We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 530 is 2 star not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commodore Roma
Ranked #862 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Staff very friendly; foyer and reception are very attractive; breakfast fine but fruit from a tin; however, our room was poor. Very clean with fresh sheets and towels daily but it was very shabby and tired. It was small and claustrophobic with a writing bureau as a dressing table! Wardrobe blocked 1/3 of the window area. En suite clean but stale smell all the time. Definitely not a 4 star room .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PWO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo B, Direttore at Hotel Commodore Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for chooosing Hotel Commodore for your roman stay and for the time of your report, we are very happy to learn that you liked our foyer and lobby area as well as our service, we take good note of your suggestion in order to improve our services.
Best regards
Angelo Battistini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 397 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Commodore for one night on a stopover in Rome. Had the impression the hotel was 3 star, although it seemed that on arrival it was advertised as a 4 star hotel. I had booked a basic room online and on check-in was upgraded to the deluxe suite on the top floor which was a nice touch! Room was very large and had a double bed which was very comfortable, separate study area, large bathroom with shower over bath and a small rooftop terrace overlooking Rome which gave great views over the city. Furniture is a bit old and dated, but very European style. Had decent Air Conditioning which was a plus! Service I found to be very average, the guys in reception didn’t really seem to care about patrons and were slow to respond. WiFi was meant to be free, on check in I was given a free WiFi key and managed to misplace it, I then went and tried to get a new one downstairs and was greeted by a very rude gentlemen who was trying to charge me 10 euros as apparently internet was an extra cost? Luckily I found the WiFi key back in my room and saved 10 euros! Breakfast was nothing special, hotel advertised a beautiful breakfast room overlooking the city but this was not true. The food was okay, standard continental breakfast with Danishes, croissants, toast, coffee, juice etc... Overall, a comfortable stay, although if I didn't get a room upgrade, I would say this hotel is a bit on the expensive side and I am sure there are other places to stay with modern rooms. Location was great though, Termini was about a 5 min walk and very close to all attractions and transport. Would recommend!

Room Tip: Chose a high floor room to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petronator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo B, Direttore generale at Hotel Commodore Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience with the others travellers.
We are very grateful and happy for your awesome comment!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again in Rome.

My warmest regards,
Angelo Battistini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Location is great. Close to everything. Rooms, bed and breakfast nothing special, (3 star hotel). The hotel help gave the impression of being very helpful but in reality, it was an act. Asked to reserve a taxi to airport (was told it was done, it wasn't) asked to keep something in fridge for a week, they said no problem. When we came back it was gone.Left suitcase there for a week, when returned (lock was missing). It was these little things that would keep me away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a lovely place, tucked away, shopping and restaurants near by, staff friendly and helpful. Special mention for Cristiano who was so guiding and sorting out any problems or worries we had. Thank you. Breakfast was more than adequate and plentiful. The bar was relaxing and made great coffee. There were no tea making facilities or use of iron, but we did without anyway. The metro station very close by and a lot of the attractions are close anyway.
They provided box breakfast for a very early start for a tour one day. Bathrooms provided different facilities in the 3 rooms we had but we all managed. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A nice 4star hotel with a great location just next to the magnificent Santa Maria Maggiore, and the Termini station. Very easy to reach all the main sights, either by Metro or by walking as i did.
My single room was very spacious and quiet during the nights. Comfy bed and very clean and nice in every way.
Only downside was the short shower curtain which lead to the water running out on the floor while showering. I also missed having a hand shower.
Breakfast a bit limited but okay.
I was happy as a singel traveller to get a nice room on the top floor.
All in all a nice experience with really kind, funny and helpful staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo B, Direttore generale at Hotel Commodore Roma, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience with the others travellers.

We are very grateful and happy for your awesome comment!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again in Rome.

My warmest regards,
Angelo Battistini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here in late June 2013. The hotel staff was very gracious, eagerly answering my questions, giving directions, and making my stay very pleasant. As other guests have mentioned the breakfast buffet was generous, the room was clean, and well appointed. I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff were very friendly and recommended good local restaurants and attractions. Breakfast was a filling continental, better than what we expected! Rooms although slightly dated, were clean and well maintained. Everything that you would need on a sight seeing stay over. Overall good value and service in a great location that has served us well!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaffa0385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,963 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#337 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore Roma

Address: Via Torino 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#333 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $284 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commodore Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Commodore is an elegant 4 star hotel situated in the heart of Rome, near the Termini Train Station, the Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Rome Opera House. It has 60 rooms including single, double and deluxe rooms and triple rooms. The rooms are finely furnished and all equipped with the most modern comforts. Its intentionally retro' atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable. It is strategically located in the heart of Rome and perfect both for business travellers and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Commodore Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Roma Hotel
Commodore Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing