We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aurelia Residence San Pietro
Ranked #116 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, average stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived in Rome with high expectations after reading the great reviews on here but things didnt work out that way! I had email correspondence with the hotel prior to our stay to organize a taxi transfer from the airport to the hotel which I was assured was all arranged. When we arrived at the airport we waited for an hour and no taxi showed up for us!!! We ended up having to find an alternative means of getting to the apartments which as you can imagine was very stressful arriving in a country we had never been to before having expected everything to run smoothly. We arrived eventually and headed to reception where we confronted staff about our no show taxi. They hotel was not very sympathetic and simply said it had been their mistake and that they had forgotten this arrangement. We were then shown to our apartment which was on the ground floor. It was very clean, had everything we needed. However it was extremely noisy, both to the front and back where there was a busy road and railway line...literally 10-20 feet away?! The bedding I also found uncomfortable, the blanket was rough and itchy and didn't smell great.

Not all bad though...The breakfast was good and you can eat as much as you need. The location isfantastic just a short walk to the Vatican. Gennaro was very helpful (he helps with the breakfast and gave us a taxi ride back to the airport which was appreciated after the disaster with the arrival. He's a bit cheaper too)

The hotel has a nice rooftop to sit up in which we did on our last day. We liked staying in an apartment where we could make food rather than eat out every day so this was a good point for the hotel.

Overall we would not stay here if we ever returned, the location was just too noisy and leaving us stranded really got our holiday off to a stressful start. Unacceptable for us.

Room Tip: ground floor apartments may be noisier than others, maybe its not as noisy in other apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Mrs Rebecca,
We can understand how upset you felt when you arrived at the airport two months ago and you did not find the driver, this kind of things in high season in tourism business can happen, normally a person makes mistakes when working, if you do not work or you do not do anything nothing will happen then, I do not want to justify neither our staff nor the transfer agency company, we are not used to say who is the guilty to the guests when these things happen because cannot change the situation anyway as it is already done, and also you could've always called us at that moment so we could've tried to check what happened to the driver. So for sure we apologize for the inconvinient, as we did personally also, we tried to offer all our assistance while your stay in Rome and as you mentioned Gennaro, one of our colleagues, took you back to the airport with a convinient fee, so like this we thought to offer you a good service after your experience upon arrival.
Regarding the ground floor apartment we can understand that not all people prefer it, so if you would've inform us that you weren't comfortable I am positive that we would've offer you to change apartment, we always try to make happy all our guests, solving problems and not causing them. For sure we know that we are on a road as in big cities like Rome, and also a railway passing nearby, the noises are subjective so obviously we respect your opinion.
So at this point I can only wish you good luck in your future trips around the world!. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    94
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
195
85
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was an amazing week ,spend on the top of the year with my Family in Aurelia Residence San Pietro.We are coming from Bulgaria and we are third time on holiday in Rome,and this time,I can say was the most amazing time spent in Rome.The apartment(Vivaldi) was high level comfortable, easy to access and everything was just perfect.Raffaele on reception is the best guy we met in Rome,always smile and helpful on 100%.
Very thankful for all the staff of Aurelia Residence and see you again in 2013.All the best!!!
Boyadzhiyski Family!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richie1962182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Boyadzhiyski Family,
hello, thanks for your nice words towards our residence and our staff, we really appreciate that you had a great time in Rome with us. Also if it is winter time Rome in Christmas and New years Eve is really charming!, All our best wishes again for a fantastic 2013 and why not as you wrote to see you again soon!!!! Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family of four stayed in a two bedroom apartment at Aurelia Residence for six nights.
The staff where wonderful, the apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable.
Dishwasher / fridge / cook top / tv with SKY...etc
Beds was very comfortable with airconditioning and central heating.
Location is 5 mins to the Vatican and easy walk into Rome (30 mins max)
Breakfast was delicious and the staff where always there to help or make a fresh coffee/tea etc
The railway line does pass nearby but did not worry us at night.
Felt secure and there is great restaurants and bar, bank, supermarket, train station, bus all nearby.
recommend anytime
My family of four stayed in a two bedroom apartment at Aurelia Residence for six nights.
The staff where wonderful, the apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable.
Dishwasher/fridge/cooktop/tv with SKY...etc
Beds was very comfortable with airconditioning and central heating.
Location is 5 mins to the Vatican and eay walk into Rome (30 mins max)
Breakfast was delicous and the staff where always there to help or make a fresh coffee/tea etc
The railway line does pass nearby but did not worry us at night.
Felt secure and there is great restaraunts and bar, bank, supermarket, train station, bus all neaby.
recommend anytime

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello Mr Tim, thanks for your nice message, we are happy that you enjoyed the stay with us, coming from Australia is a long way so it is important that you can feel safe and like as home in a foreign country, and this is what we try to transmit while our guest is in the residence. As you said Vatican neighbourdhood has lots of facilities so allows to satisfy most of the tourists needs.!
Please say hello to your nice family and keep in touch!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My daughter and I arrived at Aurelia Residence for a 10 day holiday from Australia and after a terrible start to our holiday were extremely pleased when we arrived at our apartment. We had a two bedroom apartment which was absolutely spotless, and had everything we needed. The bedrooms were on the larger size and the living and dining, kitchen area were very spacious.
I was a bit worried after booking on the internet that the premises would be quite some distance from the Vatican, but it really is only a 7-10 minute walk, and even closer for public transport.
The breakfast was great, and Gennaro does make the best coffee, cappuccino and latte in Rome.
Paola, Raffaele, and Ferdinand are really amongst the best staff we have ever encountered at a hotel/apartment.
Raffaele showing us the best bus routes to take to attractions and even googling the site to show us what landmarks to look out for at each bus stop. We had a minor problem with the key to the apartment, which i think was due to my being travel weary and Ferdinand could not have been kinder to an overtired middle aged woman. Paola, even went beyond normal staff duties and brought in her own luggage scales, so that we could weigh our suitcases before getting to the airport. Such kind people, and really really appreciated by my daughter and I.
When any of my friends or relatives decide to visit Rome I would highly recommend this apartment complex.
Sometimes the trains are a little noisy, however i believe the management are looking into solving this problem with double glazing etc. This certainly did not detract from our visit at all, but thought that travellers may need to know about this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnfullgrabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Lynn, hello how nice to receive your message, sorry for the delay in answering, we hope that you had a very nice Christmas time!!! Your words feel us of joy and keep on giving us strengh to keep on doing our job the best as we can!!! Was really nice meeting you and spend so many days together trying to advice you the best things to do while your stay in Rome. We really hope that next time you will be planning to come to Rome your husband will be able to come also.
Take care and thanks a lot! say hello to your daughter also, Best wishes, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The Residence by far is the best place to stay in Rome. The studio was the smallest of all the rooms but by far was the size of two standard hotel rooms in Europe. The kitchen was modern with a stove dishwasher microwave refrigerator and everything you need to enjoy great meal. The bathrooms are beautiful remodeled. The rooms are comfortable with classic Italian style and that was just the studio apartments the others are quite larger and ever more amazing. You are so close to the Vatican you hear church bells ring. The best part was the amazing staff Raffaele, Paola, and Ferdinand amazing they treat you like an Ambassador. Gennaro was great he even got us tickets to see the Pope on Wednesday that was amazing! Everyone treats you like family. This was such an amazing place.I come to Italy quite frequently to visit family and won't stay anywhere else. This is a must experience residence. Grazie
Paolo DeFonseca

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs De Fonseca, hello!!! with this kind of message you spoile us!!! We are honor to know that anytime you will come back to Rome you will stay in our residence, our guests are the most important value of the residence that's why we think that we need to take care of them with white gloves, like a precious jewel, each unique in the world. You have very nice humour so everytime that we share with you was really funny for all of us. The studio is just one double bedroom with little kitchennette and bathroom but as you mentioned we have also apartments with different sizes in order to adapt all the different needs of our travellers. Thanks a lot for your words, we will email you for Christmas wishes, You know how to find us... :-))) Best regards, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Realy nice place, great morning meal - ekselent service awesome staff - extremly clean - pritty close to everything and we are deffently coming back - properly next year with the the family - this time we wont se it all though since it´s too much to handle at once

Room Tip: If many the vivaldi de lux
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raaballe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for your nice message, we are happy that you enojyed the stay in our residence and e agree that you cannot visit Rome only in few days, this magic city has many art and historic places to discover, and for sure we are able to assist you whenever you decide to come back with your family, as you could see our staff is well prepared in order to help you at 360° before and during the entire stay.!! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We moved to Aurelia Residence for the latter half of our trip to Rome in October, intending to stay five nights. The apartment was just right for two of us -- spacious and well-outfitted with everything to really settle in for our stay. The location close to St. Peter's was fabulous -- even more so when we finally figured out Rome's bus system. We could get anywhere in the city by walking to multiple bus stops just a few blocks away. The restaurant recommendations did not disappoint, particularly La Caletta and i Quattro Mori. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The best part was the cappuccino made to order under Gennaro's watchful eye. But as others have said, it's the Aurelia hosts who made our stay a stand-out experience. Thanks to Hurricane Sandy, our five-night stay turned into ten because of air travel disruptions in the US. This is where Raffaele, Paola, and Ferdinand really shone. They were so kind and accommodating, moving other bookings around so that we could stay in our apartment and keeping us in good spirits. They made an unexpected experience more than enjoyable -- they made it truly memorable in a very good way. Aurelia is a terrific option for travelers who like a taste of local living while being close the great sights in Rome, with some the best hospitality we have enjoyed in our three decades of travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2chance0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello, how nice to see that finally you arrived safe home, we were glad that you had more days to enjoy with us but we were also sorry at the same time for the Sandy storm that damaged lots of places. You are a great couple, we are the one lucky that we had the opportunity to meet you.! Your words are real special and touch our hearts, the word thank you is not enough to describe how we feel. It will be nice to see you again whenever you decide to come back to Rome.! Take care, and Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#113 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#60 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#33 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Michelangelo
#146 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#366 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelia Residence San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelia Residence San Pietro

Property: Aurelia Residence San Pietro
Address: Via Aurelia 145, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Rome
#66 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#169 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelia Residence San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelia Residence San Pietro can be your home in Rome, with its 25 apartments with three different sizes is the ideal place for families but also for couples who like to have space, either for leisure and for business. In not more than 8 minutes walking you will be in Saint Peter's Basilica and Square, one of the most important attractions of the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurelia Residence San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelia Residence San Pietro Hotel Rome
Aurelia Residence San Pietro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing