We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How are you at roulette?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Ranked #149 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
phoenix
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“How are you at roulette?”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We rented 2 rooms at the hotel with 2 people in each room and the same price for both. I checked into one room and found it to be very compact, as in postage stamp size. There was barely room to walk around the bed and the bathroom was small enough that it was hard to move in the shower or use the other facilities. Everything was micro-sized, right down to the room safe that was so small that it couldn't fit a small laptop. I was therefore quite surprised when I visited the other people in my party and they were in a much larger room. They had a balcony outside, we had a window. Their room was much larger, as was their bathroom (which included a window). They had a large safe where I did store my computer, too. When we left our room keys at the desk to go out, we were asked what we thought of the 2 rooms. I responded that I felt like we had gotten one and a half rooms, to which the desk clerk replied that some rooms are small based on "availability".

The staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice. Although close to the Vatican, the area is somewhat run down and not picturesque, especially the local metro station which can get very sketchy at dark. I would probably opt for a hotel with more standard room sizes guaranteed at booking and in a more tourist friendly area, but this was adequate if it is your best option.

Room Tip: State that you want a room with an outside balcony, maybe that will guarantee you don't get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjmPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

first of all thanks for taking the time to inform us about your stay in our hotel. All reviews, positive and negative, help us to understand what we need to improve.

I'm sorry to know that for you that the room was small. Our rooms meet the standard measures established in Italy and the room that is assigned to you is exactly what you have booked. If you noticed any differences between your room and that your friend has had is not because the dimensions are based on availability. Each guest is assigned the room corresponding to the reservation and when you can, that is, subject to availability, it is a pleasure for us to assign a larger room (this is based on availability). Your friend had a larger room with a balcony because it was only one that we had available but being a superior tipology it was considered a free upgrade. The balcony is not guaranteed in any reservation for a standard room as it is written clearly on line because it is another type of room but it is a pleasure to give it if it is still available.
I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed at all this area. Is enjoyed by many because it is close to the Vatican, full of shops of all kinds (including major brands), restaurants, pharmacies and supermarkets and two metro stations that are closed at night and during the day very controlled both by staff and by CCTV cameras.

I hope that in the future you will return to us to give us the opportunity to make you live a better stay

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    531
    138
    31
    24
See reviews for
527
329
61
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable,,, nice bathroom. View out to the back of the builiding was unimpressive. Also, even though we ran the A/C, the room was warm. Pleasant and helpful desk staff.
Very convenient to Vatican Museum and the neighborhood is pleasant for a stroll and a meal.
But NOT worth the 179 Euros/night that we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
dear customer,

Let me begin by thanking you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
We are glad that you have had a good stay in our hotel. A good rest is definitely an important element during a vacation and I am happy to know that you enjoyed our clean rooms with comfortable beds with the possibility to choose the type of pillow that best suits your needs.
Surely, be near the Vatican is a source of pride for us and for our guests is a comfort together with the proximity to the metro, a lot of fast-food restaurants, supermarkets and shops of all kinds. Here nothing is missing!
From your comment you say that you enjoyed your room, the friendliness of the staff, and the area, but also say that the value for the price paid is not high for you. Please let us know what you did not liked. This will give us the opportunity to improve.

To the next time!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is clean, comfortable and in a great location, especially for the Vatican. Breakfast was good, and there was no problem when we asked for a late check out. Countering that however, is that for the price, there are much better places to stay in Rome, where you'll get a lot more value for less money. The atmosphere is a little "industrial" (for want of a better word) and the service very much depended on the individual staff member. We found that it ranged from friendly and helpful most of the time, but extremely unhelpful and quite rude in another. The information/service available for tours and sightseeing etc was also very limited compared to other hotels, but again that may have been the result of an individual staff member.
Shop around is my my advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others your experience.
We are very happy that you enjoyed the room we gave you: equipped by all the comfort and well cleaned. It 'a pleasure to know that you liked our breakfast where we offer products that are fresh and different to satisfy the different tastes of the world. I hope you'll tasted our products typical of Rome that we present on the buffet. I hope you liked them.
We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient to the Vatican but it is not an industrial area on the contrary is an area full of shops of all kinds and many famous brands, full of restaurants of all levels and supermarkets. We have two metro stops within 5 minutes walk, and very near the Vatican Museums.
Our rates, perfectly suited to the type of service offered by a hotel of our quality and our position will vary depending on the type of room and the booked period. There are a lot of typology on which you can choose and there are also numerous offers and promotions for discounts on current rates and I'm sorry that you do not have benefited. The next time do not hesitate to contact us to know all the different opportunities.
Our staff is appreciated by all our guests and it is always an element to receive the best compliments. For this reason it seems strange to understand that not all of our staff had satisfied you. All the staff work daily to achieve the goal of making our guests happy but if you have any suggestions we will be very happy to receive it. This will help us to improve our service.

We hope to welcome you again!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Prior to a 12 night Princess cruise, we decided to spend a few days in Rome, our departure port. We wanted to see the Vatican/Sistine Chapel, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, etc. so our TA recommended the Spring House for its proximity to the Vatican and the subway system. We arrived at maybe 11am, room wouldn't be ready until 3pm. The front desk stored our bags, gave us a map and directions to the Vatican Museum, maybe 3 blocks away. After our tour, we were given the keys to our room, which was maybe 10' x 10', just enough space to edge our way around the bed. The bath was also small, and the shower had corner glass slide doors that opened maybe 20", just enough to step up and slide sidewise through. If I hadn't lost some weight prior to this trip, I might not have made it into the shower and would have looked into the larger "suite" upsell I was offered when checking into the hotel. There was a small but pleasant balcony that offered decent city views. The hotel offers continental breakfast in the room price, and it was a 4 or 5 block walk to the subway (Cipro Station). Plenty of sidewalk restaurants in the area too. We spent almost all our time running around the Vatican and Rome and used the room just for sleeping and showering. It was about an hour's drive to the cruise pier on Sunday.

Room Tip: If you are a large person, consider getting a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

thanks for choosing us for your stay in Rome, thanks for telling your experience in our beautiful facility.
we are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality. The smile is part of our way of being and is nice for us to welcome our guests with lots of availability. Our multilingual staff is very professional, attentive to the needs of every guest, willing to give any kind of information

I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It 's important to start the day. One of our strengths are the fresh products arriving daily. I'm sorry that you did not like our bread: the bread comes fresh from the oven every day!
next time do not miss your chance to ask room service to enjoy your breakfast comfortably in your room

I'm sorry to hear that for you the room was not big enough. The reception is open 24 hours for all your needs. If you have notified, we would have given you a larger room of different type.not always all type of rooms are available but whenever there are it is always a pleasure for us to do a small upgrade.

Looking forward to welcoming again!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Spring House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel was in a prime location - a 2 minute stroll to the entrance to the Vatican Museums, and a leisurely 10 minute walk to St Peter's Square. Cipro Metro Station a very short distance away, for easy connection from Termini Station or indeed to any of the Metro stops in Rome. It was ideal for what we were looking for - access to the Vatican and St Peter's. The price reflected the prime location - there are plenty of similar cheaper hotels in different quarters of the city that would be worth looking at if you're planning on spending the bulk of your time in the historic/forum area. All in all, a pleasant hotel, with English speaking staff. Don't expect any great views - the area is extremely built up and we were looking out on some flat roofs with other hotels/apartments. The views will be obtained around the corner at the Vatican walls! Ultimately, we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, or staying again ourselves.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor - extremely quiet and good wifi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonT9084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting this kind review on Tripadvisor.
reading this review we are sure that with our efforts centered our objectives.

we are happy that our Hotel have met your expectations.
we are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality. The smile is part of our way of being and is nice for us to welcome our guests with lots of availability. Our multilingual staff is very professional, attentive to the needs of every guest, willing to give any kind of information
It's a pleasure for us understand that you enjoyed our Hotel position, near to the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapple and the St. Peter Basilica. This give you the possibility to visit this attraction and don't miss it.
We will continue to work as best as possible in order to continuously improve.

We hope to be your choice again!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Best Western Spring House following a memorable 12-day cruise. There were 8 of us in our party and we wanted to extend our time in Rome to further enjoy all that Rome had to offer.

We needed a place to stay that was (1) centralized, (2) reasonably priced, and (3) direct access to Metro for ease in getting around Rome. BW Spring House met all of our criteria, and gave up all an excellent stay in Rome. The staff were VERY accomodating, and went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was problem free. We were within 5 minutes walking distance to the Vatican, and likewise to the Metro.

I would highly recommend this Best Western, and its staff -- this was the end of our trip, and the memories with stay with us!

Room Tip: For seeing all that Rome offers, you want a location that his central to the sights, affordable, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Customer,

thank you for sharing your memorable experience with us at the Best Western Hotel Spring House.
Our daily goal is to make wonderful and memorable the stay of anyone passing by here and are proud to see that with you, our goal has been fully achieved.
We are very happy to read that the way we work was so well to the point of exceeding your expectations. This helps us to strive every day to achieve increasingly higher goals.
And 'good for us to know that we had participated in the success of your holiday.
Of course, the centrality of our structures , the proximity to the metro, the Basilica of St. Peter makes it much easier to visit the main attractions while saving time.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff at this hotel were great! Many thanks to Riccardo, Paula(spelling) Sergio, Romina & Paolo. Breakfast was good. The hotel was clean our only complaint would be our room was very small but we had a cute little balcony. Close to Vatican Museum and some good and reasonably priced restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liana470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

let me start by thanking you for spending your time for write your review.
Is a pleasure for us know that your stay with us was more than good.
it is a pleasure for us to know that your stay was more than good and we are happy to have helped for an unforgettable holiday.
Thank you for the good opinion you have given to our staff: we are all working very hard every day to make our services suitable to meet every need and make every guest feel at home.
I'm sorry to hear only now that for you the room was not big enough. I remind you that the reception is open 24 hours a day and if we had known, we would have immediately given another room.

Hoping to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Elisabetta Barbaro
Customer Care Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#53 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Hearth Hotel
#96 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#36 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#146 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Spring House

Property: Best Western Hotel Spring House
Address: Via Mocenigo 7, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Rome
#244 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Spring House 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location in the center of Rome, walking distance to the Vatican, Saint Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and much more of historical Rome,international standard of quality and Italian hospitality are what make up an unforgettable stay in Rome. The Best Western Spring House's recently renewed and renovated style give you the ultimate "home away from home" experience, whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Spring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing