We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Accommodation Planet 29
Ranked #546 of 1,070 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed here for one night, and thankfully that's all it was. We booked it last minute so we didn't have a lot of choices, so lesson learned. The location is good - very close to Termini but the place was terrible. First, you have to walk up 4 flights of stairs (if it had been nice this wouldn't have been such a big deal), and second, the place was not the cleanest. The beds seemed clean but the shared bathroom smelled like urine and the shower looked as though it had never been cleaned. The breakfast was terrible - weird packages of tiny melba-type toasts with butter and watered down coffee. If you have other options available - take them!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurelmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
3
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Based on the reviews held on this website I booked Planet 29 in Feb of this year for a holiday in May. I don't know what happened to the place between then and now but I would not recommend this place to anyone. After the first night we were asked to move rooms , and we obliged.... big mistake. the room we are in is about 8 ft x 8 ft. no decoration on the walls . These are scuff marked and have plaster gouged out of them. The bathroom has mould on the walls and if you shower the basin overflows. The showerhead does not work and sprays out at one point only. The rooms are kept clean by the staff and the bed made for you. For 60 quid per night I have had better and althoughy Rome is supposed to be pricey ( its not really compared to any other city ) I think the extra cost for a decent Hotel could be worth it. Walking around the city we have come across some well presented hotels which are reasonabley priced.

  • Liked — By the city
  • Disliked — The indifference, the shabbiness, the lack of decent bathroom facilities etc etc
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LpoolKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

Quite simple conditions, but if you only need perfect cleanliness, a comfortable bed and helpful personnel (and really nothing more), you will be satisfied.
The rate was relatively fair by local standards, however it is less the decentness of the rate, but rather the excessiveness of the local average price that makes this rate appear fair.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2006

I just got back from Rome a couple of days ago. I still can't believe just how beautiful Rome is.
We stayed at a cheap place near Termini station.We really didn't expect that much from this hotel, giving the low prices ( we payed 80 euro for a double with ensuite facilities).
But we were very surprised when we got there. The reception is on the first floor and so was our room ( we were lucky cause they have 5 floors and no elevator). The girl at the reception was very nice and helpful. She gave us a free map and showed us where to go and answered all of our MANY questions ( this was our first time in Italy). We were then showed to our room. We were pretty impressed by the beautiful paintings and sculptures that were in the room and in the reception ( it seems that the owner, his wife and his doughter are all artists and made all the sculptures and paintings themselves).
The room was really clean and so was the bathroom.
There was no breakfast included, but we didn't mind that. Most little hotels charge you an extra 10 euro for a 1,50 euro breakfast. No TV either, but that wasn't a problem as we were most of the time out visiting the many great places.
The location was great.There's a fabulous restaurant just in front called "La Famiglia " where we had dinner every night. There's also a supermarket, a lot of bars and a few shops.
If I come back to Rome I'll surely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank i_lizie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

We returned today from 2 nights staying in the self catering accommodation that Planet 29 offers. Its on the fifth floor of their building but we were warned about this and did not bring too much luggage. Elisa, from Planet 29, was most helpful answering all my emails very efficiently. The accommodation was an easy 3 min walk from the Termini station - fantastic. From the accommodation we were able to walk to all the tourist sites and never needed to travel by bus or metro. The accommodation was basic - kitchen area, sofa, table, bed (in the same room, however it was very large and most comfortable) and then separate bathroom. There was a tiny terrace but we didn't use it.
For a honeymoon this wouldn't be suitable, but for those looking at well-priced accommodation in a great location, I think it is ideal. Although it wasn't grand, it suited us perfectly as we were out all day and night, touring and eating at wonderful restaurants - we would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
8 Thank BunnyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2006

Very friendly staff. We arrived early and the staff is excellent at accomodating us. They also switched on the heat immediately upon our requests when the spring night can still be chilling sometimes. The location of the place is great, with SIR store just block away for you to get some supplies. However, no elevators so could be problematic if you are not at the floor of the reception. Nice kebab and pizza place on the main road to the Termini. Quality and inexpensive restaurants just two blocks away (ask the reception staff about location). The bathroom is a bit old but it is clean. The room is not carpetted but it is clean with just the furnitures you need. The window closes well. We have a room on the same floor as the reception and it faces the cafe opposite to the street. It's occassionally noisy at night with people playing instruments and singing till about 11 or so. Afterall, at this Eternal City, it is really hard to find a place with this type of location and amenities at this price. Reasonabe value for price and I will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hacksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

The room was sufficient and we had a nice view of the cafe opposite from our room. The place is well kept and clean and the toilet is sufficient as well.

Location was very accessible from termini if you are not willing to pay for a cab for your luggage.

Service was so-so, no breakfast and be aware that if your room is on the 5th floor, you have to carry your luggage up the stairs. No internet connection and no wireless connection to tap either.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#404 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,286 of 3,621 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#389 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#286 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accommodation Planet 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accommodation Planet 29

Property: Accommodation Planet 29
Address: Via Gaeta 29, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #546 of 1,070 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Accommodation Planet 29 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Accommodation Planet 29 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accommodation Planet 29 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing