We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but everything else...mediocre at best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colonna Palace Hotel
Ranked #446 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Central location but everything else...mediocre at best.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the Colonna Palace with my mother on a short weekend city break and whilst the hotel has a great location - walking distance from all the central sights - I found the rest of it truly lacking the quality and service I'd expect from a 4 star hotel.

Tucked in between the Italian Parliament / government buildings, we did feel the location was very safe and well kept. The hotel looks fine from the outside and even the lobby / bar were stylish. However any attempt at style ends very quickly upon arrival in your room - ours was a twin on the fourth floor - as the decor is dated, furniture old and tatty and the carpet dirty. There was a distinct smell of urine in our bedroom and a heavily stained carpet - it appeared someone may have had an accident but little had been done to clear it up properly.

The rooms facing over the small street below are extremely noisy with cars rumbling up and down the cobbles all night long, and voices being audible even with the windows and shutters closed - and we were on the fourth floor! The sound just seems to bounce up between the buildings and the windows are only single glazing.

The room has no tea or coffee facilities but does offer a couple of complimentary bottles of tepid water. The mini bar is fairly well stocked but, as always, very expensive. The beds were not too uncomfortable but do have cheap, flat pillows - we did ring down to the reception for extra pillows however which were brought up within 5 minutes of our call. The bathroom was clean apart from a couple of long black hairs (always nice) but again the towels and toiletries are cheap and scant - I'd expect more from a 4 star!

The internet at the hotel is expensive AND once activated, your hours ticks away even if you don't use it. You have to reactivate it constantly with a code card and as per other reviews, the connection isn't always reliable, especially during peak usage times like the evening. If you buy a 24 hour card, it expires in 24 hours rather than you being able to stop and start the clock - altogether a bit of a rip off.

Sleep quality in the room we had was appalling. The air conditioning was indecipherable - it seemed we could only have the temperature on 28 degrees or hotter, and no matter what way you clicked the buttons - none of which were labelled - the air con didn't turn on whether hot or cold. There were no instructions in the room either. As a result we had to sleep with the windows open which meant the street noise was amplified - even sounding like there were people outside the window! Ear plugs still didn't drown out the noise and the room was still far too hot with the window open - and we were there during a wet weekend at the end of October!

Breakfast was also not great - the terrace views are lovely but there are only a few sheltered tables so most of us were crammed inside as it was raining during our stay and we had to wait for a table each morning. The food choices are fairly limited; one type of pastry, one type of yoghurt, cheese and ham, one type of bread roll, boiled eggs, and a lot of long life, processed food like fruit compotes, sponge cakes, nutella etc. Very little was fresh (most of the fruit was tinned) and there were fairly long gaps in replenishing things that ran out. Fruit juices were also not fresh but those awful long life concentrates that you get in strange machines that spit everything out in a slightly neon colour leaving you wondering just how long the juice has been rolling around inside. Overall it was around the standard I had experienced in a 2 star hotel in Rome two years before.

So, in short, noisy, disappointing rooms (especially given the pictures on the website), cheap basics like towels / pillows, stingy breakfast, no air con and expensive extras. Would I stay here again - no! Even the central location did not make up for the poor quality of this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one not overlooking the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LionHeartedGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    302
    151
    65
    40
See reviews for
149
283
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As far as the rooms go, this hotel was good to quite good. BUT the view from the rooftop terrace for breakfast and sunset was amazing. You can sit there in the evening and drink a little wine and see an almost panoramic view of all of Rome. And the location is the best, you are just a few blocks from the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori.... Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rdangeriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We thought the location was great. We could walk to all of the major sites. The breakfast was very good with a great rooftop view. We were disappointed with the general condition of the room. The rooms need to be refurbished.

Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The only plus for this hotel is central location. The negatives are wifi service cost is exorbitant and worse is that connection is unreliable. The staff at the Reception (except for one on night shift who obligingly helped me to contact Trenitalia)are not at all helpful claiming seemingly language difficulty. Suggest there be one Englsh speaking staff in every shift.

The store room is very open, enclosed with just curtains. No security at all for luggage.

Room Tip: Sorry but not comfortable referring this hotel to friends if they maintain status quo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent several days in two periods October 2012. Breakfast on the 7th floor terrace is definitely their best feature with outstanding view of historic Rome! The food itself is average. Location is top within walking distance of main attractions. Several comfortable sitting rooms downstairs which always appear to be empty are handy for small meetings, work away from room. Wifi is poor quality and some of attempts to get prints by emailing the reception failed. Rooms are rather small but reasonably furnished. Service is wanting. They are just not anxious to provide anylthing extra with luggage, check-out. Laughably they refuse to provide a second room key - they say people fail to return them (for God's sake charge for missing keys!). Overall recommendable.

Room Tip: One of the rooms we got was a corner room, with specially scarce storage place but incredible views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is one hotel where location, location, location can’t make up for all of its shortcomings. Centrally located to all the best sites, yes, however, you’ll never sleep if you are the least bit affected by the noisy area. Smoke-filled hallways and rooms, stained and worn carpeting, horrible “paid for” WiFi and a staff that has no interest in your concerns would deter me from ever returning or recommending.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmac1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Cannot recommend this hotel until they clean the place up - it is disgusting.
Shame as it's in a great position, but so are plenty of other clean hotels....
We had a room that didn't have WiFi access, this was only found out after we had bought the 7euro card. The front desk guys couldn't care less and hid behind the language barrier.
The breakfast terrace is good, the food is adequate, but suitable for us.
The whole place stinks though and we wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Choose one that has WiFi access (not all rooms have access).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,256 in Rome
1,489 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#141 of 1,256 in Rome
612 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#571 of 1,256 in Rome
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#108 of 1,256 in Rome
1,524 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#240 of 1,256 in Rome
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Palace Hotel

Property: Colonna Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza di Monte Citorio 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#230 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonna Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Palace Rome
Colonna Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel Colonna Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing