We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all very good”
Review of Igea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Igea Hotel
Ranked #854 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I was travelling alone to Italy to meet up with family. Coming from Canada I was looking for a place to crash for two nights to rest up and tour a but also be close to train station. Igea was a good price and conveniently located.

Turned out time be a good choice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms clean, spartan, but efficient. Bed comfortable, full bathroom, free WiFi, TV, desk, and breakfast....okay coffee and a bun...typical in France and Italy. A previous comment about size of showers rang true. I had to step out of the showers to change my mind or to turn around. I am not a small man but these were made for very tiny people!!

Overall, I recommend it.

Sidenote: Restaurant Alfredo across the street was good decently priced food.

1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 241 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hi everyone, first of all I have never been so embarrassed by a hotel service in my life before. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. I had a friend who was stranded and did not know how to get back to his hotel with out the transport system. Knowing how big Rome is I suggested my friend to stay with me. When we got to my hotel the receptionist at 4.20am on the 11/09/12 mentioned to me I cannot have a friend to stay with me at this time of te night. Shocked by what he mentiOned to me I told him I will pay extra to allow my friend to stay with me as it is dangerous for any of us tourist to sleep on the streets. The receptionist mentioned that he knows lots of tourist sleeping in the train station?! How can any hotel receptionist suggest anyone to sleep on the streets?! He mentioned to me my option was to get another hotel and leave! Extreamly embrassed and i did not know what to do I took my friend to
A different hotel to allow her to sleep in a different hotel by herself. I am glad there is a few hotel near by. It's not worth the money it's not worth the hassle and please thInk of your safety or anyone else's in this regard as they do not care about you. All over the hotel it mentioned that they are not responsible of anything that happenes in the hotel. I hope this makes sense as I am writting this in extream anger! Also I booked this hotel from booking.com I have also made a complaine to them and the person on the phone was extreamly shocked by the behavior of this hotel. You book this hotel you do it at your own risk!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akp883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I booked a single room for myself for 5 nights.
The checkin process was simple and I had a nice room on the 5th floor facing the rear of the building.
The bed was bigger than the expected single which was nice.
Overall the room was pretty clean except for some dust on the floors and some cobwebs on the ceiling corners. Bed was wasn't the softest but ok, but pillows hard as rocks. Shower was extremely small so if you are at all overweight or enjoy shaving your legs, it will be a challenge.
I did not like that there was no safe in the room. You had the option of leaving stuff with the front desk but I didn't no it. You also have to turn in your key when you leave. I had no issues, but I wasn't particularly comfortable with it.
The breakfast was ok. Fresh cappuccino or whatever hot beverage you like brought you you is nice. Options of pastry or bun with jam or spreadable cheese, OJ and crackers/cookies.
The hotel was nice enough to print off whatever documents I needed.
Not extremely helpful with suggestions on food or tours but I think it was mostly a language barrier.
The area during the day is fairly convenient, close to Termini and the bus stops for the hop on-hop off tours. At night its a different story. Prostitutes and lurkers line the streets a block up. Lots of homeless and sketchy people everywhere. As a single woman alone, I did not enjoy it. I was not wandering about much but the times I was coming back or ran out to get food, it wasn't enjoyable. I never felt threatened, but just be careful. Even the hotel shuts off all lights and chains the door shut after 1am. They will be there to let you in but clearly its not the best area but it never really interfered much.
I know it sounds like there was a lot to complain about but really, there wasn't. It was good value for what I got and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Asked for quiet room, was given 501, room not facing the street. Quiet except for cleaning staff in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

After exciting journey nice to relax,so near centrum and Termini station,not noisy place.Sure,without luxus,but conditions were normal,staff very polite and helpfull,breakfast good.You can continue your trip without nervous counting the time you need to rich station or airport.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

the rooms are still the same , the elevators will stop between the floors

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luigi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

It was a nice hotel located in the convinient place. The places of interest are easily reachable both by metro and on foot. The desk staff were all very helpful and able to answer or make suggestions to every question we asked and as it was our first visit to Rome this was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kostas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Although this is situated close to the termini, I believe we could have found another great location and better deal all the way around had we looked more throughly. The bathroom is awful, mildew and falling apart.
We came back to the room after a long days journey in a hot and muggy rome to find that the hot water heater was broken and we could not shower. We were given no compensation for this.
When I went down to inquire about it the staff member blew it off as if it was no concern. I asked it they had bottled water for guest. He replied that they had both flat and gas available for the guest in such an overly generous way I thought that the water was complimentary...it was not! They did take it off the bill though.
Worst for last:
The beds are so old that we were sinking in the middle. They pushed two singles together for our 4 night stay which was a nightmare...I am a creature of habit with certain things and falling asleep with the heavy arm of my handsome beloved over me is an absolute must...we could not get comfortable at all!!!!The beds sagged at different areas and even when we did try our best to snuggle, the beds moved apart.
The staff was nice, but not enough to way out the other conditions.
The wi-fi was free but someone was always on the house computer and we didn't cart ours on our trip.
The breakfast was the same everyday. Although I have an understanding that breakfast is not a big meal for Italians, I also have an understanding that it could have been vast improved. The rolls were stale, the packaged cookies and wafers low quality, the coffee the worst you could possibly imagine (and I have had incredible Italian coffee), boxed corn flakes and warm milk galore...a total carb/sugar breakfast guaranteed to have your blood sugar crashing, head ache pounding, dehydrated start to your journey in history thick Rome where you just might have wanted to start out nourished, well slept, and comfortably bathed.
I did actually take photos of the mold in the bathroom, but I can't get them to load up and we decided I should just go ahead and get our reviews posted.

Room Tip: look into other places to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryEAmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Mariano Hotel
Mariano Hotel
#576 of 1,270 in Rome
602 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#954 of 1,270 in Rome
769 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#695 of 1,270 in Rome
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#438 of 1,270 in Rome
758 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Capitol Roma
Hotel Capitol Roma
#619 of 1,270 in Rome
210 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Contilia
Hotel Contilia
#700 of 1,270 in Rome
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Igea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Igea Hotel

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 97, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #854 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $58 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Igea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfortable hotel with multilingual staff is located near Termini Railway Station; the Opera & S. Maria Maggiore Basilica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Igea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Igea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing