We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commodore Roma
Ranked #844 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Location is great. Close to everything. Rooms, bed and breakfast nothing special, (3 star hotel). The hotel help gave the impression of being very helpful but in reality, it was an act. Asked to reserve a taxi to airport (was told it was done, it wasn't) asked to keep something in fridge for a week, they said no problem. When we came back it was gone.Left suitcase there for a week, when returned (lock was missing). It was these little things that would keep me away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    157
    125
    42
    38
See reviews for
69
136
44
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a lovely place, tucked away, shopping and restaurants near by, staff friendly and helpful. Special mention for Cristiano who was so guiding and sorting out any problems or worries we had. Thank you. Breakfast was more than adequate and plentiful. The bar was relaxing and made great coffee. There were no tea making facilities or use of iron, but we did without anyway. The metro station very close by and a lot of the attractions are close anyway.
They provided box breakfast for a very early start for a tour one day. Bathrooms provided different facilities in the 3 rooms we had but we all managed. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

A nice 4star hotel with a great location just next to the magnificent Santa Maria Maggiore, and the Termini station. Very easy to reach all the main sights, either by Metro or by walking as i did.
My single room was very spacious and quiet during the nights. Comfy bed and very clean and nice in every way.
Only downside was the short shower curtain which lead to the water running out on the floor while showering. I also missed having a hand shower.
Breakfast a bit limited but okay.
I was happy as a singel traveller to get a nice room on the top floor.
All in all a nice experience with really kind, funny and helpful staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo B, Direttore generale at Hotel Commodore Roma, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience with the others travellers.

We are very grateful and happy for your awesome comment!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again in Rome.

My warmest regards,
Angelo Battistini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here in late June 2013. The hotel staff was very gracious, eagerly answering my questions, giving directions, and making my stay very pleasant. As other guests have mentioned the breakfast buffet was generous, the room was clean, and well appointed. I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff were very friendly and recommended good local restaurants and attractions. Breakfast was a filling continental, better than what we expected! Rooms although slightly dated, were clean and well maintained. Everything that you would need on a sight seeing stay over. Overall good value and service in a great location that has served us well!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaffa0385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

First of all the good points:

Most of the staff at reception are lovely, sweet and friendly except one really grumpy old man who usually works in the mornings.

Really close to termini station which is great if you want to take the fast train to other cities in Italy. I went to ta total of 5 cities around the country so it was a huge help for me.

All the main attractions are really close to you.

Some great restaurants and shops nearby - especially where the opera house is which is literally down the road from the hotel to the left - ask the reception people.

Now the bad points:

Breakfast wasn't great. The croissant was drenched in sweet syrup - way too sweet. The orange juice was from concentrate and it was horrible, had to go for either tea or water every morning. Overall not a 4* hotel standard.

The shower cubicle was terribly small! and the shower curtain keeps sticking to your behind as you try and clean yourself. The hair dryer doesn't dry your hair properly and after a while your hand starts burning where the handle is (plus there is no on and off switch - I had to keep unplugging and replugging which is not safe to say the least)

The wifi is NOT free and it is ridiculously expensive. I paid for 3 days and the network barely reached the first floor where my room was, so it was a total waste of money. Ridiculous! relied on my 3G instead.

In conclusion this hotel should definitely be classed a 3* hotel. I probably wouldn't have been so annoyed and bothered if they gave it the right rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank London_London1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very close to the Termini station, a little walk to the Colloseum, places to eat around, courteous staff... overall a great hotel. We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The staff was great. They gave us a room with a view of the church, and a nice balcony. We had free wifi throughout our stay. The neighbourhood is pretty quiet, just the hotel is in a bylane close to the road, so little noise of the traffic, still which isnt too much. Very relaxing.
The manager at the front desk, who sits during the afternoon and evening time was very helpful, explaining you everything very properly. The breakfast was great. The rooms and the hotel was very clean an dtidy, though the room size was a little small, but it was just the 2 of us, so didn't really bother us.
We started our Italy trip with Rome and our stay here was a pleasant start to it. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: One with a view of the church. Isn't a very great view, but better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namitbhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
La Dea di Roma
La Dea di Roma
#786 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gioberti
Hotel Gioberti
#669 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#565 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Gallia Hotel
Gallia Hotel
#709 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#537 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#159 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore Roma

Property: Hotel Commodore Roma
Address: Via Torino 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#323 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commodore Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Commodore is an elegant 4 star hotel situated in the heart of Rome, near the Termini Train Station, the Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Rome Opera House. It has 60 rooms including single, double and deluxe rooms and triple rooms. The rooms are finely furnished and all equipped with the most modern comforts. Its intentionally retro' atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable. It is strategically located in the heart of Rome and perfect both for business travellers and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Commodore Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Roma Hotel
Commodore Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing