We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel delle Nazioni
Ranked #240 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

While on a family holiday in Rome, had three rooms at the Hotel Delle Nazioni in May 2012. Have stayed here many times over the years and the hotel continues to be a fine choice for visiting Rome. Just steps from the Trevi Fountain, it is a great location to use a a base for visiting all the sites in Rome. From the hotel, we walked to the Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona, Pantheon and Vatican. The hotel is clean, well kept, modern and the breakfast is nice. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    505
    143
    46
    25
See reviews for
275
527
30
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This review is by an American geared for Americans. This is a wonderful hotel! We stayed 7 nights the last week of March. Prices increase dramatically in April. The weather was near perfect (1 short shower in 7 days). Clean and well maintained with the staff taking pride in everything. Very friendly too. We'd ask for a cab and it would be there immediately. They would call our room when they came to pick us up for tours. Rooms are not large but that is what we expected in Rome. The bath all marble with shower and bidet. Large shuttered window that we would leave open for hours without ever having an insect enter! Beautiful view from the 5th floor! The location is almost unbeatable with the Trevi Fountain 30 seconds away. A short walk to Pantheon thru narrow streets past shops and places to eat. One of the best things this hotel offers is an outstanding buffet breakfast. The scrambled eggs were always perfect and the bacon was also. Many choices of meats, cheeses, outstanding breads, juices, coffee choices. Even a barley drink my wife loved! Yogurt, fruit, and lots of other stuff. I've read negative reviews about the fruit and coffee but I don't agree. We had fresh pineapple and lots of great fruit each day! As expensive as it is to eat in Italy compared to the US it's a great way to save a significant amount of money on your trip. We had a fantastic week but I think the Italian food in the US is on average better and way less expensive. We went to some nice family owned places that took a lot of pride in their cuisine. They were ok at best in comparison to the US and the gap is even larger when your talking pizza. Everywhere the local pizzerias have the pizzas made in advance and on display and you pay by weight and they heat it in a microwave. It was like that everywhere unless you ordered a pizza in a cloth napkin sit down restaurant which we never did. I just felt the sauces to be a little, well enough of that. Anyway, If your going I don't know how you just stay 2 or 3 days and move on! A major bigtime recommendation is the day trip to Pompii. It was a great experience. We stopped on the way in Naples(sad-what a dump!). Nice mall though. If your a history buff the stop on the way at Monte Casino is interesting. In Rome if you got the guts you can rent a motor scooter(we did) at Baci-Baci(I think) on Nationalie Ave.(sorry). That was really fun if your an experienced rider. The Italian's are best drivers in the world but at 65 I hung in there with'm with my bebe on the back of a 125 Vespa. Also, don't get Euros at the airport for your dollars(unless u just want a few for tipping). If you stay at Delle Nozione you get a better deal a 5 minute walk away. Hope this helps you have a great time. I would have liked to have known about the Euro thing(I got screwed the first time). I did not see a McDonald's menu but a Whopper costs $9 US(We did not eat there). We used "pocket guide to Roma" on my ipad GPS to get around. Have fun.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
203 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Yes, it was nice to be less than a block from Trevi Fountain and its circus atmosphere, and it was great to have San Crispino a couple of blocks farther.

But otherwise, this was my least favorite hotel of the three on this trip. True the room was small, but the bathroom was the smallest ever. To get to the toilet, you have to bump the bidet with your right knee while your left hip hits the counter.

As noted, staff was indifferent-to-rude, with the exception of one bellman and one desk man we saw only once. WiFi almost worked sometimes, but usually not. The "restaurant" is the same uninviting room where they serve breakfast plus an outdoor section that has no charm. We had a free lunch or $20 bar credit with our deal, but chose not to use it in favor of the many nicer places in nearby Rome. And that rooftop terrace?? All we found was a small balcony off a meeting room that had no view - and of course the staff didn't tell us about it. We saw the photo in the elevator and went exploring.

Do yourself a favor and look for another hotel - one that values your business and has some concept of customer service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

OK, so it's a few steps from the Trevi Fountain and you can walk to the Spanish Steps, but otherwise---feh. Rooms are cramped and graceless, breakfast is "served" in a dingy basement, and the staff is distant, cold and downright rude.
There are many more, many better places to stay in the Eternal City.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel following a trans-Atlantic cruise which ended in Italy in April, I have to agree with a review below: location is great, rooms are tiny, beds very firm and pillows like rocks. My wife thought she was Wilma Flintstone, given the hard-as-rocks pillows. I guess that made me Fred Flintstone? (for those too young to know, "the Flintstones" was an American animated TV series, circa 1960's).

Room had a bed, desk, desk chair, and a second desk chair. No room for an arm-chair. Bathroom spacious enough. Place was very clean. Breakfast included was simple but good, cocktails one night on their terrace, in the heart of the bustle and action was nice. The roof terrace, open for all guests (ask the front desk clerk to unlock it) is a nice location to sit and have a glass of wine. The hotel is in a fantastic location--one can walk to the Trevi fountain around the corner, it is very near the Spanish steps, and is a wonderful starting point for the walking tours we took.

I would also agree with the reviewer below who commented that the front-desk staff leave something to be desired. While the two bellmen were very welcoming, the front-desk staff were at best taciturn, at worst, surly. Even when our tour guide asked one of them (the older, grey haired man) to make us a dinner reservation, this innocuous request was a huge problem! We started calling this older chap (amongst ourselves, of course), "Mr. Grumpy-Pants". You would expect that these gentlemen are used to making dinner reservations, providing directions, etc., to tourists who are, after all, their bread-and-butter.

Thus, when we return to Rome (a fantastic city to take walking tours in), we will not likely return to this hotel. Six years ago we stayed at the Locarno, which has mixed reviews, but we liked it then. At least while not as modern re plumbing, etc., as was this hotel, it had more "charm" and the rooms were somewhat more spacious.

Room Tip: We did not mind being on the street-side, as when teh windows were closed we herad nothing; and we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Coming from different areas of Italy into this room was a relief for the three of us. While headed to our room we peeked into some open rooms and saw staff mopping and wiping vigorously everywhere which was a relief! The staff took great care and thought out our questions quite well. The location is block in front of the Trevi fountain which keeps you away from the crowds but close enough to be within reach of everything. Across the main road you will find a market which will help you save money from the expensive restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fsikalasinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had mixed reviews of this hotel. It is located in a pretty nice place near the Trevi Fountain. First the pluses: The place is clean and well-kept with a well-trained bell and maid staff. The breakfast is good even for European standards. The rooms were by far the smallest (less than 10x10 with a very small bathroom and an even smaller very cheaply made shower stall. The night and weekend desk staff seemed to be more in tuned to the needs of the tourists. Now for the bad: Very small rooms and the beds were uncomfortable. Again, the shower stall was made for someone weighing less than 150 lbs. The day shift desk staff seemed stuffy and not very open. This would be expected if this were an out-of-the-way hotel, but it is in the heart of the largest tourist area of the city. All in all I will give the place 3 ½ stars.

Room Tip: I had a "Superior room" which was about 10x10 with a very small shower stall. Ask for som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#77 of 1,256 in Rome
762 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#318 of 1,256 in Rome
601 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#571 of 1,256 in Rome
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#150 of 1,256 in Rome
974 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#221 of 1,256 in Rome
1,153 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel delle Nazioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel delle Nazioni

Property: Hotel delle Nazioni
Address: Via Poli 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#222 Family Hotel in Rome
#250 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel delle Nazioni 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel delle Nazioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing