We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #176 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were with a tour group and stayed at this hotel our first night in Italy. The airlines had lost my wifes luggage and the hotel staff was very helpful in trying to get it recovered before our group left Rome for Tuscany. Room was clean and well appointed with all the ammenities that you expect when staying at a Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Rushmidwest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us!

I’m very glad to know that you found our staff very helpful, the room clean and well appointed.

I have shared your comment with my whole team as you have mentioned their excellent service. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 2,952 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed in the hotel for 5 nights from 13th Oct. 2012. The reception is good, the room is not so big as other Crowne Plaza in China but it's acceptable. It's very interesting that the decoration is Chinese style. The bathroom is a little bit old. The room is very quiet and we can have a perfect sleep. It's really important for travelers. The breakfast is excellent. Veronica, the break staff, is very nice and always has smile. Her service is perfect. I wish to be back to Roma and I'll stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Richard W,

Thank you very much for positive feedback and for your nice review!

I'm very glad to know that you had a perfect sleep at the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s.

I was pleased that you liked the service we provided you with (especially Veronica) and I have passed on your kind words.

t is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Four of us were stuck in Rome when Hurricane Sandy hit the East coast. We managed to get reservations at the Crown Plaza. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the lobby's were comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful and the attached restaurant offered excellent meals; though the buffet was much too pricey. We had to move for one night to an awful place across the street, where there wasn't any internet or restaurant service. The Crown staff gave us internet access and let us take the shuttle to the airport and to the city. Big kudos to the Crown Plaza in Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Jeanne H,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations.

I was pleased that you liked the service we provided you with and I have passed on your kind words to my fantastic team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Davide Grilli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location is more than an easy walk to central Rome or even to St Peter's (4.5 Kms to cross the Tevere; taxi €10) but we knew that and there is an hourly (or so) friendly driver hotel shuttle bus and a public bus stops outside the hotel with buses upto midnight. So strolling at night out of the hotel is not appropriate but a few restaurants are a short bus or a 12 minute (900m) walk away.

The cheapest way to arrive from Fiumicino is to San Pietro train station changing at Trastevere. Then a short walk for the 881 bus from San Pietro station to outside the Crowne plaza hotel

The free parking would make the hotel excellent for those on a tour with a coach or car hire. or for before and after a cruise as the Civitavecchia to Rome train stops at San Pietro station.

I used the excellent and large Sauna and Turkish steam bath. The indoor swimming pool looked good.

The restaurant (including breakfast) was expensive - understandable because of the location and captive tour market.

Free wifi worked well.

So excellent hotel but 3.5 km from St Peter's. The name would have been misleading in the days before Google maps. At a stretch "Crowne Plaza Vatican" would be more accurate.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor / quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wedwardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear wedwardes,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s and for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are glad to know that you found our Hotel excellent and convenient.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.

Regarding prices in our restaurant, as you already mentioned, allow me to put on record that they are comparable to all the Restaurant in Rome of the same level.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

With best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Crown Plaza St Peters has rooms that are quite large especially by Italian standards. Its biggest negative aspect is its location as there are practically no nearby amenities-stores or restaurants. A 3-5 minute taxi ride though will take you to the local community. The biggest positive aspect of this hotel is its location set in beautifully landscaped grounds, a bucolic retreat from the noise and crowding and pushing of the mobs of people at the principal tourist sights of Rome. Take refuge in a comfortable, quiet room. Enjoy the outdoor swimming pool in a beautiful formal type garden landscape. Enjoy the beautiful indoor pool and first class spa complex. The Breakfast Buffet is very nice with lots of selections. The Hotel's Restaurant was acceptable with prices that are a little high but comparable to many hotel restaurants. Its outdoor area was pleasant. The front desk staff is quite helpful when they are not pressured by other guests checking in or out. For the tourist the Hotel has a terrific fleet of buses and minivans. There are scheduled trips to and from St. Peters during the day and to the Trastevere area in the afternoon and evening for a 1 Euro charge(less costly than even the public transportation.) Likewise the Hotel has transfers to Fiumicino and Civitavecchia at comparably the best rates you can get anywhere. Transfers from the airport and Port to the Hotel should be arranged at least a few days before directly with the Hotel as their schedule may vary due to supply and demand.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool and gardens. The rooms have a nice size balcony too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjeffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear drjeffh,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s.

We are glad to know that you found the room large and quiet, the spa complex first class, breakfast buffet very nice with lots of selections.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

With best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at night time, the check in was very fast and the receptionist was so kind. After 30 min of the arriving, I called the spa to take some info about it, the receptionist in the SPA wasn't polit enough. So, the SPA was not that much wow. The stem room was under the mintenons. Then I was back to the room to take a shawer. The shawer handle was broken, so it was not easy to have a smooth shawer on that day.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khadim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Khadim1,

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s! It was a real pleasure to read that you found our hotel good and the price good as well.

On the other hand we are terribly sorry to learn your problems experienced with shower and attitude with the receptionist in the Spa.

We can imagine you disappointment and we therefore apologize for any inconvenience encountered.

We have discussed the points with our Chief Engineering and Spa Manager and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

With kind regards and renewed excuses.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel; close to Vatican. Great customer service. Food. buffet was good; lots of selections. Shuttle bus was convenient to Vatican. Nice restaurant next door to hotel. Rooms large for European standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jingles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear jingles13,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s for your stay in Rome.

I was really pleased that you enjoyed our great hotel with great customer service, good food, convenient shuttle service.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

I do hope that you will return to us soon in the near future. I have passed on your kind words to the team.

With kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#79 of 1,269 in Rome
2,682 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,269 in Rome
926 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#53 of 1,269 in Rome
3,363 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#108 of 1,269 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#105 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $112 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing