We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Reception Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #194 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Reception Staff”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights before a cruise.
We had prebooked the hotel shuttle from the airport to the hotel but it did not turn up as arranged
We were left strandied for about one hour before it turned up after us phoning the hotel to find out what the problem was.
We were very angry when we got to check in as we had paid their fee for this service and asked that it be refunded due to the inconvenience.We were told that the hotel could not refund the fee as the shuttle bus was operated by an outside company and they insisted that this fee would not be refunded.
The staff on reception told us that we would receive free breakfast and upgraded us to a nice room as compensation for the trouble we had received before we checked in.
All the staff we encountered on the reception desk were extremely friendly and very helpful and if we are in Rome again we would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor overlooking the pool are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Les875,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen for Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s before your cruise!

First of all I do apologize for the problem encountered with the Airport Shuttle. We can imagine you disappointment and we therefore apologize for any inconvenience. We have discussed the points you have raised with the Company providing this service. We know they share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and we are confident they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services and they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future

On the other hand I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our Reception Staff.

I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With Best regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    1,048
    431
    146
    54
See reviews for
764
936
88
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel isn't in the best location in Rome, but this didn't affect us because we were on a tour. The facilities at this hotel are excellent, the service is excellent and the meals were also very good. While the decor was a little tired, we had a large room with a large balcony and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Ed W,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are very glad to know that we met your expectations and that you loved the facilities of our Hotel, the comfort of the room, quality of the food.

We are very proud to learn your appreciation about our excellent staff. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

With Best regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here before and after a cruise which left from Cittatavecchia. Check in was a bit slow, but nice piano music from the nearby bar kept us relaxed as we waited for a pressured reception. The "superior" room on the 5th floor was large, quiet with a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was nice and toiletries were generous in size and towels of a good quality. Bathrobe and slippers provided. Coffee/tea making facilities and a mini bar were also in room. We used a private limousine service to get to and from the hotel from the airport, as well as to and from the port which were reliable and more reasonably priced than the hotel could offer. There is a taxi rank within the hotel grounds for short trips. It cost just under €10 to get to the Vatican on a morning and around €12 to return at night - using the "white" taxis. There is a restaurant in the hotel which we used on arrival. Although service was excellent - I found the buffet less than tempting and so had a salad. There are various spa services and an indoor and outdoor pool, which though inviting, we didn't use. For longer stays these would be really useful if doing a lot of sightseeing!!

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and get a superior room. The 5th floor is the top floor and the location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear MargaretB524,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen for Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our Hotel, the comfort of the superior room,

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

Enjoying our food and beverage offer whilst staying at the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s is very much part of the overall experience so we will continue to work hard.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

With Best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend and have no complaints what so ever!!
All staff were friendly & helpful.
The room, restaurants & food were as you would expect them to be. We were so tired on Saturday evening we decided to stay in the hotel and had the buffet dinner followed by a drink in the bar.
My wife took advantage of the spa and had a massage.
The hotel can't do much about its location but the shuttle bus & public transport put the centre of Rome only a short journey away.
Would we visit again? Definitely !!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Dan2802,

Thank you for the great 5-star review and for your feedback!

We are thrilled to hear that we met your expectations and that you loved the friendly and helpful staff who pays attention to the details by providing great service.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The front desk attendant informed us that we were paying for a 4 star hotel when made an inquiry about our travel agent telling us that breakfast was included in the price. However, breakfast was not included for the price, it was an additional 18 Euro per person and that was the discounted price. Was a bit of downgrade from the hotel we non-4 star at stayed in Prague, Czech Republic the week before.

Also, I called and informed housekeeping the day after we arrived for a one week stay that the bathtub was clogged and not draining properly. They said they would send some, that NEVER happened in the 4 Star hotel. When we bought it to the front desk attention, to the same man that had just told us we were paying for a 4 star hotel he just said that was their fault, but we'd have to speak with the travel agent about the breakfast issue. Was a HUGE downgrade from the non-4 star hotel we stayed at in Prague, Czech Republic the week before when I told them the room was too cold for the unseasonably temperature and they sent someone the very next morning to remove the thermostat to turn off the air conditioning.

The indoor and outdoor pool were nice and it was nice for each floor to have a back entrance elevator access so we did not have to walk through the main lobby to access the pools and exercise rooms.

The hotel is not in walking distance to the center of Rome. We had to buy daily bus passes at convenience store to travel back and forth. When we returned after mid-night the gates to the hotel are closed and we needed to ring the buzzer the gain access. I guess that's a good safety feature if the buzzer is manned all night.

Oh and by the end of our stay the red lit up Crowne Plaza sign read roune Plaza as the light of the C went out in the "4 Star Hotel's" sign, laughable, but not when I think about the Price compared to what we got.

As for the room it was a nice size and complimentary water, tea and coffee was nice. As far as a view try to request a pool view if you don't want to see the air conditioning system when you look out balcony.

Room Tip: As far as a view try to request a pool view if you don't want to see the air conditioning system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Keisha B,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor, in which you drew my attention to your experience while guest at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's!

We are sorry to read your concern about the breakfast (we offer rate excluding breakfast and rules are deeply explained during the reservation process, we are sorry for the misunderstanding with your travel agent).

Regarding the bathtub and air conditioning we have discussed the points you raised with our Engineering and Housekeeping and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

Once again we apologize if your stay did not live up to expectations and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Crowne Plaza in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

With kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Coming to a new place and having the travel day so difficult (due to the luggage not making it to italy for two days) the Crowne Plaza was a friendly home away from home.

The front desk staff were especially attentive. They took the time to call the airline multiple times to provide updates on the lost luggage. They made sure I had "incidentals". They gave us directions to find shopping (we were beginning a 2 week vacation - without clothing). They even celebrated with me as the luggage arrived the evening before our departure.

The buffet was very complete. Although some guests may have felt the hot foods were not very hot - it was by no means inedible (I didn't see any empty plates either). There was more than plenty options available. And my coffee cup was regularly filled.

The pianist was lovely. We enjoyed the comfortable lobby area to chat with new friends.

The shuttle provided just the right access to where we wanted to go. In the morning we rode to the Vatican (putting us just a short walk around the corner). In the evening we enjoyed a ride back from the city center where we had enjoyed dinner at two lovely little restaurants.

Being our trip was in the chillier part of the year (late November) we were not able to take advantage of the pool (closed for the season) but the view of the grounds from our 2nd floor balcony was nice. The room was quiet and the beds were comfortable. Plenty of pillow options. Bottled water provided complementary.

The coin in the Trevi Fountain may ensure a return to Rome, the hospitality of the Crowne Plaza St. Peter's Square definitely ensures a repeat stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Tammy G,

Thank you for your beautiful review of Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our service, comfort of the rooms, pianist, breakfast and facilities.

All the team here try their hardest to make it, as you said, "a home away from home."

I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

Kind regards and with renewed thanks.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very inconveniently situated and relies on providing a shuttle bus to get you within reach of the sights. I stayed for three nights at the beginning of November and the room was comfortable, room-service excellent and the food reasonable. There was a pianist who played very loudly and seemingly in only one key. That drove me mad as did the constant queuing at the Reception desk which seemed understaffed for the number of customers who wanted information or help.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Ian F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We are happy to learn that your stay was ok, the room was comfortable, room-service excellent.

On the other hand, we are terribly sorry to learn your problems experienced with Reception desk staff, that judging with many reviews they are always nice and professional and, even when overburdened and busy, they do their utmost to satisfy the guests’ needs in a nice manner.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter’s in the future.

With best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#73 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#109 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,937 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Property: Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#114 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing