We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Ranked #155 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff at this hotel really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and care for our needs and wants. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The bathroom was smaller and the standup shower may be a tight fit for a larger person. No air conditioning but the open windows provided a gentle breeze at night. We were treated each morning to a wonderful array of fresh breakfast foods. The dining room staff were so pleasant and polite.
The hotel is conveniently located near many restaurants and shopping opportunities. A large market containing a wide variety of foods, wine and other items is just around the corner. It is also a short walk to the Vatican. A walk of about half an hour will get you to attractions such as the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain.
The front desk clerk was more than friendly and helpful. He went above and beyond the call of duty!!! We felt like we knew him as a friend. If ever in Rome, this is a perfect place to stay. We will definitely book there when we return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the Best Western Hotel Spring House.
we appreciate the fact that you write this kind review on Tripadvisor for us sharing your experience also with the other customers.
we are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and that our staff make it be pleasant.
we try to make fill our guest at home striving to make it be an unforgettable stay; is part of our character our friendliness, hospitality . The smile makes the day more pleasant and makes you feel at home and reading this review we are sure that with our efforts centered our objectives.
Undoubtedly be a hotel near the Vatican to enable our guests do not miss one of the most beautiful attractions of our city: St. Peter Basilica and the Vatican Museum with the Sistine Chappel and I hope that you have enjoyed it. Moreover all became more comfortable in our area with the presence of numerous restaurants, shops,supermarket and pharmacies that meet every need.

We want to thank you again for this positive post and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    529
    137
    30
    24
See reviews for
521
325
61
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I chose this hotel on the basis of its location (right next to the Vatican), the excellent Tripadvisor reviews & the reasonable price. The location really is good if you want be in the vatican area. There are loads of shops nearby, good restaurants & it is about 10 mins walk to a Metro station. The hotel is basic with no frills which is what you would expect of a Best Western. We had one of the split level rooms which was very nice. The bathroom was excellent with a massive bath tub. A friend who came with us had a room with a double bed & an en suite that was adequate in every way. The staff are excellent & were very helpful with everything we needed. The breakfast is fine with something for everybody & we set ourselves up for a day's tramping each day on the bacon & eggs!! The Tripadvisor reviews I read highly recommended a local restaurant called La Rusticha which was just round the corner about 10 mins easy walk. We went there 3 times & it was excellent & very reasonable in cost. What we saw was that a lot of locals particularly family groups used it which has to be a good sign. The food was great & the staff were brilliant, so helpful. Loads of other restaurants close by but none better than this.
I have no criticisms as the hotel was exactly what we expected. Read up your Tripadvisor reviews & don't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim_Maloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

we appreciate the fact that you write this kind review on Tripadvisor for us sharing your experience also with the other customers.We are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and that our staff make it be pleasant.we try to make fill our guest at home striving to make it be an unforgettable stay.
The goal of our work, each one in its role, is turn a stay in the “eternal city” into an unforgettable time and a desire come true; for that reason we are very proud to know that with you our goal was reached.Kindness and professionalism of our staff combined with good products used are elements on which we work to improve our quality and make it every day better.
I'm glad you had the opportunity to get an upgrade in the Junior Suite room.
Undoubtedly be a hotel near the Vatican to enable our guests do not miss one of the most beautiful attractions of our city: St. Peter Basilica and the Vatican Museum with the Sistine Chappel and I hope that you have enjoyed it.Moreover the proximity to the metro line has allowed you to reach the hystorical city center in a few minutes and a lot of very good and cheeper restaurant, a lot of shop pharmacies etc. around our hotel make this area very served.

Hoping to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
254 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is above par compared to other European hotels. It's not near the train station, but is conveniently located near a metro stop and the Vatican. We were greeted by the concierge and treated with a cocktail upon arrival. The room was quite large for a European hotel room and even had a small balcony. A delicious breakfast was included with our hotel stay. The room was clean and noise was minimal. It's located near many wonderful restaurants as well. I would definitely plan on staying in the hotel again should we visit Rome again!

Room Tip: Choose a room not on the main floor and facing the street so that you can enjoy a balcony view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

we appreciate the fact that you write this kind review on Tripadvisor for us sharing your experience also with the other customers.
we are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and that our staff make it be pleasant.
we try to make fill our guest at home striving to make it be an unforgettable stay.
we are happy that our hotel has been able to exceed your expectations with a free welcome drik at your arrival, a very comfortable and silent room. Welcome our guest and turn our guest's vacation into a dream is our daily work and certainly with this kind review we hit all our targets: welcome, service and coutesy.

We hope to welcome you again!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a great experience at the Spring House. It is exceptionally clean and the staff was very friendly. My only real complaint was that as a family of 4 we requested a quadruple. That came with 2 twin beds and a pull out sofa. The pull out sofa was dreadful, but since we have a 14 year old son and a 10 year old daughter, there was no way we could leave them to the pull out. Thus, my husband and I shared it for the first couple of nights. By the third night my son moved to sleeping on the floor, so I could have his bed. This was a big frustration for all of us. The breakfast was wonderful every day and we loved having cappuccino in the morning. Great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christina3308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

let me start by thanking you for sharing your experience at the Spring House hotel with other travellers!
Your opinion is very important to us, since it helps to improve the service given day by day.

I am so pleased that you appreciated our staff and the quality of the services offered!
Concerning the room issue, I am sorry that it was not comfortable for you but, as we always remind to our guests, front desk staff is at your complete disposal 24 hours per day; if we knew that, it would have been a pleasure to show you another one which could be better for you.

In spite of this, I understand that you had a great experience with us, that's why I wish to host you again as soon as possible!

I remain at your complete disposal for any further information,

Kind regards,
Paola Pistolesi,
Customer Care Specialist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, NY
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We visited Rome for a night before a cruise. If you're going to see the Vatican on your trip, this is a perfect location as its about a 2-3 minute walk. There is also a Metro station within a 4-5 minute walk. I highly recommend the Metro as its very easy to use and much cheaper than taxi's. There are stops at the Spanish steps and the Coliseum. The breakfast in the morning was great and had plenty to choose from. Also, the staff spoke English very well and were very helpful with all requests and questions. The rooms are very small,but comfortable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing us
all our staff thank you for posting this kind review on Tripadvisor.
reading this review we are sure that with our efforts centered our objectives.
we are happy that our Hotel have met your expectations.
undoubtedly be a hotel near the Vatican to enable our guests do not miss one of the most beautiful attractions of our city: St. Peter Basilica and the Vatican Museum with the Sistine Chappel and I hope that you have enjoyed it.I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It 's important to start the day. One of our strengths are the fresh products arriving daily.next time do not miss your chance to ask room service to enjoy your breakfast comfortably in your room

We hope to be your choice again!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington,DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This excellent hotel is near the Vatican and the Rome Metro which enabled me to see the sites without hiring a taxi. The hotel staff was very extraordinarily helpful.
I am a single woman and found the single room small, but adequate and reasonably priced (enabling me to pay as a single, rather than for a double bed as is usual.)
The very generous breakfast buffet is included in the price of the room, as is free access to the internet in the lobby computers. The well-supplied refrigerator in the rooms is also free, which is, in my experience, a completely unusual perk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for choosing The Best Western Hotel Spring House
we appreciate the fact that you write this kind review on Tripadvisor for us sharing your experience also with the other customers.Reading this review we are sure that with our efforts centered our objectives.
It 's very important for us to get feedback because it helps us to focus on our strengths and our weaknesses and to understand if our efforts were successful. I understand that with you our goals have been reached.
If we had know that for you the single room was too small we would shown you another tipology of room. I'm sorry that you had not the opportunity to get an upgrade for a little extra charge. it is a pleasure for us to offer superior room typology when it's available.
undoubtedly be a hotel near the Vatican to enable our guests do not miss one of the most beautiful attractions of our city: St. Peter Basilica and the Vatican Museum with the Sistine Chappel and I hope that you have enjoyed it.

We hope to welcome you in a future vaction in Rome!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of Oct. prior to a Mediteranian cruise. e chose it because of the close proximity to the Vatican. It is literally only a 5min. walk away. Also close to a metro station. We knew before we arrived that we'd be unable to get into our room but the staff kindly stored our luggage, gave us a map of Rome and we were off for the day. We had booked a superior room which was very roomy and spotlessly clean. It was at the back of the building so no view but that was ok with us as we were only sleeping there and it meant we could open the window and not be bothered by traffic noises. The bathroom was a bit small and the shower was tiny by North American standards but the towels were the biggest and fluffiest of any I've seen in any other hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was varied. Would we stay here again? Absolutely and we would certainly recommend it to our friends.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

all the staff and I wish to thank you very much for your kind words and hopeyou'll be our guest again soon!

Kind regards,
Paola Pistolesi,
Customer care Specialist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#60 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Hearth Hotel
#100 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#33 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#146 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Spring House

Property: Best Western Hotel Spring House
Address: Via Mocenigo 7, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Rome
#244 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Spring House 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location in the center of Rome, walking distance to the Vatican, Saint Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and much more of historical Rome,international standard of quality and Italian hospitality are what make up an unforgettable stay in Rome. The Best Western Spring House's recently renewed and renovated style give you the ultimate "home away from home" experience, whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Spring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing