We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, panorama roof terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Colonna Palace Hotel
Ranked #429 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Good buffet breakfast in a panorama roof terrace, friendly staff (at least, if you speak some Italian). Bring your own bottle to the roof top terrace in the evening and watch how la bella Roma settles to the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Pond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 789 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2010

We liked this hotel which was well situated for the sites. The rooms are spacious and well serviced- clean sheets and towels every day etc., although we did have to keep asking repeatedly when we wanted extra blanketsand pillows. I had checked their website and Tripadvisor and other reviews before we travelled but found some of them prety inaccurate. There are defintely no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms- I pointed this out to reception and they said that they are aware that the website is not accurate but that this is the fault of the agency which designed it! There are also no "kitchenettes", no bathrobesetc.( not that we were bothered by that) but the rooms do have air-con and hairdriers. Good breakfasts up on the roof terrace,though. Not cheap, though -the rate on the door for a twin room was 430 euros a night. We had to move (caught up in the volcano/flight cancellations saga) and went to theHotel Louis nr Ciampino Airport where staff are really helpful and a nice twin room cost 75 euros a night.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
Thank VivienShropshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

This hotel is perfectly located for seeing Rome on foot and is surrounded by some of the best restaurants in Rome (notably the Bottega - just around the corner from the hotel).
The roof terrace for breakfast is a must - with views of all Rome first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeeTeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

The Colonna Palace Hotel provided us with a wonderful base for our time in Rome. Location cannot be faulted - almost everything is within walking distance and this was a major "plus" for us. It was great to be able to walk to attractions easily as a group, but I was also able to take solo walks around the Pantheon and local district when there was a spare half hour in the afternoons. Make sure you bring a good street/walking map.

We arrived in Rome mid morning, and it was great that we were able to check into our room quite early and refresh after a long flight. Staff were generally helpful although at times seemed a little aloof.

Rooms were very comfortable and it was lovely to be able to watch Rome "go about its business". During our stay there were a few public protests in the areas outside our windows (given so near to Parliament) but this just added to the local experience!

Fantastic breakfast terrace with beautiful views of the city. We stayed in winter, so too cold to eat on the terrace.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hudsonhmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Our family of 6 (four teenagers) stayed in July 2009. This was one of the best hotel experiences we had during our Italy visit. It was is quite centrally located, and we walked to all the attractions in Rome. Rooms and service were quite good. Our favorite thing was the rooftop terrace. They had buffet breakfast there, which was very good. The best part is you can see the whole city from the rooftop terrace, so we enjoyed the early morning views from there, as well as the nighttime views. Would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b77trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I spent 5 nights in late November in a triple room (255). It was my 7th trip to Rome, and second stay at the Colonna Palace. We were thrilled that the rooftop terrace was still being used for breakfast, even in late November, and each evening we brought our own wine up and watched sunsets and bird waltzes over the city. The staff recommended some great restaurants nearby (there are soooo many to choose from), opened our wine for us, and arranged our transportation to the airport. I've stayed at other hotels in Rome (near Termini/Colosseo), but this location is really ideal and worth a little extra money. Thank you CP for hosting my 50th!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

The location is a 2 min walk from Pantheon, 4 min from Piazza Navona, 4 min from piazza di campo dei fiori, 5 min from Trevi fountain, 5 min from spanish steps.
So you can reach everything by foot, easily. Maybe get on a bus for Vatican state, but not neccessary.
The breakfast at hotel was ok, at least real scrambled eggs, and good coffee. Make sure you sit at the roof terrace while having breakfast, to get a view of Rome.
The location is actually very quiet, even with the location, because the hotel is facing the piazza in front of parlament building, with no traffic, and a lot of guards and police.
The only thing is that the hotel is a bit expensive, but if you get a good deal, the hotel can be recommended for a romantic holiday in Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,271 in Rome
1,588 reviews
Colonna
9 Hotel Cesari
9 Hotel Cesari
#108 of 1,271 in Rome
1,594 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#155 of 1,271 in Rome
1,738 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,271 in Rome
827 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#104 of 1,271 in Rome
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza di Monte Citorio 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $146 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonna Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Palace Rome
Colonna Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel Colonna Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing