We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow and Whew”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #179 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a perfect hotel when you arrive at FCO airport. The property is beautiful, the pool is perfect. We had no complaints here except that this property is too far to walk to get some snacks or dinner. The Restaurant on the property is in my opinion too expensive since there were 11 of us in our group. The Breakfast was sensational. We got a cab to go pick up our dinner and returned to the hotel to eat. 22E. If I were just with the wife I would get a cab and go to dinner in the heart of Rome. I don't recommend this property to feel the ambiance of Rome as it is like staying in a plush hotel in the states or anywhere for that matter. We elected to end our cruise by staying in another hotel in the heart of Rome and that worked for us. I would stay at the Crowne again but only for the first night. The Whew is that we walked for 2 miles for sodas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomdonpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Tomdonpac,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza!

We are happy to learn that you found our Hotel beautiful, perfect location from FCO airport.

We respect your own perception about the feel of our Hotel, but allow me to put on record that our Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s offers International Standard of hospitality (all the staff speak many foreign languages, they are perfectly trained to satisfy any guest’s needs) and is located out of the hustle and bustle of Central Rome but still within close proximity of the Vatican and main attractions. We are surrounded by greenery in which our beautiful outdoor and indoor swimming-pool are a perfect way to rewind after a long day, the amazing Spa (900mq), tennis courts and the park gives you the idea you are in a resort but in the heart of Rome. .

By reading your review we see that you didn’t’ find shops, restaurants (Arturo just at the doorstep of our Hotel) , bars, cafes and supermarket available in a small village 300 meters on our left hand side.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and I hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

With best regards.
Davide Grilli-General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 3,024 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was with the family for four days in Rome recently and was very lucky to stay at this hotel. The hotel does everything right. The breakfast is superb, the rooms spacious and clean, the staff fall over themselves to be friendly and helpful, the amenities are amazing, great pool and brilliant shuttle service. We held this hotel up as the gold standard when we were comparing other hotels in Italy. If I have to ask the hotel to consider one thing, please think about offering cheaper or even free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobin_Aling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Bobin_Aling
Thank you so much for you wonderful review and for your feedback.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter’s.
Best regards. Davide Grilli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Big rooms , very clean and a pool taht saved us during the warm August afternoons in Rome. Our boys loved it and it is really a childrens friendly hotel . They have a bus that drives you downtown with a small fee (1,5 euros ) and we never had a problem to prebook our journey . Otherwise a local bus stops just outside the hotel and it takes you to the closest subway station (ticket 1,5 euros for 75 minutes bus and or subway use ). Although in the area there are not many reaturants reception suggested a couple of options so we had authentic Italian food in walking distance. There is also a Gelatteria near by taht we visited every day .Very nice indoor poll and a gym with surprisingly extended operation timetable .
Nice staff and excellent value for money

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool can be noisy during summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haris N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Haris N N
I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us.
Thank you for the time spent in writing your review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St.Peter’s, if you are back to Rome in the future.
Best regards. Davide Grilli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed in the Crown Plaza for three nights in August 2013 with friends and my sister. We had booked a private mini bus through the hotel on the Sat night before we were due to arrive to pick the five of us up from the Airport. I was told that the bus driver would be waiting at the airport arrival area with a clipboard with our names on.
We waited dutifully for twenty minutes then rang the hotel who told us that we should have rang the hotel to let them know we were waiting in the airport. The times and arrival information were given to the hotel at the time of booking and we were told the driver would be waiting for us at the arrival area so obviously we expected this to be the case. This was a hindrance and caused us a delay to getting to the hotel. There was obviously a miscommunication at the hotel who did not book the bus for us.

We eventually caught a taxi which was parked outside and we then ripped off by the taxi driver who charged us 85 Euros to get to the hotel, on the way back to the airport we were change 45 Euros so be careful if catching taxis from the airport to your destinations that they have the meters on!!
Apart from this mishap we had a fantastic time staying in the Crown Plaza, could not fault the checking in procedure and the receptionist on duty. Our rooms were beautiful overlooking the pool area and I have never stayed in such a quiet peaceful hotel, did not hear a sound the three nights we stayed there. The bed was also the most comfortable one I have slept on!! Rooms were cleaned every day, decor inside rooms perfect! Not that we spent much time in the rooms. Could do with more coffee/tea/milk in the rooms though. Pool and poolside areas were kept clean, very helpful poolside assistant who would greet us with a lovely smile each morning. We only ate in the poolside bar which was reasonably priced and food was basic but eatable.
Buses right outside the hotel, so although the hotel was not in the centre of Rome the buses were regularly and reliable running from 5.30am until 12.00am so this was not a problem to get around and about to see the Vatican and other areas of Rome.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone, only thing book your own transport to and from airport!!

Would also recommend taking one of the bus tours around Rome. Bus stops dotted around the tourist areas for these tour buses. Also if eating out in the restaurants/bar areas again avoid sitting directly near the tourists traps and try going into the ‘back streets’ we found sound lovely eateries and the prices were well within budget.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Louise L,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback.

We are very glad to know that you had a fantastic time at the at the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s,
and learn your appreciation about our service and facilities.

Regarding the reservation for private shuttle service, we are very sorry for any additional problems you may have experienced and any emotional stress you may have felt under the circumstances.

Having read your comments, we can imagine the disappointment and we therefore apologize for any inconvenience encountered.

We have discussed the points you have raised with our Reservation Manager and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future. and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s on your next visit to Rome!

With best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Like others this was an average place to stay. I stayed on points and am a platinum member.

Arrival was easy. Check in went fine and some of the front desk staff were VERY friendly, just not very helpful. Despite the concierge sign, no actual concierge. Desk staff handled money changing and only the most generic of requests. At times some staff seemed disinterested.

Room was fine, quiet, and clean. Bed comfortable. Little cramped but nothing out of ordinary.

Pool unheated, nice pool guy for towels, but that was it, no poolside service the day we decided to relax after lots of sight seeing.

Location a bit out of way but bus VERY convenient, cab cheap to the train, and every cabbie knows the location. Shuttle just never seemed very convenient... when we wanted to go one place, they were going another and when we tried to coordinate it never seemed to work. Cabs worked just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc_skid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear doc_skid,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are very glad to learn your appreciation about the room (quiet and clean) comfortable bed, nice pool guy (poolside service is always available if pool is open, we stop the service in case of bad whether condition).

We are sorry to read your experience about front desk staff, that judging by the many feedback from our guests is always very helpful, friendly and efficient. First of all we do apologize.

We have discussed the points with our Front Office Manager and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

Once again we apologize if your stay did not live up to expectations and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Crowne Plaza in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

With kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Crowne Plaza's are the only Holiday's I stay at nowadays. This is a below Average Crowne Plaza. Probably due to fact it is a gathering point for some cruise lines. Waves of "ugly Americans" inundate the hotel for a day or two awaiting ship boardings. Lobby constantly full of tourists that have never been out of the US, except for cruise vacations. Don't bother standing in line while the concierge answers the same inane questions with a map over and over. Staff was somewhat jaded, and I can see why. Large shuttle bus is convenient and cheap, if you hit a non-crowded time. Drops you at two locations: the Vatican and the Ponte Sisto, which gives you access to the main part of town. Last pickup by same shuttle is late night, which is good. Catch a cab when you want, once you are in the middle of everything. Never used the car while in Rome. Absolutely impossible to try, and we there in the off season. Free easy parking at hotel. Hotel restaurant was a no-go. Many outstanding restaurants wherever you are in Rome. The hotel restaurant was for the cruisers. Nice comfortable room. Quiet, overlooking tennis club. Lights on late at tennis courts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Jim Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Mixed reviews for the hotel and it's location. The shuttle service is helpful however it is not convenient for the locations it goes to and times at which it drops off, however it is cheaper than the very expensive taxis. Reception and lobby bar very impressive, however the rooms are basic and need modernizing. The pool area was too busy with the sun beds crammed together, and the pool was dirty regularly. Not good when its 30+degrees and you need the pool.
Rome was an amazing city and would recommend, however we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Dave H,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as positive as the ones of other guests who reported their comments on this site.

We are terribly sorry to read about the problems encountered with cleanliness by our pool. First of all we would like to apologize and to assure you that we have discussed the points you raised with our Housekeeping and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their service.

Once again we kindly ask you to accept our sincere apologies and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you here again.

With kind regards, Davide Grilli – General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,270 in Rome
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,270 in Rome
1,401 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,270 in Rome
772 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#108 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#156 Family Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $130 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing