We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aurelia Residence San Pietro
Ranked #116 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Home away in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very Large, extra clean apartment, comfortable bed, good working internet short 10 minute walk to Vatican, restaurants and market close by, nice kitchen and patio, the staff are very helpful, it is located in a nice neighborhood, you can hear train in day but I didn't notice at night, would diffinately recommend for families, nice for parents to have a little space from kids and vice versa, we had the private car service offered from airport which was nice they were waiting there with sign at luggage area, only problem was is, are plane was 45 minutes late, the driver was yelling and talking on the phone all the way to the hotel, I don't know if he was mad at us but he sure seemed mad was a little uncomfortable, maybe just getting a taxi when we got in might have been better since sometimes planes do run late due to bad weather the drive back to airport was very nice with a nice driver and a nice mercedes sedan. Would stay at Aurelia residence when we return thank you for a great stay, Paula at the front desk was the best and helped me with a restuarant reservation, which was much appreciated everything was perfect, Love Rome and its people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello!! thanks for your nice words toward the residence and our service, we are glad that we able to meet you and your daughter, regarding the transfer service sometimes when flights have delay the drivers are wating but they are schedule to have other services, so maybe was pressed by the office to go for the other pick up, but obviusly was not mad at you, taxi can be good or taxi can be really dangerous, this is lucky, because you find outside Fiumicino airport either the legal ones but also the not legal ones, so you have to pay attention in not catching the lastone if not will cost you lot of money, like in all big cities!.Was my pleasure helping with restaurants and other useful information. A big hug for both of you, Best wishes, Paula Estebarena & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    94
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
195
85
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

"In my opinion, the Aurelia Residence is by far the best place to stay in Rome. I was there just a while ago but this is not the first time, I often spent my holiday over there and I feel indeed as in my own home. My apartment was spacious and confortable, as usual, well cleaned and furnished, air conditioned was ok, and this is very important, since it was very hot in Rome.
The staff is very friendly&helpful, they always provided me for all my needs, I had a problem with my baggage and they efficently helped me. Also breakfast staff in the morning, Gennaro and Francesca, are friendly and accomodating, despite I forwarded them a lot of requirements :-), arranging a great buffet in the amazing roof garden.
The location is wonderful, close to the Vatican city, just a nice walk far from the historical centre.
Definitively, one of the best accomodation in Rome!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelangelo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mr Michelangelo, in your short message you could sumerize all our residence services in a perfectly way, thanks a lot for sharing your experience. The most important thing for us is the service, from the breakfast, to the cleaning of the apartments, and aslo the reception/concierge team that is prepared to advice all the guet regarding the best way to visti the attractions and also tips about the events of the moment. When there is a lost of lugagge we feel upset and obviously we try to get in touch with the air company to help organizing the drop of when they found it, when travelling sometimes these things happen and we need to be ready to assist the guest.We know that when you are in Rome you will come back again to our residence so we are really proud to have you as a guest!!. Al our best regards, Paula Estebarena & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had great stay at Aurelia Residence. Simon and team were wonderful. A short walk to St Peter's Basilica and a bus ride to old Rome makes this a great location. The rooms were well equipped and our family of 4 slept very comfortably.There were some very good restaurants nearby also. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mr John, sorry for my delay in answering, holiday's period!! thanks for your time in sharing your experience in our residence, we are really glad that you enjoy it, and you together with your family will be most welcome anytime you decide to come back to Rome. say hello to everyone, Best wishes, Paula Estebarena & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. The apartment was clean and large and the airconditioning in the bedroom worked great. The beds were good and there was an outside eating area in the shade as well. The decor is a bit old-school, but I imagine this is par for the course for this type of residence. Very helpfull staff. The breakfast was simple Italian setup and good. Drawback is the location - it is located on a busy street with no sidewalk a bit far from the metro. Leaving and entering the premises by foot can be nerve racking with children in tow.

Room Tip: avoid taking metro from termini - the station is a bit far. we were on the ground floor which provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello, thanks for sharing your holiday with other travellers. We are glad that you liked the residence, we understand that having a sidewalk only in one side of the road makes not easy to move around with kids, that's why since many years we are dealing with the roman government to make it safer!!!.
Hope that mabe when you come back you wil stay with us again and maybe the situation changed. We have Ottoviano metro station at 20 minutes walk that's why we suggest more buses or the train in St. Peters train station, there is a train every half an hour to Termini station and once you are in the train the ride takes 18 minutes.
Thanks again, Best regards, Paula Estebarena & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

There is an old saying, "Beauty is in the eye of the beholder," and I suppose it must apply to Aurelia Residence San Pietro as this accommodation has numerous positive reviews on TripAdvisor. Regrettably, after arriving at the apartment (which I had perceived before arriving as being like a vacation condo) earlier this month with a prepaid reservation for 3 nights, my family insisted upon finding another place. We stayed at a total of 7 hotels during our trip to Europe and had no problems with any other facility.

Please read the websites associated with Aurelia Residence San Pietro carefully and thoroughly, even though all the information provided may not be accurate, and know the following BEFORE you book:
1) There is no 24-hour reception at this facility. You will be greeted by Paula or another receptionist and given two sets of keys. The main set includes a key for the gate to the facility, a key for the building, a key for the individual apartment, and a key for the garage. There may be another key for the breakfast area...it's hard to remember with so many. You will be shown a large cabinet just inside the entrance to the building that holds the circuit breakers for the building, with which you need to be familiar if power goes out as there will be no one around to help you all through the night.
2) These apartments only have air-conditioning in the bedrooms, so if any of you are sleeping on sofa beds outside of the bedrooms or you want to relax in the living areas, you will do so without air-conditioning.
3) The furnishings and decorations were worn and dated in both the apartment as well as the lobby, and there was no sense of that clean and fresh feeling one hopes to have in accommodations except perhaps for the towels lying on top of the older-looking bedspreads. The kitchen and dining areas were not attractive. One of my children went into the bathroom and saw a teeny tiny shower (I never got that far as I was already telling Paula that the facility was not what we were expecting).
4) It is dangerous to try to catch a taxi outside the gate of the complex, which is situated on a sloped road. There is no sidewalk, and the cars go by very fast.

At the time of our reservation for this apartment, its own website advertised the facility as a "holiday luxury residence" that had been "recently refurbished." While trying to get my payment refunded, the manager insisted that Aurelia Residence San Pietro does not advertise the facility with the above quoted qualities. When I emailed the management "copy and paste" examples from the apartment’s website, blame was placed on the marketing company used by the facility for making the less-than-accurate statements. I was also told that the refurbishment comments applied to various improvements, including the addition of second bathrooms to some of the 2-bedroom units (we had booked a one-bedroom) and faster wi-fi. Somehow the place looked nicer in the professional photos than it appeared in reality. I also relied on the positive reviews posted for Aurelia Residence San Pietro when booking. I was reminded by this experience that everyone comes from a different perspective, including when it comes to evaluating accommodations.

Paula kindly shared her cell phone with us and allowed us to use the manager's computer (there are no public computers at this facility) in order to help us find another place; for this, my family will always be grateful to her. She also stated that she might be able to offer us a larger unit with air-conditioning in both bedrooms, but this facility was just too run-down with too many issues for us to consider staying. Paula tries hard to present Aurelia Residence San Pietro in its best light, and she is a loyal and dedicated employee; however, the deficiencies of the apartment accommodations remain despite her positive customer service.

The bottom line is that this is a worn-down facility without 24-hour reception. I tried repeatedly and without success to have my prepayment refunded by both Orbitz and the management at Aurelia Residence San Pietro; Orbitz will NOT issue a refund unless approved by the hotel/apartment facility, and Aurelia refused every request for refund. If you are considering staying at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, please do not prepay for a reservation. My family lost almost $900 on this booking; hopefully, other travelers will benefit from our experience and not pay-in-advance. You will have NO recourse in getting your money back if you decide this apartment is unsatisfactory upon arrival.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DelmarSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Madam, we were expecting your review as you have already told by email that you would have done it. The old saying that you used it is true and you can apply not only for us but also for everything in life!. But there are many objective issues that make our residence also a very nice one.
I remember you telling me that it was your mistake booking our residence because you wanted a 4 or 5 star hotel, so we do not understand why you chose to book an apartment. It is normal that all the things you will see in our residence won't be what you expected because we are not the type of place that you were looking for.
Having pre payments is not a way of payment made up by our residence or by the agency online you booked through, it is a procedure of booking that exists also for many other categories of business in order to have a good deal. So you can suggest our future guests not to come with a pre paid booking and we can say to them that we have many different ways to book at the Aurelia Residence and they can choose in between the different terms and conditions and if they decide to prepaid is because they really know what they are booking, we do not sell what we do not have, and they won’t regret to be our guest.
All the services we offered are written not only in our website but in all the different agencies on line and tour operators, we do not say that we offer one thing and you find another one. All our potential guests ( or almost all as per your experience) when coming here know which type of structure they booked, so apartments and not hotel rooms, that the reception is not open 24 hs but we guarantee our best concierge service during the opening hours, that the air conditioning is on the bedrooms, but for example in the one bedroom apartment that you booked few weeks ago we changed the air conditioning machines and we can warranty that it has the potential to fresh also the living room area, we test it. For the other categories is the same. Also because of our comfortable apartment’s sizes, not so easily to find in other same type of accommodations around Rome, our guests appreciate and choose us.
There are different marketing tools and using "holiday luxury residence" on a single page is because we have one of our apartments that is different decorated with other devices and services that can be considered like that, but you did not want to see it, as you said we are not the place for your family so neither our best apartment would've been fine for you.
The pictures published are the real ones, there is not photo shop and thanks to social media now you will find lots of pictures done by the same guests, the point always goes to the fact that you did not like our residence for your reasons and everything you will see will be negative, but what is negative for you can be positive for other people. Many guests like to have privacy and independence and they find our residence like their home in Rome also if they have to manage four different keys that are really different in between by color and size to recognize them without problems, because they find our Roof Garden a beautiful place to enjoy breakfast with St. Peter's Basilica view and many other things…
We understand that Via Aurelia is not an easy road like many other roads in Rome. , it has sidewalk in front of the residence's gate, and we are dealing with the roman's government in order to make it safer .Last but not least we have wi fi connection not only in the apartments but in all common areas, that's why we do not think it is needed to have an internet room with a computer for our guests as most of them bring their own smart phone, i pad or tablet, notebook, etc, but for sure we can consider to make a survey to see what our guests think if it is need it or not to have a place with a computer at their disposal, anyway when a guest ask for it when it is essential, like in your case, we give our computer in our back office with pleasure.
I was glad helping you, thanks for your nice words towards me, we think service is one of the most important things in tourism, that's why all the residence staff believe in the product.
Best wishes to you and your family
Paula Estebarena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Aurelia Residence is located just outside the Vatican Walls, walking distance to San Pietro and the Vatican Museum. The hotel is situated in a residential area, it's quiet and relaxing - a solace after a long, busy itinerary in Rome. Bus stations just a block away, good restaurants, laundry place, post office, and Carrefour within the vicinity.

We booked a 1 bedroom unit but we were surprised when we entered - size was big for 2. We had a living room with TV and a comfortable sofa, a big balcony facing the street, kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stove, pretty complete if you want to cook. Bedroom also had a balcony facing the garden, bed & pillows were clean and comfortable. Big cabinets were also provided. Bathroom was spacious and clean.

Breakfast was filling - buffet type. They had cereals, variety of breads, jams, butter, cheese, cold cuts, fruits and pastries. Sandwiches were also served. But what we miss is the coffee! We love the freshly brewed coffee or Cappuccino.

The superb thing in this hotel is the service - two thumbs up. Even before we arrived, they were already coordinating with us through email details of our arrival to make sure that everything will be in place since we will check-in on a Good Friday. We were welcomed by Rafaello, very friendly and accommodating person. He helped us with our heavy luggages, accompanied us to our room, briefed us on the available room amenities. He helped us find our way in Rome - gave us tips & directions around Vatican & Rome, bus numbers we needed to remember, taxi numbers. He also recommended good restaurants, assisted us in booking our day tours.

We had a very pleasant stay in Aurelia, and we intend to book here again when we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina Felize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mrs Regina, hello!! thanks a lot for dedicating some minutes to share your experience!, We are gratefull of all the words and descriptions you wrote regarding us, you made us really happy and will be a pleasure to have you again as guests. Gennaro and Francesca will be waiting for you with their Capuccinos, Raffaele will welcome you again ( or maybe also Simone), for us is important that all our guests learn to move around and find all the places depending their needs, get to now the city from the neighbourd on is like a must to have an unforgetable stay in Rome, from the basic things to the important ones such as the attractions in Rome. Best wishes from Paula & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
711 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you had enough of small hotel rooms, or if you're traveling with children, this is the place for you.
We got a great suite on the 2nd floor [they've got an elevator]. The Aurelia Residence is located in a nice area, a short walk to San Pietro Cathedral. You can walk to the city or use the busses nearby that will take you to Piazza Venezia, or other locations. The apartment we booked has 1 bedroom and 1 living room-in which you can have 3 single beds. The kitchen has a 4 fire stove, a microwave oven, a dishwasher, and all the cooking utilities. The refrigerator was good to keep the cold drinks, and the cakes we bought for our afternoon break. The bathroom has a massage showerhead, which was great. We had a huge balcony facing the garden, with a table and 2 garden chairs. From each room/kitchen you could enter the balcony. The breakfast on the roof terrace, was a great one in European standarts. Nice selection of cereals, 3-4 kinds of pastry, lots of fruits. Some nice sandwiches with cheese and ham. Bread, butter, jam. the best of all was the coffee. The Cappuccino was excellent and so was the macchiato!
The added value of the residence is the reception staff. They replied to all my Emails quickly, and answered any questions that I had prior my arrival. We came late at night, it was a quick check-inn. They showed us to our suite and explain all there is to know about it. Paula and the rest of the staff were very helpful with all we needed [booking a taxi, getting directions etc.] This is going to be my hotel in Rome!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Sharon!! Amazing how you described all our residence mainly the apartment, we really enjoyed meeting you, you are an special lady, obviously after all the chocolates you brought us we will put on weight .. ( ha ha ha) but we highly want to thank you for spoling us. For us it is an honor that anytime you will be in Rome you will come back to our residence, keep in touch, say nello to your husband! Warmest regards, Paula Estebarena & staff. Raffaele came back from his holiday and thanks you too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#113 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#60 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#33 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Michelangelo
#146 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#366 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelia Residence San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelia Residence San Pietro

Property: Aurelia Residence San Pietro
Address: Via Aurelia 145, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Rome
#66 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#169 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelia Residence San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelia Residence San Pietro can be your home in Rome, with its 25 apartments with three different sizes is the ideal place for families but also for couples who like to have space, either for leisure and for business. In not more than 8 minutes walking you will be in Saint Peter's Basilica and Square, one of the most important attractions of the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurelia Residence San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelia Residence San Pietro Hotel Rome
Aurelia Residence San Pietro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing