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
73
76
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2005

We found this hotel very clean and spacious but the hallways smelled very mildewy/moldy and the air conditioning fan was extremely noisy. We checked in took a look around and went looking for another hotel as we wanted a hotel we could enjoy spending time in. The rooms themselves were nicely furnished - just a warning if you have small children there is a full size mummy in the stairway of the 2nd to 3rd floor that could be frightful to them.

The DVD player and movie loans were great and the internet access in the lobby was wonderful. Staff was also very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMLSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2005

We just got back from Italy and we stayed at Residence Barberini for three nights. The hotel was more than adequate for our needs. It had a large master bedroom, a living room with a sofa bed, a small kitchen and a large bathroom with a shower. We stayed in Suite # 2 which was on the 2nd floor. The rooms were nice and clean which was important to me. The refrigerator in the small kitchen was perfect as it enabled us to store drinks and breakfast items. The kitchen was also very well equipped with plates and cutlery and even pots and pans if you are inclined to cook.

The Barberini is actually more like an apartment hotel (apartelle) than a hotel. So if you are expecting a hotel then this place is not for you...They do not have a concierge like the big hotels and the front desk staff although very nice and very friendly could not cater to your needs like a concierge does.

The Barberini does not have a large sign in front so it might be difficult to find it when you first arrive. We actually arranged for the hotel shuttle to pick us up from the airport and it cost Euro 65 for a family of four. If money is not an issue for you, I would definitely suggest this option as it was more relaxing to arrive in Rome knowing that the driver was not out to get us.

Location was also an added bonus....You could walk to the Trevi Fountain and to the Spanish steps. It will take you about 10 minutes to walk to either location. As a matter of fact, we managed to walk to the Trevi Fountain on the night we arrived and managed to catch it while it was still light since it was so close by (We arrived at about 8:00 PM).

If you read Angels and Demons and want to follow the the walk of Bernini's Rome (as described in DK Guidebook for Rome), the hotel is a good base to start from....

We were very happy at Residence Barberini, my husband says he would definitely go back there and it was my son's favorite hotel in Italy which is saying a lot cause we stayed in a 5 star hotel in Siena and a 4 Star hotel in Venice. The Residence Barberini is definitely ideal for families with kids...

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
16 Thank PVmomontherun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2005

We were happy to find the Residence Barberini for our family of four (2 adults, 2 children). We stayed in Suite 10 on the 5th floor in May 2005. There was little to no noise at night. It was a super easy walk to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. The suite was roomy.....great beds/pillows....and separate room for the kids with sofa beds. There is a tiny kitchenette and a great bathroom. We did not order breakfast; coffee and rolls are available across the street. There is a computer available in an office near the lobby. The hotel is clean, and the staff very friendly! Even though the hotel was full, we rarely saw other guests. We enjoyed our stay at the Residence Barberini !

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Parieeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 7, 2005

Stayed at the Residence Barberini in early April for 5 nights. Ended up staying in two different suites (#8 and #12). #12 is the penthouse so when it opened up, grabbed it for a couple of nights. We were in Rome the days leading up to and after the Pope's funeral so the City was very busy. I was staying there with myself, two teenagers and one toddler. Here are my impressions:

Cleanliness: Excellent.

Rooms: Excellent. The penthouse is probably best for 2 people as the sofa bed in the living area is not very comfortable. We did OK with it and really liked the views the two patios offered from the suite. However suite #8 worked out well for our family of four. The rooms also included small kitchens and that was welcomed by our whole family.

Staff: Excellent. David was very helpful in trying to locate a Kodak battery charger that I couldn't seem to find on my own. He went out of his way to make my kids feel comfortable and meet our needs. The remaining staff was also very good. They had good restaurant, market and shopping recommendations.

Hotel Location: Very central but a bit hard to find. Seems the property isn't well known yet so shuttle and cab drivers had a hard time finding. It's right off Barbarini Square (big fountain in the middle of traffic) and has a market, pharmacy and other conveniences close by.

Ammenities: The hotel's satellite TV actually worked and the free internet access they had available in a small office off the lobby made my teenagers very happy. It also helped me stay in touch with my office after my Blackberry died.

Overall: Would stay here again in a heart beat, especially if I could get the penthouse. The views of the City it offered are excellent and worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2004

We stayed at the Residence Barberini in August 2004 and found it to be an excellent hotel. There were 4 adults and we wanted to find a hotel where we could split a room - this was excellent for that. The room was about the size of a standard 1 bedroom apartment in the US and had a pull-out sofa so that all 4 adults could sleep comfortably. We also had privacy due to the layout of the room.

Another bonus is having a kitchen - because drinks are very expensive in Rome, we found a grocery store and stocked up on water and soda for the room - big plus for the hot days in Rome.

The location is great, right by a Metro line, within walking distance from the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, and many other sites in Rome. Of course, Rome is a walking city, because their subway system is really inadequate, but you can also pick up many buses at Piazza Barberini.

I would stay again.

Helpful?
16 Thank Ami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2004

Residence Barbarini on the Via Quattro Fontani, just a few metres from Piazza Barbarini was a wonderful base for our family during a week in Rome in January 2004.

The location is terrific. A couple of hundred metres from the Spanish Steps in one direction, the Trevi fountain in another and the Via Veneto in another and with the Palazzo Barbarini art gallery just next door, we were delighted.

The reception is small but ultra trendy with extremely friendly and helpful staff. This is an old building, but the apartments have been very well renovated with lots of marble and some quite unique artworks.

The views from our apartment were limited but charming - up the Via Quattro Fontani, a quaint street with lots of activity. There are lots of restaurants about, a pharmacy right opposite and an internet cafe about 50m away.

The kitchen was a little dingy (no natural light) but we ate out most of the time. The other rooms were fine and the bathroom very pleasant.

This is classic boutique accomodation, with the sort of quirks that make you pleased you didn't book into an international hotel. We felt very much part of Rome. The only drawback is lack of facilities like pool & gym.

Helpful?
11 Thank OnThePoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#169 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#591 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#324 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#328 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Trevi
Domus Julia
Domus Julia
#667 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Trevi
Hotel 2000 Roma
Hotel 2000 Roma
#856 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Resort Barberini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Resort Barberini

Property: Roma Resort Barberini
Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 171, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #420 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Roma Resort Barberini 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roma Resort Barberini is a new hotel placed in the heart of Rome's historical center, in a corner of Piazza Barberini at five minutes walking distance from the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, Via Veneto and at 50 meters from the Metro Station Barberini (red line A). Recently renovated with care and attention, the establishment offers double, triple, quadruple rooms and a unique Penthouse suite on the top-floor. All the rooms have a large double bed (no twin possible) and a private bathroom with shower. The triple and quadruple have also a comfortable single or double pull-out sofa-bed and a kitchenette. The only two Economy rooms are placed downstairs in the basement or in the hall of the reception. Features: free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, Satellite TV, daily cleaning. Reception open with limited time, check-in from h 02:00 PM to 09:30 PM. Later check-in not possible, nor advising, check your time of arrival before reserving or you'll enter the next morning at 8:00 AM. Staff can help in booking tours of Rome or various tickets. No breakfast is available on site but a lot of good places are just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roma Resort Barberini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Barberini Rome
Residence Barberini Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing