We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but need to renew rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #179 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I have been here 5 nights for a congress. Very good service (best is Fabio at the bar). It is a pitty that the service is so far better than the rooms that are getting quite old, bathrooms in particular.
Waiting for the renovation to fully recommend!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank BusinessManSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear BusinessManSpain,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I was delighted to hear that you loved our good service (especially Fabio).

I have shared your comments with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

We are very sorry to read that you missed completely to mention the last renovation and refurbishment in a new contemporary style of the lobby, reception, restaurant, relaxing area and the bar.

I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and 12 year old daughter spent 6 nights here. The room was large and clean with a nice view of the rear garden. The outdoor pool is beautiful. The breakfast buffet has everything you want from eggs and bacon to yogurt, fresh fruit and croissants. The shuttle bus to St. Peters runs infrequently: 4 times on the hour before noon. And 4 times returning from Rome beginning at 4pm. Most days, we took a quick cab to the subway station (it really is not a practical walk to to narrow sidewalks and fast traffic) and then the red line to town. The cab is 5-6 Euros to the station. You can buy bus and subway tickets at the front desk which is a nice convenience. The public bus stop is outside the hotel and worth looking into. Since Rome is large and sprawling, next time we would choose a hotel in the city. You end up having to carry all your gear all day from here because you can't return mid-day to regroup. We saw at least 6 cruise groups come through during our stay--it feels ike a real cruise favorite stay-over in Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nnw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear nnw59,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

We appreciate the fact that you had a very comfortable stay with us and that you loved our large and clean room, the beautiful pool, buffet breakfast, shuttle bus.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

With best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

1st time in Rome & found it everything we expected it to be & more. The reason why this hotel scores full marks is because it is an oasis in a sea of full on activities. When you put so much in to your trip you need an escape & the Crowne Plaza is exactly that. Short bus ride out of the city, great rooms & a hugely relaxing pool. Great bar for those late night cocktails - try it - you will not be disappointed. Must try the breakfast - more choices & good food - sets you up for the day.

Room Tip: quiet rooms can be found on the upper floors. Buy your bus tickets at the concierge - if yiou don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilLDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear PhilLDarwen,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen for the 1st time the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our Hotel, location, service, bar, etc.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.


With Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week and really enjoyed our time. My wife was a bite worried from the location but was happy to see that the shuttle service working good. We had a big and pleasant room, with a nice balcony. All the employees were very nice and the hotel itself was a good choice for us. Nice spa area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Ronen M,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay!

We are very glad to know that you liked our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s and learn your appreciation about our staff, room, shuttle service.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 6 nites only because it was prepaid and we did not know how to get money back. For $269.00 / nite you can do a lot better at other hotels. Do not walk around the place behind the hotel. The neighborhood is frightening. When we got to our room there was feces on the toilet rim. The exaust fan did not work in the bathroom.The balcony door did not lock even though there was a key. The refrigerator leaked water from a faulty ice compartment. The rooms were small.They advertised an indoor pool, but it was only for adult spa. We had 7 people and the two kids froze in the outdoor pool in late September.They wanted $12.60 for a cold cereal breakfast. I went shopping.After a long day in the city,it was frustrating to find that our keys did not work when we got back to the hotel.The front desk people were not really informed fo help Americans,and I did not feel like they appreciated our business. This hotel seems to cater to airline crews and cruise ship overnite stays. I recommend choosing a different hotel. You will get more for your money. I have stayed in better places in Rome. The only reason i agreed to this hotel was because my daughter thought she was getting a place where her kids could swim inside. She made the reservations and was dissapointed too. Hope this helps you find a better hotel for your trip to Rome. Jim

Room Tip: I can not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Keith F,

thank you very much for your feedback, in which you drew our attention to your experience
at the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's.

We are very sorry that your stay was not as positive as the one of other guests on this site.

To begin with may I take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced while being our guest.

We have discussed the points you raised with our Front Office Manager and Chief Engineering and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

I very much regret that the Duty Manager was not informed at the time. I know out team would have made every effort possible to resolve your issues quickly and efficiently. It would of course have been our combined aim to make your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Allow me to put on record that everything, including reservations rules, restrictions, children policy, location, is clearly and fully stated on our and any other reservation websites. We heartily recommend our guests to read it carefully to avoid unpleasant surprises!

Our staff is always nice and professional and, even when overburdened and busy, they always do their utmost to satisfy the guests’ needs.

Regarding our rooms, despite to your review and as mentioned in many comments, we provide great rooms (24sqm) all with large balconies, clean, stylish with every facility that you might need, with the added bonus of a lovely peaceful garden, excellent swimming pool and top class spa.

Kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza Rome for 1 night as part of a longer trip. We stayed in a suite which was a good size, made up of two standard rooms, one set up as a bedroom, one as a lounge area with a dining table, which was a nice touch. Breakfast offered a standard choice of foods, nothing special, but the hot food was cooked well and gluten free options were available on request, which was nice.

On the plus side, reception and restaurant staff were very friendly. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Free WiFi was provided with our Priority Club membership and a late checkout was offered. The hotel also provide an airport shuttle which is useful and cheaper than a local taxi. They also provide a shuttle into the city centre although we used public transport instead as it was much more flexible and cheaper.

On the minus side, the hotel from the outside is quite old fashioned, and our room was quite dated in style, and needed re-decorating. Although staff were friendly, the reception was hopelessly undermanned with queues whenever we were passing. Staff also did not volunteer information that would have been useful (for example, that the - very limited - minibar in the suite is complementary despite having a price list!) and were unsure when asked - but did go away and find out.

The main downside of the hotel is that it is quite a trek from the city centre, and not in the nicest area of town. We would not recommend the hotel based purely on its location for exploring the city as independent travellers - it's just a pain being so far out, even with the transport options available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Major_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Major_Jim_83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's wich is only 3 km. far from downtown.

We are glad to learn your appreciation about the rooms, cleanliness, friendly staff, that judging with many reviews they are always nice and professional and, even when overburdened and busy, they do their utmost to satisfy the guests’ needs in a nice manner.

We are very sorry to read that you missed completely to mention the last renovation and refurbishment in a new contemporary style of the lobby, reception, restaurant, relaxing area and the bar.

As an Ihg rewards club member you are of extreme importance to us.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

Kind Regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose to book this hotel for a self post-cruise vacation. Celebrity Cruises occupies this hotel as one of their selections, and so we booked this on our own directly through Crowne Plaza, assuming it can't be that bad if Celebrity has linked its name to this hotel for years. Wasn't as great as I imagined, but still a good stay.

We organized our private transportation from Civitavecchia to the hotel, it took roughly 30min. Not sure if they provide a shuttle service for this route (port to hotel) but they do operate a shuttle bus to the port from the hotel that is cheaper than Celebrity's shuttle that they operate from the hotel.

The hotel itself is a little dated from the outside as well as in the rooms. The lobby was definitely renovated (and a section of it was still under renovation when we stayed in August 2013) so it was nice and extremely spacious. For the number of people that were in and about in the lobby, reception is extremely understaffed. During peak hours in the morning, you will always see a line. There are different lines for reception, concierge, cashier, etc. but the wait is ridiculous. If your room has complementary shuttle tickets (into the city), you can just go up ahead to skip the line if time is cutting close (the shuttles only run every hour!) - they will understand. The shuttle itself is fairly convenient - it drops you off in front of Michelangelo Hotel, which is a brief 5 min walk from Vatican City. HOWEVER, on Sundays, when the Vatican is closed, the shuttle drops off in the other location across the Tiber River. It would've been nice for this to be indicated on the shuttle sheet or by the driver as we didn't know until we got off the shuttle. All the Hop-On-Hop-Off buses begin near Vatican City so this provided a huge inconvenience.

For those that didn't want to purchase the shuttle tickets or had to get back to the hotel between shuttle times, the metro station is very close and is arguably walkable but we took the bus that dropped you off right in front of the hotel. For the evenings, as a party of 4, we just took a taxi back to the hotel for simplicity reasons. From the Spanish steps area, it was roughly E15.

The baggage room is staffed complete with a pick-up system so I felt very safe leaving my luggage there as I started exploring the city while waiting for my room to be ready. You can leave it there after check out for late flights as well.

The room itself was not bad, but nothing to get excited over. Felt clean but it's dated and the air conditioning wasn't quite working on our first night. We called reception to having someone look at it, and the guy came right away. He fixed it, all was good. We were 2 people living in a room intended for 4 and it really could fit 4 comfortably. Good selection of TV programs. The toiletries weren't great. The shampoo and body gel felt sticky and we ended up using the leftovers from our cruise.

The breakfast was great! The venue was beautiful and the food was great. They had tomatoes, eggs, bacon, sausages, a wide variety of pastries and many packaged snack items (ie. crackers) to take on the go with you for the day. The staff asks if you'd like coffee and brings it to your table, which I thought was great (it's the little things!).

There was a pianist every evening playing late into the night, which was also a great touch. If you ask reception for restaurant recommendations near the area, they'll lead you do a great place that's a 10min walk from the hotel. It's was mostly locals that were dining there and the food was great! I believe they also do pizza delivery if you'd prefer to stay in instead.

No free wifi but the business center is free to use. You must obtain a code from reception to access though. It is time limited but if there's no one line waiting to use it, it's really all yours.

The airport shuttle is basically the same bus as the city shuttle - great value! They drop off at Terminal 3, but all the terminals are connected anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank starryxskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear starryxskies,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s for your post cruise stay.

We are very glad to know that we met your expectation and that you found our hotel a good choice.

Regarding the information about the drop off on Wednesday and Sunday (due to traffic restrictions for the “Papal Audience”), allow me to put on record that we display in our lobby a sign with those information, moreover it is also mentioned on the bus and the reception&concierge staff, even when overburdened and busy, they give information about connections, transportations, local attractions and useful tips.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location and connections.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

With best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#78 of 1,272 in Rome
2,724 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,414 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,272 in Rome
778 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,272 in Rome
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#109 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#156 Family Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $127 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing