We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value place to stay on outskirts of rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #178 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Spent a very enjoyable 5 days at he crowne plaza, st peters, Rome, for my husbands birthday. Weather was particularly good for October too. Hotel was in a quieter area of Rome, which we enjoyed after long days walking around. Hotel has a very nice outdoor pool. The staff were friendly, and were very enthusiastic when I tried to speak Italian to them! They offer a shuttle bus service into the centre of Rome, for only 1€ per person, each way! That drops you off just around the corner of Vatigan Square !! Beware, it only runs at certain times though. We were lucky enough to see the Pope giving his weekly Wednesday address to the public! One tip- pre purchase your tickets to the Cisteen Chapel, on their official web site, before you leave home, or prepare to queue for a vey long time!! Also be aware that they pack you in the chapel, and you are not allowed to take photographs in there. We enjoyed eating in the trastevere area in the evening ( across from the river Tiber island) as it felt much more authentic, and had some great piazza's to people watch, and a good choice of restaurants, of various price levels. Would go back to The Crowne Plazza again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onlyturnsleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear onlyturnsleft,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s for your husband’s birthday!

We appreciate the fact that you had a very comfortable stay with us and that you loved our helpful and courteous staff as well as the location.

I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

With best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,123 - 1,129 of 3,046 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Although situated a little outside the city centre this hotel provided us with the perfect base for our four day visit, with the added bonus that there was ample free car parking space. The hotel is easy to locate, with a good road system linking to the autoroutes, and despite arriving during the afternoon rush hour we were able to drive to the hotel with only relatively minor delays and traffic queues. Having parked the car we did not need use it again until we departed at the end of our stay. The hotel provides a very good shuttle service into the centre of Rome, and we used this on our first morning, prior to buying a travel ticket to cover the next three days. With a bus stop just at the end of the hotel drive and a regular bus service linking to the Metro system, we were able to visit all the places we had planned to see, plus several more besides.
Our welcome at Reception in the hotel was excellent. We were offered the opportunity to buy a prepaid breakfast voucher, which saved four euros per breakfast and also given the access codes for wifi internet reception. Clear explanations were given concerning where breakfast would be served, restaurant location/opening hours and the procedure for using the shuttle bus into the city centre. On arrival in our room there were complimentary bottles of still and sparkling mineral water, and these were replaced on a daily basis. Everything was very clean and well appointed, with the bathroom up to the usual standards expected in this standard of hotel. Overall the bed was very comfortable and the room quiet, although the view from the window was not awe-inspiring, overlooking a residential block of apartments.
The buffet breakfast was excellent value, plenty of variety and kept well stocked throughout. We found that after eating a substantial breakfast we did not need a further meal until we returned to the hotel in the late afternoon/early evening. It had been our intention to find different restaurants for our evening meal, but the choice of food available and the warm, friendly welcome from the restaurant staff persuaded us to take the easy and convenient option of dining in the hotel for each evening we were there, and this experience was enhanced by the performance of the excellent pianist.
When we make a return visit to Rome this hotel will yet again be used as our base, representing very good value and quality. I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who is visiting Rome for sightseeing, although I appreciate that it is a little isolated for those that want to spend their evenings experiencing Roman nightlife.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted_and_Celia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Ted_and_Celia,

Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay and to have chosen the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, staff, rooms, location and overall satisfaction.

I have shared your comment with my whole team as you have mentioned their excellent service. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Easy going exceptionally comfortable hotel, superb staff throughout from maids to waiters to reception. Check in & out so easy,thankyou reception staff.shuttle bus to rome centre made life easier. Large swimming pool. Great breakfast buffet( pay for it in advance of arrival and save yourself 4 euros a day) papillion restaurant great to eat in a relaxed atmosphere at the end of a long day.Definately stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Chris W,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!
I am delighted to read such a wonderful report about our comfortable hotel, staff, great breakfast and all the facilities.

I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s on your next visit to Rome!

With best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Crowne Plaza for 4 nights 16th-20th June to celebrate our silver wedding. I emailed the hotel beforehand to ask for a high floor, non smoking room and got just that! We were given a lovely king size bedroom on the 4th floor with a pool view. The hotel is a little way out of the town but so easy to access. We used both the hotel shuttle and the local bus service. The views in to town from the bus are amazing and are worth the trip. The staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was of good quality. The complimentary water was a lovely added touch as was the FREE safe:) After a long very hot day in Rome it was lovely to return to the beautiful outside bar where we received excellent service from Rachid. The complimentary snacks were superb. The man playing the piano is very good. We experienced very hot weather during our stay so the outdoor pool was very welcoming. Towels are provided by lovely staff by the pool and the snack bar very good. It was our first time in Rome but it certainly will not be our last. Thank you to everyone at Crowne plaza for making our stay so lovely. :)

Room Tip: Pool view if you can get one:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyamseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear lilyamseven,

Thank you for your wonderful review and to keep on choosing the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter for your silver wedding celebration in Rome!

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, staff and facilities.
All the team here try their hardest to make every stay lovely and memorable.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from experienced and valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

I have passed on your kind words to all the team (especially Rachid and Nino our pianist) here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

Kind regards and with renewed thanks.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just experienced the crowne plaza as the first hotel in Europe on an organised tour. Fair. Good reception, helpful staff, fair room but certainly not four star in an Australian context. Breakfast expansive but too many negatives for me, each day hot food was cold. Location quite remote from the city, however balanced by easy taxi or bus. Quiet but tired. Bathroom fair, location poor, however a good night sleep. Comfortable bed and pillows. Wouldn't recommend for dining. Loved Rome

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank RogerAliSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear RogerAliSophia,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s for your stay in Rome.

We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our helpful and good reception staff.

On the other hand we are sorry to read your concerns about breakfast and dining experience.
We have discussed the points you raised with our Food and Beverage Manager and Executive Chef and as a result they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services and quality.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in June before heading off on a Celebrity cruise and while the hotel is not in the middle of Rome we found it great for the time that we went. As others have said it is a little bit out of town but they do have a shuttle that runs most of the day and a cab from downtown Rome only cost us 15 Euro. There are 2 pools, outdoor and indoor, which were both very nice to use. The room we had was very large and the bathroom was a good size. The restaurant was only ok but there is a very good place right next door.
We had no issues with the service although there could be more information about tours, getting around Rome etc. We found out about the hop on hop off Rome bus from other guests.
What was very handy for us was that the hotel lets the cruise companies set up in the lobby a few days before and after the cruises departing from Rome.
Would highly recommend this hotel, especially for those not wanting to stay right in the middle of Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharynm6231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sharynm6231,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay and to have chosen the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peters before heading off on a Celebrity cruise!

We are very glad to learn your appreciation about our facilities and comfort of our Hotel and that you would highly recommend our property.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

Best regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for a conference in April and then extended my stay for pleasure for 2 days as first time in rome. The first room was very smelly of smoke even thou it was supposed to be a no smoking room. The view was ok but overlooked a tennis club so when i was trying to relax all i could here was the noise of tennis balls being hit. The bathroom was a bit outdated but the bed was comfortable. Food was okay. Cash point in hotel was handy and the man playing piano everynight was wonderfull.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveSF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear SteveSF_London,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor, in which you drew my attention to your experience while guest at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's!

We are glad to learn that you loved our wonderful Maestro Nino at the piano every evening as well as the food and comfort of our beds.

First of all I do apologize for the smell of the smoke and be assured that we will discuss this point with the housekeeping in order to be more vigilant and make sure that similar inconvenience will not occur in the future. Unfortunately we have some guests that they do not respect any rules and they smoke even if is a non-smoking room.

We regret that you completely missed to mention our recent refurbishment of the lobby, reception, restaurant, relaxing area and the bar in a new contemporary style.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

Kind Regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,273 in Rome
2,727 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#106 of 1,273 in Rome
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,273 in Rome
1,417 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#42 of 1,273 in Rome
779 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#109 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#156 Family Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $130 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing